We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage...Fabulous few days spent in...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cosy Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cosy Living room
Living room The Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
The Cosy Living room
Living room
The Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
The Bunk-Bedroom
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
The main Bathroom which is Downstairs.
So much more Than a Bar, Best Guinness In Town
The Waterbus, a Must do For For All Visitors.
1 Of The Many Excellent Restaurants in Town
Donegal Castle, Dating back to The 1400s
The Majestic Slieve League Cliffs, Some Of The Highest Cliffs in Europe, 1 Hour From The  Cottage.
The Bank Walk Donegal Town, a lovely way to Spend an Hour or 2.
Map and Directions To Donegal Town
Map of Donegal Town and Location of The Town House.
The Town Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Donegal Town, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathst
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage...Fabulous few days spent in Donegal Town”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We are on our way home to Cork after 6 nights in Town Cottage, Donegal Town. There were 7 of us. My husband and I and our 5 little boys aged 8.5 to 8 months old.
We all fit perfectly. This cottage is very deceptive. It is much more spacious than you would think. The lay out down stairs and upstairs is perfect. We were thrilled wit. The travel cot and high chair which Brendan provided for us. There was a lovely turf fire lit for our arrival.We were extremely comfortable by night. We were delighted with the location.. to walk out the door and to be able to walk into the town was such a novelty for us, as we have to drive everywhere at home. We loved exploring the town. We visited Donegal Castle, went to mass across the road in St. Patrick's Church. We visited the Famine graveyard up the road. Further afield we loved our trip to Sliabh Liag. And really enjoyed our trip around Lough Eske. We also were very happy to discover the forest walk in Ardnamona. We went there twice. We also loved the pier and little Rocky beach near Mountcharles. We really enjoyed the Bank Walk one morning too. Our boys loved Paul's sweetshop and Eurogiant!! We had some delicious fish and chips from Donegal's famous chupper just down the road. And we bought some scrumptious sausages from McGettigans butchers. It was very handy to have Aldi and Lidl so near by. We wish the weather was a bit bettwe as there is so much more we would love to have seen. We would love to return again some day. Do not hesitate in booking this cottage for a weekend or longer stay, you will not be disappointed. A big thank you to Brendan for all his help, local knowledge and kindness. He brought some toys for our boys too so they were thrilled. Brendad and Sharen, many many thanks we have made some wonderful memories during our stay at Town Cottage. Sean, Catherine and boys from Cork .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaretm...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend!”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We booked The Town Cottage for a weekend in Donegal Town and it was fabulous! The hosts are very helpful, the location is great! (not even a 2 minute walk from the town itself!) and the house itself is perfect! It may look small from the front but it certainly isn't! I would definitely recommend this very comfortable, cosy house if you're going to visit Donegal town! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duffy80
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Location & Lovely Wee Cottage”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just back from an overnight at the Town Cottage in Donegal Town.
We had a lovely break here and the cottage was perfect.

Yes - it looks small from the main street but is very deceiving. Lovely living area and was great to come in to a lovely turf fire - nice and cosy.
A few minutes walk then just into the main square and plenty to see and do about Donegal.

Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a nice location for a short stay or even longer in Donegal.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Thanks Fiona for Your Kind Review, Glad you enjoyed your Stay at The Town Cottage and for leaving the House so Clean and Tidy, Hope to see ye again, Thanks Brendan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura L
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOULD NOT GO ANY WERE ELSE NOW”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

brilliant spot, tidy and spotless house very local to the town, home owner's very helpful we loved it that much we booked strait away for a week in the summer :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you So Much for your kind review it was our Pleasure to have such nice Guest and also to leave the house spotless as ye did, Really looking Forward to Hosting ye in August, The Garden will be Done in A Few Weeks, cheers Sharon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillieKee
Tyrone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what We Were Looking For.”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We Booked The Cottage At The Last Minute, and we Certainly were so Glad we Did. Myself my Husband 2 Kids age 10 and 5 all stayed at the Cottage. Plenty of Space for us all. the House from the Road looks so Small but it has been Extended to 3 bedrooms with 1 Ensuite, the only issue that people might have is the main bathroom is on the ground floor, but it didn't bother us in the slightest,The Cottage is Tastefully Decorated Nice size Livingroom/Kitchen and a Lovely Open Heart Fire that Sharon the owner had A lovely Turf Fire on for us When we Arrived. Sharon gave us some great information on restaurants/Bars for us and also things to see and do such as where the Playground for the kids which was great as was the swimming pool at The Mill Park Also The WaterBus we really Enjoyed. The Best Thing About The House is The Location just A few Minutes walk to Everything, with it being along the main road you can hear some noise but really it didn't bother us at all In fact I could not believe how quite it was. We had a Great time in Donegal Town such a lovely time and the Cottage proved to be Excellent Value so much so that instead of going abroad this Summer we might come back To Donegal town and Explore more of The County. Sharon was The perfect Host was on hand for all our queries which was many, and told me she would give a Good deal for the Summer and I Might just take Her up on That. Thanks a Million Sharon for lettings us stay at your lovely Cottage Hope to see you this Summer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Thank you For your Kind Review and So Glad you Enjoyed the Town Cottage and Also Donegal Town. And I Certainly will give You A Good Deal For The Summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing