We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I just wanted to express my sincere thanks to the lovely staff at beautiful lough eske for our wonderful stay there on Friday 6 Dec. Grounds and the castle itself were the last word, with roaring fires and comfy sofas, decorations for Christmas were stunning (esp the gingerbread house!!!) rooms were beautful, with hugh bed, sofas for lounging, the bathroom was amazing with heated floors, robes and fluffy towels. Meals were first class, drinks beautiful and breakfast out of this world! But my main praise is for the staff, Peter at reception and the porter treated us with such warmth when we arrived, the girls at dinner and breakfast could not have been nicer or more helpful and it is this which we will remember most. Please pass this onto your excellent staff..they made our trip so special. Many thanks again, Nicola O'Kane

Room Tip: Any room im sure is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicola281293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Ms. O'Kane,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa. It was a genuine pleasure to welcome you and I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit so much!

Your many kind comments regarding the castle are genuinely appreciated. However, I would like to especially thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the team - we aim to make your stay with us the best that it can be and every one of our staff members work hard to achieve this.

I have passed your kind comments to the entire team who are always thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback - especially Peter, Michael and the restaurant staff who you give a special mention to!

I would like to wish you a happy Christmas on behalf of everyone here at the castle and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit sometime very soon.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,423 - 1,429 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived at the hotel mid-afternoon, with the rain beating endlessly on the windscreen. As we pulled up outside the magnificent entrance two staff rushed out with umbrellas to take our bags and park the car - this set the tone for a wonderful stay. Many of the reviews below comment on the very well appointed rooms (our bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in!), and the lovely food (which it was), but the standout feature are the staff - attentive without fussing.

We had a courtyard room - given that most of the hotel is single storey these can be a bit of a walk from reception, so if this might be a problem then mention when booking. The hotel has free wi-fi and free mineral water in all rooms.

My wife and daughters used the excellent spa - need to book a few weeks in advance - and finished their session with a lovely afternoon tea.

The hotel has lots of little lounges with roaring fires - perfect for this time of year for reading with a glass of something to hand.

The restaurant was great - and prices are what you would expect for this category of hotel. The bar food looked good too.

Definitely worth staying at this hotel if you are looking for a country get-away.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank John1965_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle recently - it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Donegal!

I am thrilled to hear that you all had such a wonderful time and that you enjoyed the level of attentive and personal service that you received. All of your comments and your high recommendation are genuinely appreciated by the entire team.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Recently spent a night at Solis Lough Eske and it did not let us down at all. I can normally find something or other to complain about but quite frankly, it was one of the best hotel stay I've had in Ireland for quite some time.

Check in was seamless, service was always pleasant and the staff were attentive. The bar was very well stocked with spirits and the wine list in the restaurant was most impressive. The evening meal itself was delicious (can only speak for the oysters and sirloin steak).

The rooms likewise were spacious, very clean and generally very comfortable. Moreover, we were able to bring our dog to stay with us, which made the stay even more special.

I would wholeheartedly recommend Solis Lough Eske to anyone - it is most deserving of its 5* status.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denzell393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

It's wonderful to hear that you were so impressed with the castle, our facilities and with the service you received - and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your kind comments are genuinely appreciated by all and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just spent a glorious weekend at the Solis Lough Eske Castle in Donegal, Ireland. We booked a Garden Suite and it was everything we thought it would be. The staff were excellent and the standard was 5 star all the way. The Spa was superb. We plan to return early 2014.

Room Tip: If possible, book a Garden Suite. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and service and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your kind comments are genuinely appreciated and I am delighted that you are planning to return for another visit in the new year.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights in the hotel on 29th and 30th November 2013 The place is amazing from checkin to checkout. Special thanks go to Nigel the barman for providing the personal touch and ensuring we never had to wait for a drink. The rooms as always are excellent and the food first class!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Fintan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Donegal and to Solis Lough Eske Castle for your recent two night stay.

Thank you sincerely for your wonderful comments and for taking time to share your experience. I have passed on your compliments to the team who are delighted with your feedback - especially Nigel to whom you give a special mention.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle for your next visit.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of my favourite hotel..never disappoints ..the staff make this hotel soo special..from Breda in the spa to Niamh in the restuarant it was a lovely overnight break..looking forward to my next stay in January..

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teaginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to back Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and I'm delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay!

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated and thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience.

It's wonderful to hear that we are still your favourite hotel and that you are planning another return visit for January. We look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Ok, so this review is wayyyyy overdue. My wife and I go married 2 years ago on October 8th, 2011 and we were recently reminiscing about our honeymoon in Ireland. We literally got off the plane and started our round the isle driving tour. Luckily I managed to not get us in to any accidents. We're from the US and have never driven on that side. We experienced the wonderful Irish culture and made a ton of memories. Towards the end of our trip we stayed at the Lough Eske. We were lucky enough to be in one of the original rooms of the castle. We highly recommend this room. I can't remember the room # but if your looking at the castle from the outside it's the one with the rounded windows on the 2nd floor. As soon as we arrived my wife and I were feeling the love. The staff was amazing. We stayed there for a couple of days and never left the grounds. The meals were delicious and they even gave us a special dessert and they wrote Happy Honeymoon with chocolate on the plate. From hanging out by the roaring fire downstairs on a cold night night playing checkers to being serenaded by a couple of very talented musicians in the bar. We actually stay in touch with them to this day. The grounds were gorgeous and my wife and I really enjoyed taking walks. All in all we couldn't been happier with the time we shared with everyone at the Lough Eske. Thank you! We look forward to coming back.

The Topanga Knolls

Room Tip: Stay in the castle. Look at our review for the room we stayed in. It is magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopangaKnolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle during your honeymoon trip to Ireland in 2011. And congratulations on your two year anniversary :-)

We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable and memorable experience with us and we were delighted to be part of your special time in Ireland.

Your many kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by all of us and I have shared your comments with the entire team.

I'm delighted to hear that you intend to return for another visit and we look forward to welcoming both of you back to Donegal and to Lough Eske Castle in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,322 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
3 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
1.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £135 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing