We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”
Review of Rossmore Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rossmore Manor
Ranked #3 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Rossmore Manor. Unfortunately it was only for a night. Jackie Brown greeted us as we rode our motorcycles up the steep incline to the front door. She's a very warm and friendly lady. The view from the manor is fabulous. The rooms were clean and very spacious. Very sound and comfortable sleep. The washrooms were excellent with adequate toiletries. Ample parking on the property. Totally enjoyed the Traditional Full Irish Breakfast...wonderful!

Thank you Jackie!

Location is not the most convenient. You will need transport to get to town centre. Great place to kick back, unwind and relax. You can buy wine and other beverages at Rossmore if you need to sip some and take in the scenic view and atmosphere surrounding the manor.

The Rossmore is indeed a recommended stay when in Donegal Town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skaramoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Rossmore Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our stay at Rossmore Manor near Donegal was an absolute delight. From the moment we entered the grounds, we were captivated by the beauty of the house and its surrounds. Not only are the owners extremely welcoming and helpful, their B&B is amazingly beautiful. We were gobsmacked when we saw our room. It was enormous and beautifully decorated. It had a modern en-suite bathroom. The view from the window is inspirational. And Jackie's sense of fun is hillarious. As Halloween is approaching, the house was decorated from head to toe for Halloween. We shared breakfast with two very lifelike Halloween characters! It all made for a delightful stay. It was certainly the best B&B of our trip and worth the visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcscMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Beautiful house with fantastic views. We couldn't believe the size of the house, it's styled like an Irish Castle and the rooms were really comfortable. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend Rossmore Manor if you are visiting Donegal - you won't regret it!!

P.S. I rated Rossmore 5 stars in all the facilities below, TripAdvisor have Swimming Pool added here, there was no Swimming Pool in Rossmore, but I had to select terrible or excellent. Now having said there is no swimming pool at Rossmore, the Atlantic Ocean is at the bottom of the garden!!! :)

Room Tip: Ask the owner's if any of the bigger rooms are available for renting...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in a room that's about the same size as our entire house. Jackie and Geoff were fun to chat with and they made a great breakfast too! Our favorite b and b during our two week trip to Ireland.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I motorcycled around Ireland, Donegal was our first stop. Rossmore Manor blew us away at first glance! The home is up on a hill overlooking the beautiful bay with sea lions feeding in the distance. Our room was huge with a cathedral ceiling, king sized bed, and sitting area in front of the fire place. The breakfasts looked, smelled, and tasted amazing! Jackie and Geoff couldn't have been better hosts; they are warm, inviting, and very fun. We really enjoyed visiting with them after great days filled with beautiful scenery and great rides! Jackie is right, Slieve League cliffs are a must see attraction! This was the best host family and accommodations in all of Ireland!

Room Tip: They're all amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Rossmore Manor in September 2013. The house is like a mini castle, our room was huge and we could sit on the loveseat and look out over the Atlantic ocean . It is located in the country, outside of Donegal Town but it is worth the drive. Jackie has excellent directions on her website to find Rossmore Manor. We stayed in 9 different B&B's during our 2 week vacation in Ireland and this one is at the top of our list. Our breakfast was delicious and Jackie made you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen_Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Finding Rossmore Manor by chance was for us one of those great bits of luck that make traveling a joy. A modern house (warm, comfortable) designed to evoke an historic mansion, Rossmore Manor is decorated with touches of whimsy as well as grace, and was just perfect in every way: near to town but not in it; a large, beautiful room; wonderful views from the enormous windows; delightful breakfast menu cooked to order; great hospitality all around. It's well worth going out of your way to stay there, although Donegal should be on your list anyway! Jackie recommended the Salmon Inn for dinner, and we loved that, too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maineoryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
4.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
927 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
773 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossmore Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmore Manor

Address: Rossmore | Donegal PO, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: £73 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossmore Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star house located on the waters edge of Donegal Bay, guests can enjoy superb luxury and unparalleled views of Donegal Bay at Rossmore Manor, County Donegal. The ideal base for tours of the stunning North West, the house is just 5km from lively Donegal town. Explore 15th century Donegal Castle, discover traditional crafts at the vibrant Donegal Craft Village and roam the serene waters by taking the Donegal Water Bus. Along with idyllic beaches and scenic drives, visitors can also explore one of Europe's highest sea cliffs at Slieve League, and spend a day at the expansive Glenveagh National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Rossmore Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing