We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donegal Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Donegal Manor
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem of a place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed in Donegal Manor Nov 2011. Hadn't stayed before although stayed in several other places in Donegal as I'm a regular visitor to the town (great wee town for a getaway, friendly people) We were so impressed with the Manor. Upon arrival we were made feel so welcome, a cold wet night, a warm cosy fire, pot of tea and homemade yummy cake (Sian also runs cookery school, what a bonus) our warm welcome continued throughout the weekend. Our room was spacious with a large bed but most importantly for us it was so quiet, not a sound. Breakfast was simply Devine, I'm a foodie so that was such a treat. Besides the food and the comfort, the other great thing about this place is the total genuine hospitality. Something that is rare nowadays in a struggling industry.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovesholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    64
    28
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
167
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here 2 nights. The room was large and comfortable. We did not hear noise from the street. We arrived after dark and there was no light on outside the hotel, so it was rather difficult to find it, as it is set off the road a bit. This was minor however. What is particularly noteworthy about this place is the food. They didn't serve dinner the first night we were there, but we had dinner the second night. The dining area was cozy and attractive, with a fire. The service was very good and the food exceptionally good and beautifully presented. Breakfast was also excellent, and there was a brown bread that was the best I've ever had. Sian and Michael were very pleasant hosts. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sullysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Wish we would of stayed longer, but we stayed for one night. Location was great. Sian and Micheal welcomed us and gave us great pointers for points of interests.The room was clean comfortable and relaxing. ( No noise from busy street) We needed to leave very early the next morning and Sian and Micheal opened the kitchen for us. The breakfast was wonderful and the rhubarb ooohhlaalaa so good!!! My daughter LOVED the old fashioned skeleton key to unlock the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lllllisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here with some friends, whilst staying in Donegal for a friends wedding. Such warm & friendly hosts.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glitterbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This guesthouse/hotel is probably the best in the country....The rooms are immaculate and spacious.
The food (especially breakfast ) is fab, Try the porter cake....worth the calories!!!!
Sian and Michael are a wealth of knowledge regarding the area and will direct you wisely if you need travel advise. I have been at least 5 times and hope to return again soon (you can never get too much of a good thing).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Our family stayed here for a few nights during our two week trip to Ireland. Our hosts, Sian and Michael, were such kind and welcoming people. They made every attempt to make us feel welcome, chat with us and provide information about the area. They had lots of material available as well. The lounge area was very comfortable and very nicely decorated. They gave us food at any time. Breakfast was very large and delicious! The room was very large and very clean. We felt very comfortable and slept well there. A very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Podniesinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

we stayed here last week for two nights, on arrival sian welcomed us with fresh coffee and her famous porter cake delicious.our room was perfect, massive with en suite also spotlessly clean.we had booked to eat at harveys point but after reading ta reviews decided to eat in old castle bar restaurant and go to reel inn bar on sians advice.both places were brilliant, so good went to them again the next night even better than first night which i thought could not be bettered.breakfast was excellant both mornings plenty of choice and plenty of food,you make your own toast which i like more tea or coffee if you want nothing is a bother at donegal manor. couple of little things outside need put right broken light and a bit of tlc front and back but this is being really fussy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
2.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,885 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donegal Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal Manor

Property: Donegal Manor
Address: Clar Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Donegal Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donegal Manor offers our guests - style in our beautifully decorated manor, comfort in our spacious deluxe, twin and family bedrooms, ideal location, only one mile from shops, restaurants and Lough Eske, convenient to all attractions in Co. Donegal. Delicious breakfasts - local produce and no queues. Enjoy a warm and sincere welcome from Michael, Sian and staff, and whether you like to relax in front of the log/turf fire or unwind in the privacy of your bedroom - we make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Donegal Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing