We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ard na Breatha(Donegal Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drumcorroy House B&B(Donegal Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gap Lodge(Donegal Town)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Lodgings(Donegal Town)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milltown House(Donegal Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,519)
Filter reviews
2,521 results
Traveller rating
1,857
371
175
70
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,857
371
175
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedars restaurantgallery barlough eskethermal suitestar hotelcourtyard roomunderfloor heatingsteam roombeautiful groundsmain buildingfive starfour poster bedpancakesbar foodomelettefirst classtreated like royalty
Filter
Updating list...
1,743 - 1,748 of 2,521 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had the privilege of spending two nights in a real Irish castle over Easter - the beautiful Lough Eske Castle is set in its own grounds (43 acres of forest) within walking distance of a beautiful lake. The hotel has won numerous awards including World's Best Luxury Country Hotel on a number of occasions and definitely lives up to its reputation. It is beautiful and luxurious.

On arrival we were met by the lovely Alistair who took our bags to reception and helped us check in. He then showed us to our rooms and told us how everything worked. Fruit and chocolates were left in the room for us. The hotel is very high end – definitely five star. Our room was actually in the castle (there are other rooms in the garden). The room was spacious, huge really comfortable bed with lovely crisp white sheets, sofa, desk, separate table and chairs, flat screen TV etc. The bathroom was beautifully tiled with two sinks, separate shower and bath. We also had our own bathrooms, slippers etc.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and it was delicious, really friendly waitresses. Breakfast is also served in this room. Breakfast was also delicious – fruit, cereals, full Irish breakfast, pancakes, pastries etc – it’s a buffet style but if you want eggs, omelets, pancakes etc the chef makes them individually for you.

If you’re looking for somewhere to totally relax this is definitely the place to come. It is very peaceful and tranquil. We got up early on our second day and went down to the Spa which is located within the old walled garden and set where the old Victorian Glasshouse would have been. We were the only people in the swimming pool – it was magical. We also used the gym, hydro pool, sauna, steam room etc. I didn’t have any of the treatments but there were lots on offer and it is an award winning spa so they should be very good.

All around the estate are bronze sculptures and if we had the time I think we would have walked round to find them all. There is a dragon in the woods next to a castle ruin (definitely worth a look), also the grave of one of the owners.

The hotel has three drawing rooms – each with open fires, a beautiful bar and lovely restaurant. The hotel has won numerous awards for weddings and you can see why as its absolutely beautiful. We had dinner in the bar on the second night – more informal but food still great. That night there was a musician playing which was lovely. A fun, relaxing evening was had by all.

Donegal Town is about 5km away and worth a visit – we had lunch in the Castle Pub – quaint pub with open fires etc. We didn’t actually go too far from the hotel, we were happy wandering around the grounds and walking by the lake side.

We enjoyed a 30 minute history tour of the hotel on Sat morning – given by Alistair – a must if you’re there on a Saturday. All the staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful and very efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Lough Eske over the Easter period and I'm delighted that you really enjoyed your experience with us and that you found the castle to be "beautiful and luxurious" and "definitely five star" - wonderful comments! I thoroughly enjoyed reading your detailed and charming review and would like to thank you for taking time to post such great compliments and recommendations which I will be passing to all of our staff in all departments - especially to Alistair who brought you to your room upon check-in and who gave you the history tour of the castle on Saturday morning. He will be delighted! I'm thrilled to hear that you are planning to return to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Spent three nights in Lough Eske about two weeks ago, exceptional Hotel in amazing surroundings. Quality of the room was outstanding with a walk-in rainforest type shower and delightful bathroom products. Chambermaid was superb and kindly left me extra filter coffee. I didn’t even have to ask. Food was spectacular and over all service great. Cant complaint about a thing. Superb spa too

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timhedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Mr Hedgley,
It was our pleasure to welcome you to the castle recently and I'm delighted that you were so impressed with everything during your three night stay. Thank you for taking time to post your glowing review, describing the various aspects of your experience with us as "exceptional", "amazing", "outstanding", "delightful", "superb" and "spectacular" - wonderful comments! I have also passed on your compliments to the spa, restaurant and housekeeping departments who, as always, are delighted with the great feedback. I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the very near future. Best regards, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My son recently got married at this hotel. Definitely had the Wow Factor. From the moment of arrival, red carpet and bagpipes to the first sight of the bedrooms. This hotel and all the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable, luxurious and memorable.

The food at the wedding was top class and so was the service. This hotel is top class and the wedding was like a fairytale in every respect.

Breakfast the next day just added to the whole enjoyment of staying here. The choice of food was excellent. There was so much to choose from the buffet tables or cooked to order. Ended up staying in the breakfast room for far longer and there was no sense of being rushed.

The service during the whole stay was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

The spa was very relaxing indeed with a powerful jacuzzi and steam and saunas.

Went for a lovely long walk to the nearby lough and enjoyed the views of the surrounding countryside to return to log fires burning in the various lounges/reception rooms. Difficult to choose where to relax as so many options.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very special place for a celebration or just for a long luxurious weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed very large and to have their own character and charm.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wedeserveourbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the castle. I'm delighted that your son's wedding was such a great success and that everyone was so impressed with everything on the day. We really appreciate your lovely comments about the service, the food, the spa and your overall experience and thank you for recommending the castle as "a very special place for a celebration or for a long luxurious weekend". I trust that you, your family and friends from the wedding will return to visit us again in the very near future. Best regards, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We arrived for a two night stay at Lough Eske and from the moment we arrived it was like we were welcomed home and given a hug. The hotel is beautiful and the staff incredible. We only ate at the pub, the restaurant was a little pricey for us, but the food and service were very good.

The only issue with the hotel that I did have, was that the spa and pool are in another building and you had to go outside to access it. So this meant walking outside in the rain and cold. This needs to be addressed.

Other than that, Lough Eske was stunning beautiful, the grounds gorgeous and the staff and service excellent.

Room Tip: They put us in a handicap room without our knowledge. We did not request one, nor did we require one. So if you are going with a group, make sure of the type of room you are booked for. They did not tell us until we arrived.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitsle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Lough Eske Castle for your recent two night stay. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful experience and that you found the service and our staff to be "incredible". Spa Solis is located within the old walled garden and is set on the footprint of the old Victorian Glasshouse - indeed, the spa building is modelled on the old glasshouse itself and is located beside our very popular Courtyard and Garden Suites. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the food in The Gallery Bar and walking in the grounds of the castle estate and I trust that you will return to visit us again in the not too distant future. Best regards, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

My brother had his wedding in Lough Eske in 2009. The reception was amazing and every year since our family returns for a nostalgic visit to the. We have had a different room every time and every time the room is fantastic! We now have three young children & one of them is coeliac. In the lounge our waitress was fantastic! She did not make a big deal about my son's condition but made sure he had lots of options available & she shared that she was also coeliac! I think our 6year old son had his first crush!
Pool is beautiful & gym is functional. There is no need to leave this hotel - lots of cosy living areas to relax in, friendly bar, fine dining restaurant as well!
A great spread for breakfast. The chef knew that our son was coeliac so he got the correct gluten free flour & made pancakes especially for our son! Our son was so delighted with this treat that he ate 4 pancakes!!!
Lough Eske is a big hotel but with split levels (all with elevator access), low lighting & warm decor it always feels cosy & homely!
We came away from our 2night St Patrick's wend break relaxed, energised & with 3 very happy kids!!!
Thank you Lough Eske - looking forward to being back next year!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family back to the castle again over St. Patrick's weekend and thank you sincerely for your wonderful review. I'm delighted to hear that you all had such an enjoyable stay and left feeling relaxed and energised and that the kids had a such a great time too! It's extremely satisfying for all of us to receive such positive feedback about your overall experience - especially in relation to details such as your son being provided with various gluten-free options including our chef's specially-made pancakes which he obviously enjoyed! Thank you also for your wonderful compliments regarding your brothers' wedding and the hotel facilities in general - and a special thank you for mentioning our staff who genuinely enjoy meeting and interacting with guests as they endeavour to make your stay that bit extra special! I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Lough Eske in the very near future. Best regards, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews