We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night. The grounds are beautiful and the drive up to the castle is stunning. We were welcomed on arrival by very friendly staff at reception.
I then headed to the Spa for the best Massage I have ever had. Bernadette is a miracle worker, I have never felt so relaxed!
The room was large with a King sized bed and it was very well presented.
It was immaculately clean and the bed was very comfortable.
We had dinner in the restaurant and again the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The meal itself was fine but not excellent.
After dinner we went back to the room and the bed had been turned down and chocolates left.
We had the full Irish Breakfast in bed and the breakfast was delicious.
Water in the mini-bar is complimentary but apart from that it is poorly stocked so be warned.
Overall my experience of this hotel was wonderful. I am already planning my return.
It is also small dog friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,681 - 1,687 of 2,400 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed at Lough Eske Castle for 2 nights on 3rd & 4th January 2013 along with my parents - this was our Christmas present to them. This was their 1st time but my husband and myself have stayed on 3 previous occasions and really love this hotel. My parents fell in love with Lough Eske Castle too. The location, building, grounds and facilites are truly gorgeous. The food is out of this world and the staff are absolutely fantastic. All the staff give the impression they really WANT to be there and are so friendly, polite and helpful.
We've stayed in a number of different type rooms on our stays (including the Vice Presidential Suite - a free upgrade by the hotel on our wedding night :-) ) and all rooms are huge, beautiful, comfy, spotlessly clean and worthy of their 5 star status. Best night sleep ever in the sumptuous beds. I nearly needed a ladder to get into bed :-).
On a previous stay in October 2012 they had gorgeous Tempura Prawns on the table d'hote menu. We were really disappointed they weren't on this time but Caroline our waitress spoke to the Chef and he made them for us - what a wonderful touch! Really impressive service throughout and we love to relax in the evening after dinner in the beautiful lounges with the huge log fires. The thermal spa is soooo relaxing - would also highly recommend the Couples Retreat if you fancy a bit of pampering and Afternoon Tea is a must.
You'll never regret a visit to Lough Eske Castle - it's the place dreams are made of.
The hotel is only 10-15 minute drive from Donegal Town - if you've never been it's definately worth a visit. Lots of beautiful shops especially Masters Book Store (sells books + everything else you could possibly imagine). There's also lots of places to eat and drinks and they people are so friendly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but simply mention when booking any concerns you have - the staff are brilli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernIrelandCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Set off for a 4 day Christmas Break with the family hound and 2 teenage kids and mum, a complete combination of tastes and ages with the exception of under 12s. The Hotel Staff were a true 11 out of 10 and the position of the Hotel fabulous but the package was a little bit of a let-down. The rooms although very comfortable were all outside and meant it was wet and cold to get back in the evening or at anytime - and this was literally a damper on the experience. The food had moments of excellence and moments of appauling I am sorry to say and the entertainment was not as good as other hotels I have stayed at over Christmas.

Room Tip: Unless you enjoy the outdoor weather ask for an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Have just come back from a wonderful weekend at the hotel. Everything was perfect. Would highly recommend this spot

The room was huge. Afternoon tea was a treat. The steak at dinner was excellent. Breakfast was superb.

Staff were most helpful and obliging.

A great experience

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILRBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We arrived on a Friday late morning after a long drive from Bangor. We were attending a wedding that was in the afternoon so just about had enough time to get checked in and have a nosey about before the service.
Check in was faultless and the staff were smartly dressed in their tartan and all very friendly and attentive. The rate that we were booked under was confirmed - always nice to know that the hotel actually has you on the correct deal buyer beware and all that!
We were then escorted to our room and our bags carried also. The escort then showed us where everything was in the room and how to contact room service if further help needed.
We had a fantastic day and night at the wedding and were a bit the worse for wear in the morning however the breakfast was unbelievable. Freshly cooked crepes and omelettes in front of your eyes. Buffet style for everything else but it had all been freshly prepared. The lady who managed the room was a bit highly strung but never missed a thing and was very courteous.
We thought about going to the pool but instead went out for a walk around the grounds, down to the lake and back up past the pool and leisure centre. It being a crisp November morning there was frost everywhere and the grounds were in amazing order.
I would highly recommend this hotel as one of the best in Ireland. It may be a touch on the expensive side but as a special treat it did not fail for us.

Room Tip: I didn't see a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephenwjwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

From start to finish a beautiful stay, the hotel location is gorgeous and perfect for walking during the day, the staff were very welcoming throughout the trip and the hotel itself is a real experience. The place is perfect for a quiet, relaxing weekend away. We tried both the bar food and the restaurant menu, both were tasty and plentiful. We enjoyed lovely strolls through the grounds by the lake, took advantage of the spa and swimming pool. We even managed to have a few relaxing drinks at the bar and enjoyed the 'sitting' rooms around the bar where you could sit and enjoy your drinks on plush old style furniture whilst looking out candle lit windows into the beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMR1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We chose Lough Eske Castle for a post Xmas break because of all the rave reviews and accolades it has won. The setting of the castle building, up a long winding drive, is undoubtedly beautiful and the main building quite charming, The welcome was warm and enthusiastic. However, with hindsight, it appears that many of the good reviews may have been written by people who had stayed overnight and may not have been exposed to some of the issues we did over the course of a 6 night stay.
It became clear that the hotel, despite its efforts and great facilities was not really international 5 star standard. The majority of guest rooms are in modern blocks at the back of the castle. We arrived around 3.30pm and had to wait to go into our room, which was a large, nicely furnished Garden Suite. When we arrived it was clear that the 'cleaning'/changeover had been done very rapidly and apart from having trash bags and a pile of used crockery outside our door (which remained there for 24 hours), we immediately noticed that the heating and towel rail weren't working and that the loo smelled of urine. Having pointed this out, a member of staff was sent to fix the heating, and the toilet was re- 'cleaned', but the towel rail remained broken for the duration of our stay. The house-keeping continued to be a problem, with most items such as tea-bags, water and toiletries (even towels) frequently left un-replenished. The mini-bar was too warm to keep our children's milk fresh. The wardrobe had a layer of dust-bunnies on its floor, and when we happened to move a chair to watch a movie, we found that plus dog-hair underneath. In short, it was dirty.
The other main complaint was that the pool in the spa was FREEZING. We raised this one 3 consecutive days, to no avail. We concluded that this helped to promote an air of exclusivity as no-one used the pool for more than about 10 minutes, before scurrying out, blue with cold.
We are not usually moaning guests and it made us miserable to have to keep asking for missing items or raising issues with various people in the hotel. We did attempt to seek resolution at the time.
On the plus side, the roaring fires and cosy bar in the main house were very nice, and the breakfast (supervised by one particularly superb waitress) was excellent.
Overall Lough Eske Castle was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeasonedTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,242 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
938 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
612 reviews
23.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £157 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing