We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well run value for money”
Review of Donegal Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Donegal Manor
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“well run value for money”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

stayed for three nights a real nice b&b really clean and looked after, breakfast very nice, bedrooms 1st class, Owners very nice and welcoming being honest had to order breakfast the night before and the time you were going to consume it. al in all very nice

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    69
    30
    3
    2
See reviews for
88
183
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hillsborough
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We only stayed one night at the Donegal Manor, but wish we could have stayed longer! Sian and Michael made us very welcome and the breakfast was delicious. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the whole experience was really enjoyable. We will definiately return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colyton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed just one night. Would have liked to stay longer. What a welcome with tea and cakes. So friendly.
The breakfast was the best with a wonderful selection of home made jams cakes etc. Every thing cooked to perfection.
The room was large and airy. Very comfortable.

Thank you Sian and Michael and staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ozamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just back from an amazing Ireland visit today. Stayed in Belfast, Donegal, Galway and Sligo. Our 3 night experience at the Donegal Manor was really good with the character of this lovely guesthouse far exceeding all the hotels we stayed at in our other locations. We stayed in the Red Hugh room - really large, plenty of cupboard and drawer space, piping hot bath/shower and spotlessly clean. The great atmosphere can be put down to the presence and example set by Sian and Michael who take personal responsibility to ensure their guests are being looked after. The guest house is a 5 minute drive into Donegal. Michael offered us a lift in to town, and I understand that this is not a one off for us. If he is going in to do the shopping then he will always try to fit it around dropping you off at one of the good restaurants we ate at. Breakfast was great and a cup of tea and cake were welcome offerings. My partner and I would most definitely go back and I can and will highly recommend this establishment. Thanks for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay very good one of the best guest houses we have ever used on par with any hotel will be back
Only problem is the lack of signage and lighting at the entrance to the property

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Donegal Manor for one night recently and were really impressed. It is a few minutes drive from Donegal town centre and has plenty of parking (return taxi to town centre about 10 euros). We had a very big bedroom with good-sized bathroom. What makes the Donegal Manor outstanding, however, is the warm welcome and friendliness of the owners, Sian and Michael and the delicious breakfast. As well as the usual cereals there are wonderful fruit compotes, seeds and nuts and the presentation of the hot food is beautifully done. (Our selections were the pancakes and the scrambled egg with smoked salmon). The entrance hall has a big fireplace where a fire was quickly lit on our arrival and we sampled the lovely traybakes which are freely available for guests, when we had a final cup of coffee in our room in the evening.

We certainly will return and can happily recommend the Donegal Manor

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here recently and can highly recommend it to anyone. Michael&Sain are so friendly and professional and know their job very well. Beautiful building so warm and comfortable. Loved having tea and home bakes in front of the open fire on arrival. Rooms tastefully decorated.with comfy beds and breakfast was so good. will def stay here again could not find fault with anything all was 100%

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
1.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,099 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donegal Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal Manor

Property: Donegal Manor
Address: Clar Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Donegal Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donegal Manor offers our guests - style in our beautifully decorated manor, comfort in our spacious deluxe, twin and family bedrooms, ideal location, only one mile from shops, restaurants and Lough Eske, convenient to all attractions in Co. Donegal. Delicious breakfasts - local produce and no queues. Enjoy a warm and sincere welcome from Michael, Sian and staff, and whether you like to relax in front of the log/turf fire or unwind in the privacy of your bedroom - we make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Donegal Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing