We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Alternative to Harvey's Point Hotel”
Review of The Heeneys Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Heeneys Lodge
Ranked #15 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We were attending a wedding in Harvey's point and wanted B&B close by. This met the criteria exactly... VERY CONVIENENT to Harvey's Point so if you need a cheaper alternative then Heeney's is the job. Breda, the landlady, was friendly & helpful, rooms grand ,clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John209944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

This was our party's first trip to Donegal, and after getting lost, our hosts offered to drive into the town and direct our way back to the B&B, which was very much appreciated. While their place was a little ways out of town, we very much enjoyed the peace and quiet, and our hosts were very friendly and offered tons of suggestions on where to go. Our accommodations were very roomy and breakfast was made to order!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mshleo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We booked at Heeneys because it was convenient for Donegal Town, offered WiFi and accepted Credit Cards - WRONG ON ALL 3 COUNTS.
It is hard to find, being miles out of town on an obscure road. The WiFi was "out of service" but the owner was using a mobile phone connection from her laptop.
I checked twice before we left re Credit Card - now cannot find the reference.
The scrambled eggs at breakfast were micro-waved. Although pleasant to our face, we could hear the owner making disparaging remarks in the kitchen, e.g. "now they want bacon!".
This may have been good at one time, but it is a troubled establishment now.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WRoverT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

One of the best places I have ever stayed in Ireland. Went with Indian friends while we were on our Donegal trip. Welcoming, friendly owner, great breakfast with many choices (We are veggie!). Super clean rooms, power showers, huge rooms, suitable for anybody. As other reviewers say, its away from town, but we need more quiet place to sleep when we are on trip, isn't it? Also wooden floors wasn't the problem as I am staying similar house since last few years. Although away from town, owner came to pick us up and for directions. I wouls definitely stay in near future as I am planning another tour there soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vijaymicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This B & B is perfect for a few nights in Donegal. Spacious ensuite rooms, comfortable surroundings, lovely food and high quality service. Brilliant location situated very close to the Harvey's Point hotel. Breda also very welcoming and will go out of her way to assist guests in anyway possible.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reds23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhone, Owner at The Heeneys Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2010

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Heeneys Lodge, however I must point out that I have never advertised that I accept credit cards as I do not have a card terminal .
My web site states that I am a 5 min drive (2 miles) from Donegal town and I am on the main road to the 5 Star Soils Lough Eske Castle Hotel and the famous Harveys Point Country Hotel so not what I would call an obscure road.
My WiFi was not working and I do apologize for that, however I did offer the use of my mobile broadband .
Re breakfast., once again I am sorry that you felt I made disparaging remarks , it was not intended, just said under pressure when you changed your order that morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

stayed here for wedding in Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel and I must say that everything was great, the host breda was most accommodating ,dropped us down to the hotel had late breakfast in the morning ect.
The rooms were huge with wonderfull power showers.
Will def. be back

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielleLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We just stayed at Heeney's lodge http://www.heeneyslodge.com/ and have to say we were very happy with everything. They are literally 2 minutes drive from Harvey's Point (which was where the wedding we were attending was).

The B&B was clean, the family was welcoming and the room was huge. We stayed on ground floor in the Blue Room with a double and single bed, perfect for our family of 3 and much larger than any hotel room you'd get in Ireland. I also saw the Orange Room where are family stayed 1 floor up - which was a double and 2 single beds - massive room!

Breakfast was made to order by the lovely host - delicious and plentyful.

I would reccommend highly for anyone needing a place to stay in Donegal Town vicinity.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancenet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
1.2 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
2 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 44 in Donegal Town
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heeneys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heeneys Lodge

Address: Kilymard, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: £77 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Heeneys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing