We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Donegal Town House”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cosy Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cosy Living room
Living room The Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
The Cosy Living room
Living room
The Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
The Bunk-Bedroom
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
The main Bathroom which is Downstairs.
So much more Than a Bar, Best Guinness In Town
The Waterbus, a Must do For For All Visitors.
1 Of The Many Excellent Restaurants in Town
Donegal Castle, Dating back to The 1400s
The Majestic Slieve League Cliffs, Some Of The Highest Cliffs in Europe, 1 Hour From The  Cottage.
The Bank Walk Donegal Town, a lovely way to Spend an Hour or 2.
Map and Directions To Donegal Town
Map of Donegal Town and Location of The Town House.
The Town Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Donegal Town, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
William B
1 review
“Donegal Town House”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed 5 days at the town house cottage . It was extremely good. Very clean. Every facility one would need. Brendan was exceptionally kind and was always available if we needed any advice. Location was brilliant with only a five minute walk to the town centre. Would definitely stay there again. Many thanks to both Sharon and Brendan

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thank you William for such a Kind Review, I am so Glad you enjoyed your time at both the Town Cottage and Donegal Town, I hope you will return again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magwil_11
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love Town House”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wasn't going to review this till end of our stay but Leslie's review made me so mad. We are here at moment and love the cottage. It is just what it says on tin and more. We have never had any problem with heating, baths or shower. Don't quite understand what Leslie is going on about. To come in and light the peat fire is so lovely. Stayed in many holiday cottages and this one is one of the best. The owners are so friendly and helpful. The grass at side is not nice but as explained it is not Brendan's. Lovely house, well equipped and in great location. Highly recommend this house to my friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you so Much for your Kind and Frank Review, I am so pleased you Enjoyed your Stay at The Town Cottage. It can be very Frustrating when Guests are so Quick to Leave False an Misleading Reviews Especially when I ask them if Everything is alright for them and they say everything is 'Great' then turnaround and post up such a damming Review, it is really very Frustrating that people cant be Truthful to your face but then its so easy to Hid Behind a Computer Screen. But unfortunately I have to Accept it, But than you So Much for taking the time to post up such a Kind Review. Brendan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilnaleck
Portland or
1 review
“We all loved the location and the space in this rental.”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved this location as a base for traveling around the county. Brendan was helpful and available if we needed him. We enjoyed the open fire when the evening got cool. It was convenient for us to walk up town in the evening.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank You so much For you Kind Review of The Tow Cottage, I am so Pleased you Enjoyed in Donegal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesliet56...
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, nice owner, needs maintenance/care”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I don't like to be critical, but it is difficult to reconcile the superlative reviews we read about Town Cottage with the property that we stayed in. We agree that it is well-located for walking to the center of Donegal Town and that the space description is accurate. Brendan seems to be a very nice man, but we found Town Cottage to be in a state of neglected maintenance -starting with the very tall weeds along the entry sidewalk. We did not find the spotless level of cleanliness described by some other reviewers. The en suite shower was very moldy and fixtures in the family bath were old and stained...unappealing enough to rule out a tub bath. The hot water (switch requires standing on the lounge sofa), was limited and problematic as it cannot be left on, but requires 20-30 minutes heat up time and was still a very limited quantity. The family bath had a separate electric shower heater, but it allowed only one very brief shower before heating function stopped. We also experienced limited and inconsistent central heating on the 3 mornings we were there. The last morning there was no heat at all which was uncomfortable.The kitchen is a nice, well-equipped room, but the dishwasher did not work and the refrigerator had multiple cracked plastic drawers. The back garden looked like it could be lovely on a sunny day, but shrubbery on both sides was overgrowing the space. The TV appeared to be attached to a cable or satellite network, but it only seemed to receive 2 channels. While parking was easily accessed on the street just outside the cottage, it was in a Pay and Display metered area. Some have commented that this is not enforced, but be aware that there is a possible 45 euro fine during pay hours of 9am-6pm. Rate is 50c per hour during these hours; free overnight. Overall, Town Cottage has the potential to be a great accommodation, but it is currently quite worn and in need of repairs, maintenance, and updating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for your Review Leslie, I have to agree on 1 or 2 points that you have brought up, firstly the tall weeds is not on my property which I explained to you when you arrived that parcel of land does not belong to me as I only own the sidewalk, granted the bath is old I took the decision to leave it in the Cottage as a lot of guest comment that is goes with the style of the Cottage, I trim back the garden a couple times a month sorry that you didn't mention it to me at the Time I would have cut them for you , The Tv does have Satellite and plenty of channels again shame you didn't mention it, It's always rather annoying when people don't bring any issues they might have at the time of their stay but are quick to post their Grievances on the internet,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smf6
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and convenient cottage”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

No bottle of wine or fire as other reviewers say but, nevertheless, this did not spoil our stay! The house is so convenient for the lovely town. I also went to the Catholic Church, which is straight across the road from the house, on Palm Sunday.
The slight trouble with the internet was soon sorted by Brendan.
All in all an enjoyable 5 days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind Review so glad you enjoyed your time, I didn't get a chance to put on a fire and same for the Wine as ye arrived early, it can be a hard trying to get The Cottage cleaned and Ready when guests leave late and guests arrive early, but thankfully it doesn't happen too often, but glad ye enjoyed your time at the cottage. And hope to see ye again soon, Brendan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Cottage very convenient to all shops and restaurants. It was very clean. Not a speck of dust. Lots of wee extras provided like tbags and coffee. A bottle of wine and biscuits were waiting on arrival and a nice fire Handy having 2 showers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you for very kind Review and thank you for Leaving the Cottage so Clean and tidy and glad you enjoyed your time, Brendan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisys007
Monaghan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Excellent location , lovely comfortable house, suit 6 people no problem, .... easy walk to Donegal Town

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you for your Kind review, I hope to see ye back to the Cottage some time, Thanking you Brendan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing