We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Central New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frustrating ”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

While the grounds and rooms are gorgeous, I was often brushed aside for other guests with different packages. I was told I needed to wait for bar service, while waiter took care of others. Beyond frustrating was losing my eye glasses. I lost in my room. While I understand this is my fault, I had my next hotel call 2x. I was told the room was occupied and no one could look. No one could look when house keeping went in?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilarymaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking time to post your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our wonderful grounds and the quality of our guestrooms but I am both concerned and disappointed to hear that you felt frustrated with service in the bar. I can assure you that this is not our usual high standard as we pride ourselves in efficent and friendly service by staff who genuinely care about the needs of each and every guest. However, I will follow this up with management in order to ensure that our service standards are maintained at all times in future. I'm sorry to hear that you misplaced your spectacles and I have been in touch with our housekeeping manager who will let me know if and when they are found. If you would like to contact me personally on +353 7497 25100 or by email at mark.knox@solishotels.com I would be delighted to assist you with this and with any other concerns you may have. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,704
    340
    159
    66
    39
See reviews for
385
1,394
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I found this place when I was looking for a great hotel to stay for my first trip to Donegal. I was not disappointed! The staff was very accommodating, and couldn't have been more helpful. And the facilities themselves were simply outstanding! Our room was huge, and the bathroom had a double vanity, which is something I've only got at home. The room was clean, and the place was relaxing and quiet. Everything is reasonably close (i.e. restaurants, entertainment...), though the place is really in the 'middle of nowhere'. When you go to the lobby bar, ask for Greg. He was very charming, amusing, and helpful. He had some great recommendations for things to do, places to see, etc. This place is definitely a keeper!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back. There were two (2) weddings out of the three (3) days we were there, and I n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Lough Eske Castle recently and I am delighted that you chose to stay with us during your first visit to Donegal! A sincere thank you for such a wonderful review - we are all thrilled that you had such a great experience - that you found our facilities to be "outstanding" and that you consider the Lough Eske Castle to be "a keeper"! We really appreciate your high recommendation - especially in relation to our much complimented staff (such as Greg in the lobby bar) as they all genuinely care and consistently strive to make your experience with us that little bit extra special! I do hope that you will return to stay with us on your second trip to Donegal - which I trust will be sometime in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights. All I can say is James odonnell at the bar made us feel like royalty. The hotel is stunning but no resort will work without staff like this. The management need to appreciate the star they have delivering a personal and professional service on a daily basis!! Will return without doubt .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arizonanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at Lough Eske Castle. It was our pleasure to welcome you for your two night stay and I'm delighted you were so well looked after by all of our staff - and especially by James in the Gallery Bar who is thrilled to get such positive feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Lough Eske sometime very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had the most wonderful experience last Saturday having a traditional afternoon tea a la Dutchess of Bedford! The menu gave the history of "Afternoon Tea" together with the choice of roughly 10 different varieties of tea,beautifully presented open sandwiches, scones,muffins and cakes.The Wedgewood china was most attractive on which it was served.The staff were most friendly.and courteous.
Will definitely repeat the expreience and highly recommend it .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your "Afternoon Tea" experience with us recently and for your very kind comments. It's wonderful to receive such positive feedback and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed the history element of the menu as well as the overall presentation and service. Thank you also for your recommendation and I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regrads,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went to Lough Eske on our honeymoon in November. You get the 5 star treatment as soon as you drive in to the carpark. Staff are very pleasant and very well presented wearing Magee tweed suits. The entrance hall and adjoining drawing rooms are spectacular yet very homely. The leisure centre is beautiful with a wonderful spa attached. It is very expensive but well worth it for a special occasion. We dined in the restaurant twice for evening dinner, we enjoyed it thoroughly, the food was simply amazing. The breakfast is a wonderful experience. Your chef cooks you pancakes, eggs or whatever you like to your specification. The bar staff were so friendly and the live music from two very talented guys on two nights was superb. If you go here you won't want to leave. I did not want to come home. Writing this review makes me want to go back. Maybe we'll go back for our first anniversary....Hint hint husband!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jisheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your husband to Lough Eske Castle for your honeymoon last November and we are all delighted that you both had such a wonderful experience. Thank you sincerely for such a wonderful review regarding so many aspects of your stay which make up the "experience" that we like to give to each and every one of our guests. We aim to make your stay both memorable and enjoyable and the fact that you "didn't want to go home" is a wonderful endorsement of our high service standards. Finally, I hope your husband takes "the hint" so we can look forward to welcoming you back to the castle for your first anniversary later in the year!

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed in this Hotel many times. We are continually drawn back to the luxury of the hotel, the beautiful setting and grounds, the excellent food but also the impeccable service.

All of the staff are genuinely friendly. You will never pass a member of housekeeping without them saying a a friendly hello. The reception staff are warm and welcoming and the restaurant and bar staff are excellent.

We hope to stay her again in future.

Room Tip: the rooms on the main corridor off the reception can be a little noisy during the day escpecially ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinglackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your visit to the castle recently. It was our pleasure to welcome you back as a loyal guest and your compliments concerning the hotel and our staff are very much appreciated. I'm delighted that you intend to stay with us again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are looking for a top class 5 star experience then look no further. The castle dates back to the 1600's but has been lovingly restored since changing ownership in 2000. The restoration has been very cleverly done, keeping the old work charm of the place but at the same time including every modern convenience. The rooms are well appointed with huge comfy beds and the bathroom with rainwater shower is stocked with wonderful Mulvenna products.
The staff are exceptional, friendly, polite and professional.
We had a couples spa during our stay which again I couldn't fault. Afterwards the therapist took the time to explain how my massage had went and showed me little exercises to do having guessed what type of job I do!
The food was very tasty especially the Donegal Lamb and the food in the gallery bar was very reasonably priced.
The location is stunning and the staff are very helpful with hiking maps. There are also bicycles available if you fancy a cycle.
Bring a good book, curl up beside the roaring log fire and forget the world exists!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tableware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a glowing review of your recent stay with us and for your many wonderful compliments regarding the food, your spa treatment, your room, the location, our activities and especially regarding our friendly and efficient staff. I'm delighted that you had such a great experience and that you truly enjoyed the old world charm of the castle combined with our contemporary style that maximises modern day luxury and comfort for our guests. I have passed your very kind comments to each department with a special mention for the team at Spa Solís with whom you were very impressed - as always, everyone is thrilled to receive great feedback such as yours, so again, thank you sincerely for that.
It's was lovely to read your headline stating "I didn't want to leave..." so I hope you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future when you can once again, as you say, "curl up beside the roaring log fire and forget the world exists"!

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,100 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
856 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing