We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had the most wonderful experience last Saturday having a traditional afternoon tea a la Dutchess of Bedford! The menu gave the history of "Afternoon Tea" together with the choice of roughly 10 different varieties of tea,beautifully presented open sandwiches, scones,muffins and cakes.The Wedgewood china was most attractive on which it was served.The staff were most friendly.and courteous.
Will definitely repeat the expreience and highly recommend it .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your "Afternoon Tea" experience with us recently and for your very kind comments. It's wonderful to receive such positive feedback and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed the history element of the menu as well as the overall presentation and service. Thank you also for your recommendation and I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regrads,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    346
    161
    67
    40
See reviews for
391
1,412
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went to Lough Eske on our honeymoon in November. You get the 5 star treatment as soon as you drive in to the carpark. Staff are very pleasant and very well presented wearing Magee tweed suits. The entrance hall and adjoining drawing rooms are spectacular yet very homely. The leisure centre is beautiful with a wonderful spa attached. It is very expensive but well worth it for a special occasion. We dined in the restaurant twice for evening dinner, we enjoyed it thoroughly, the food was simply amazing. The breakfast is a wonderful experience. Your chef cooks you pancakes, eggs or whatever you like to your specification. The bar staff were so friendly and the live music from two very talented guys on two nights was superb. If you go here you won't want to leave. I did not want to come home. Writing this review makes me want to go back. Maybe we'll go back for our first anniversary....Hint hint husband!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jisheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your husband to Lough Eske Castle for your honeymoon last November and we are all delighted that you both had such a wonderful experience. Thank you sincerely for such a wonderful review regarding so many aspects of your stay which make up the "experience" that we like to give to each and every one of our guests. We aim to make your stay both memorable and enjoyable and the fact that you "didn't want to go home" is a wonderful endorsement of our high service standards. Finally, I hope your husband takes "the hint" so we can look forward to welcoming you back to the castle for your first anniversary later in the year!

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed in this Hotel many times. We are continually drawn back to the luxury of the hotel, the beautiful setting and grounds, the excellent food but also the impeccable service.

All of the staff are genuinely friendly. You will never pass a member of housekeeping without them saying a a friendly hello. The reception staff are warm and welcoming and the restaurant and bar staff are excellent.

We hope to stay her again in future.

Room Tip: the rooms on the main corridor off the reception can be a little noisy during the day escpecially ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinglackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your visit to the castle recently. It was our pleasure to welcome you back as a loyal guest and your compliments concerning the hotel and our staff are very much appreciated. I'm delighted that you intend to stay with us again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are looking for a top class 5 star experience then look no further. The castle dates back to the 1600's but has been lovingly restored since changing ownership in 2000. The restoration has been very cleverly done, keeping the old work charm of the place but at the same time including every modern convenience. The rooms are well appointed with huge comfy beds and the bathroom with rainwater shower is stocked with wonderful Mulvenna products.
The staff are exceptional, friendly, polite and professional.
We had a couples spa during our stay which again I couldn't fault. Afterwards the therapist took the time to explain how my massage had went and showed me little exercises to do having guessed what type of job I do!
The food was very tasty especially the Donegal Lamb and the food in the gallery bar was very reasonably priced.
The location is stunning and the staff are very helpful with hiking maps. There are also bicycles available if you fancy a cycle.
Bring a good book, curl up beside the roaring log fire and forget the world exists!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tableware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a glowing review of your recent stay with us and for your many wonderful compliments regarding the food, your spa treatment, your room, the location, our activities and especially regarding our friendly and efficient staff. I'm delighted that you had such a great experience and that you truly enjoyed the old world charm of the castle combined with our contemporary style that maximises modern day luxury and comfort for our guests. I have passed your very kind comments to each department with a special mention for the team at Spa Solís with whom you were very impressed - as always, everyone is thrilled to receive great feedback such as yours, so again, thank you sincerely for that.
It's was lovely to read your headline stating "I didn't want to leave..." so I hope you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future when you can once again, as you say, "curl up beside the roaring log fire and forget the world exists"!

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsea
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had the privilege of spending two nights in a real Irish castle over Easter - the beautiful Lough Eske Castle is set in its own grounds (43 acres of forest) within walking distance of a beautiful lake. The hotel has won numerous awards including World's Best Luxury Country Hotel on a number of occasions and definitely lives up to its reputation. It is beautiful and luxurious.

On arrival we were met by the lovely Alistair who took our bags to reception and helped us check in. He then showed us to our rooms and told us how everything worked. Fruit and chocolates were left in the room for us. The hotel is very high end – definitely five star. Our room was actually in the castle (there are other rooms in the garden). The room was spacious, huge really comfortable bed with lovely crisp white sheets, sofa, desk, separate table and chairs, flat screen TV etc. The bathroom was beautifully tiled with two sinks, separate shower and bath. We also had our own bathrooms, slippers etc.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and it was delicious, really friendly waitresses. Breakfast is also served in this room. Breakfast was also delicious – fruit, cereals, full Irish breakfast, pancakes, pastries etc – it’s a buffet style but if you want eggs, omelets, pancakes etc the chef makes them individually for you.

If you’re looking for somewhere to totally relax this is definitely the place to come. It is very peaceful and tranquil. We got up early on our second day and went down to the Spa which is located within the old walled garden and set where the old Victorian Glasshouse would have been. We were the only people in the swimming pool – it was magical. We also used the gym, hydro pool, sauna, steam room etc. I didn’t have any of the treatments but there were lots on offer and it is an award winning spa so they should be very good.

All around the estate are bronze sculptures and if we had the time I think we would have walked round to find them all. There is a dragon in the woods next to a castle ruin (definitely worth a look), also the grave of one of the owners.

The hotel has three drawing rooms – each with open fires, a beautiful bar and lovely restaurant. The hotel has won numerous awards for weddings and you can see why as its absolutely beautiful. We had dinner in the bar on the second night – more informal but food still great. That night there was a musician playing which was lovely. A fun, relaxing evening was had by all.

Donegal Town is about 5km away and worth a visit – we had lunch in the Castle Pub – quaint pub with open fires etc. We didn’t actually go too far from the hotel, we were happy wandering around the grounds and walking by the lake side.

We enjoyed a 30 minute history tour of the hotel on Sat morning – given by Alistair – a must if you’re there on a Saturday. All the staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful and very efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Lough Eske over the Easter period and I'm delighted that you really enjoyed your experience with us and that you found the castle to be "beautiful and luxurious" and "definitely five star" - wonderful comments! I thoroughly enjoyed reading your detailed and charming review and would like to thank you for taking time to post such great compliments and recommendations which I will be passing to all of our staff in all departments - especially to Alistair who brought you to your room upon check-in and who gave you the history tour of the castle on Saturday morning. He will be delighted! I'm thrilled to hear that you are planning to return to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast N .ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Spent three nights in Lough Eske about two weeks ago, exceptional Hotel in amazing surroundings. Quality of the room was outstanding with a walk-in rainforest type shower and delightful bathroom products. Chambermaid was superb and kindly left me extra filter coffee. I didn’t even have to ask. Food was spectacular and over all service great. Cant complaint about a thing. Superb spa too

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timhedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Mr Hedgley,
It was our pleasure to welcome you to the castle recently and I'm delighted that you were so impressed with everything during your three night stay. Thank you for taking time to post your glowing review, describing the various aspects of your experience with us as "exceptional", "amazing", "outstanding", "delightful", "superb" and "spectacular" - wonderful comments! I have also passed on your compliments to the spa, restaurant and housekeeping departments who, as always, are delighted with the great feedback. I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the very near future. Best regards, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My son recently got married at this hotel. Definitely had the Wow Factor. From the moment of arrival, red carpet and bagpipes to the first sight of the bedrooms. This hotel and all the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable, luxurious and memorable.

The food at the wedding was top class and so was the service. This hotel is top class and the wedding was like a fairytale in every respect.

Breakfast the next day just added to the whole enjoyment of staying here. The choice of food was excellent. There was so much to choose from the buffet tables or cooked to order. Ended up staying in the breakfast room for far longer and there was no sense of being rushed.

The service during the whole stay was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

The spa was very relaxing indeed with a powerful jacuzzi and steam and saunas.

Went for a lovely long walk to the nearby lough and enjoyed the views of the surrounding countryside to return to log fires burning in the various lounges/reception rooms. Difficult to choose where to relax as so many options.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very special place for a celebration or just for a long luxurious weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed very large and to have their own character and charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wedeserveourbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the castle. I'm delighted that your son's wedding was such a great success and that everyone was so impressed with everything on the day. We really appreciate your lovely comments about the service, the food, the spa and your overall experience and thank you for recommending the castle as "a very special place for a celebration or for a long luxurious weekend". I trust that you, your family and friends from the wedding will return to visit us again in the very near future. Best regards, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
885 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
416 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
589 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing