We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murvagh Links Manor(Donegal Town)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ard na Breatha(Donegal Town)
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drumcorroy House B&B(Donegal Town)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gap Lodge(Donegal Town)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milltown House(Donegal Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,521)
Filter reviews
2,521 results
Traveller rating
1,857
371
175
70
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,857
371
175
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedars restaurantgallery barlough eskethermal suitestar hotelcourtyard roomunderfloor heatingsteam roombeautiful groundsmain buildingfive starfour poster bedpancakesbar foodomelettefirst classtreated like royalty
Filter
Updating list...
1,886 - 1,891 of 2,521 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I recently stayed at this establishment with a group of friends,15 in total, and was very satisfied with the hotel, staff were very friendly and helpfull, the food excellent and fantastic spa facilities. we all had a wonderfull time.

The only thing that i was dissapointed about was having no air conditioning in the rooms as they were very warm and stuffy, it was diffucult to get to sleep even though i had left the windows opened all night.

Other than that this hotel is beautifull i would highly reccomend it to anyone who wants to experience something different and i myself will most definitly be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Nice hotel, good staff, poor evening meal, , The room was huge and comfortable , no air conditioning , room were a bit stuffy overall too expensive for what was on offer and certainly not 5 star standard

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonegallJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just back from a mid week break at Lough Eske Castle, this is the third visit and will not be my last. A great place to relax and use the Spa facilities , pity that the relaxation room is now closed to guests unless they are having a spa treatment. Great food we tended to eat in the bar/lounge area in the evening, good menu and reasonable price. Staff friendly and we enjoy the relaxation of the many rooms you can sit in by the fire and read. We have stayed in the Hotel and this is the second time we stayed in the courtyard rooms , they are excellent and very close to the main building. I would highly recommend this hotel.but be warned! You will want to go back .

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and excellent
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

This castle hotel is superb. Rooms are luxurious, service impeccable, food fantastic. The staff are so warm and friendly. This hotel is a magnificent development where clearly no expense has been spared. Very reasonably priced, do yourself a favour and stay a night or two. Don't forget your swimmers for the pool and spa!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YMLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

If you are in the Donegal area (or anywhere in Ireland for that matter), this is the place to stay. The staff went above and beyond to help us wth directions and reservations and bringing luggage to our room. The room was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was a suite unto itself - large spa tub in the main area with seperate rainforest shower room and toilet room. The hotel's history is worth reading and they have kept the main part of the castle true to its heritage. Breakfast was delicious and relaxing. Our last evening there, we ate at the castle. Again, the staff were more like friends and the food was wonderful. I even managed to get the recipe for the Bread and Butter Pudding from breakfast and the Shepard's Pie from dinner. If you want to explore, you can go on foot or use one of the many old fashioned bicycles. Grounds are spectacular. There are paths to the lake, and unexpected treasures along the long, treed driveway - castle ruins with dragon statue, an old monumental grave. My daughter and I were on vacation and we did a lot of day trips so we didn't get to experience the spa, but I will definitely go back with my husband and do just that. I will also do less day trips in order to enjoy the many common rooms to read, relax, have a drink.

Room Tip: Having only stayed there once, I can't compare rooms but our room was on the first floor behind the lobby and overlooking the courtyard. Even though it was high season and there many guests, it was quiet. It was a huge room with king bed. We even slept with our windows open (no A/C) without distraction.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews