We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best showers & large rooms in Ireland”
Review of Ardlenagh View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donegal Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardlenagh View
Ranked #13 of 43 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best showers & large rooms in Ireland”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Rooms are quite large, as was the bathroom at this lovely B & B. Views were spectacular as the Ardlenagh sits at the top of a hill just outside town. Hosts were quite friendly. Breakfast was nice. Shower pressure was about the best we've experienced in Ireland! Good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Wanderer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    20
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
53
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My friend and I had decided to wing it and find a place to stay in Donegal Town about an hour before we arrived. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and ended up calling Ardlenagh View because they were one of the few B&Bs will availability on such short notice. We called and spoke with Tony right away. He let us know there would be a place for us to stay as soon as we arrived. Eileen let us in and shows us to our large, clean and spacious room. The internet connection was strong, the bathroom was beautiful with a great shower. And the perfectly placed rainbow outside our room was the cherry on top of a very easy visit. We had a wonderful breakfast the next morning and were on our way out. We'd absolutely stay again and recommend Ardlenagh highly!

Thank you Tony & Eileen for accommodating us on such short notice and for the perfect stay!

Room Tip: We had a room facing south and it was a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MollyisFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ardlenagh, Owner at Ardlenagh View, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write the review. So glad you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Eileen and Tony run a wonderful B & B that offers great beds, good sized rooms and incredibly personal and friendly service.

They did everything possible to make our stay a fantastic one from giving us a secure place to park our motorcycles to helping us dry out soggy gear!

To top it all of the views from their deck are incredible!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belt Drive Bett... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This bed and breakfast was lovely. The rooms are beautifully furnished with warm hues. Immediately upon walking in the front door is a nice sitting room to the left for guests to chat with one another in comfort. We had the room right above the living room, which had a double bed and a twin bed. The room was beautifully furnished and the bathroom had a fun black and white checkered theme and was spotless. There certainly wasn't a lack of water pressure in the shower! Although they didn't come out to chat with the guests while we were there that evening, Tony and Eileen did make us feel at home and were very gracious. Eileen's breakfast was absolutely wonderful! The property is overlooking some of that gorgeous Donegal countryside.

Just beware that they do not take debit or credit cards! The website didn't inform us of that, so we had to make a quick run to the ATM and felt a wee bit embarrassed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, or.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My son and I were guests of Eileen and Tony for three days in September, they treated us like family. One or the other would always have time to give advise or just chat. Our room was large had a great bathroom and quiet. They would be my first choice upon returning to Donegal town.

Room Tip: Look or ask before commiting. I did not see in all the rooms those I did view briefly were well appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Tony and Eileen Mulhern have a lovely B&B with spacious, pretty rooms (my room in lilac had everything matching, even the tissues box), a very good breakfast with excellent coffee, and much help. Tony not only brought in our many, heavy bags, but he also inspected a tire wheel on our rental car that we were worried might have a problem. They are a bit of a ways out of town, so using the latitude/longitude on a GPS would be smart (we didn't and relied on the kindness of strangers to get us back to the B&B,)

Room Tip: Every room on the main floor that we saw was spacious and beautfilly equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This house was well set up for guests and we received a warm welcome with tea and scones. Our room was spacious, nice bath, and the entire house was very clean and neat but not without personal touches. Breakfast had several options and was very good. The views all around the house were wonderful as it sits on the top of a hill. Lots of local information was available and plenty of choices for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
1.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
756 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
885 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
742 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 43 in Donegal Town
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardlenagh View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardlenagh View

Property: Ardlenagh View
Address: Ardlenagh View 15) Ardlenagh , (R267south off N, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional, elevated house nestled in picturesque County Donegal, Ardlenagh View is the ideal base for tours of the stunning North West / Wild Atlantic Way. Boasting incredible views of the Bluestack Mountains and Donegal Bay, guests will revel in the serene landscape. Just 2km from Donegal town visitors can discover Donegal Castle, Donegal Craft Village and enjoy superb golf and stunning local beaches. Further afield visitors can explore Glenveagh National Park, Slieve League Cliffs, nearby Fermanagh's idyllic lake lands and the acclaimed Giant's Causeway. Hosts Eileen & Tony Mulhern looks forward to welcoming guests. Check-in is between 4pm and 6pm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing