We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay!”
Review of The Heeneys Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Heeneys Lodge
Ranked #15 of 43 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights as we were going to a wedding in Harveys Point. Despite some reviews saying it was hard to find, we actually found it first time, thanks to google streetview which I looked up the day before!

Our room was huge and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was also fab, especially the homemade wheaten bread!

Heeneys was less than 5 mins to Donegal town and Lough eske/Harveys Point so is a perfect base for exploring the area.

Our hosts couldn't have been nicer and we really enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed here two nights with my wife and four month old baby. BABY FRIENDLY.

Right off the bat, the breakfast is DELICIOUS. It was worth staying here just for the food. I don't think I could ever tire of an Irish breakfast.

The room was also great - spacious with a pack-n-play for the baby. Like other folks, we got lost on the way in, but the owner drove out to guide us in this gem located off the lake. The room was great for two nights, with easy access to Donegal. Not far from the town and all its ammenties, but far enough away (five minutes) that we felt isolated and away from it all.

Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This charming B&B is located in the country outside Donegal (5 min. drive away) and even with the GPS navigation sistem we arrived to one of their neighbors, but luckily they gave us necessary direction. We stayed at Heeneys three nights and it was excellent experience. Our room on the second floor was very large and very comfortable. Breakfast - one of the best that we got during our Ireland trip. And of course the hostess - the main advantage of this place, frendly, hospitable, witty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirilldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This home is very lovely, and the hosts are gracious, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breda's husband came to rescue us up as we were hopelessly turned around in Donegal Town, guided us to their gorgeous home. They went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. Breda has a great sense of humor, and also cooks a mean Irish breakfast. She is easy to talk to, and gave us good tips on where to go, what to see. Weather was raining and chilly, but we felt at home. I recommend this lovely home to any and all travelers...even the Blue room. Quite comforting, actually. Thank you both for a lovely stay in your beautiful home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue room and found it to be tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlusting1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The pictures don't do it justice, Heeney's Lodge is a fantastic place to stay. Rather than pay the extortionate prices of the Lough Eske Castle Hotel whilst attending a family Wedding there, we booked into Heeney's lodge and where never so glad we did. Within Walking distance (although there is an all night taxi service available) of the Castle itself, the Owners and their family were an absolute joy to stay with, the service was second to none, and the rooms where amazing.

Other family members where staying in various other B&Bs in Donegal Town, and none of them came even close to Heeney's Lodge, our room was 4x the size of any of theirs, cheaper, breakfast was served longer, and checkout was later. Not to mention we even had an en suite bathroom whilst all our other friends and family had shared bathroom facilities.

We definately look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Scott and Karen

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment, but the room we stayed in slept up to 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottCharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Beautiful location ,wonderful hosts, even the weather was decent.! Lovely rooms and great breakfast. Most importantly we were made to feel at home and nothing was to much trouble. Thanks for making our superb weekend truly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My fiancé and I stopped for a night in this B&B. We wouldn't stay in B&B's too often but we were very happy with our choice. The room was huge and clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was great and the owner is really nice and helpful. I would certainly recommend it if you're in that part of the world. A very nice part of Ireland too I should add.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robscott101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
9.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
416 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
885 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
743 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heeneys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heeneys Lodge

Property: The Heeneys Lodge
Address: Kilymard, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Heeneys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing