We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined my trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ruined my trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This castle was booked to celebrate my daughter's birthday. This was our "extravagance" for our 17 day stay in Ireland. We booked two rooms and it was explained to them that the booking was for holding the rooms and we would pay separately upon departure. We stayed one night. Upon checkout, they billed both rooms to one account, rather than separately. While they admitted their error, they charged me an additional $150.00 US dollars since they couldn't retroactively charge me for my room. From the other reviews I have seen, others have had this issue. For the amount of money paid to stay, my daughter should have been treated like a princess. No birthday cake, not so much as a birthday card. It was not worth $650.00 U.S. dollars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle last summer and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Donegal and to Lough Eske during your 17 day trip to Ireland and for the occasion of your daughter's birthday.

I'm disappointed to hear that you encountered a number of issues during your stay and would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced. It was really unfortunate that your daughter's birthday was not acknowledged by us and I am genuinely sorry for this oversight on our behalf. The issue with your billing was another mistake on our part which should not have happened. Please be assured that these short-comings do not reflect our usual high standards and I will be following these issues up with senior management in order to prevent such issues from occurring again in future.

I do hope that you will give us a second chance to show you a true five star experience on your next trip to Ireland and I would very much like to meet you on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,650
    330
    153
    64
    37
See reviews for
366
1,350
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Had the most wonderful weekend there - despite the weather. The sun did come out but not a lot. Not that we minded, between the spa, the open fires, the Sunday newspapers etc etc.
There were 5 of us, 2 couples & a single friend, whose birthday it was.
The rooms were lovely, amongst the best we have ever seen, really spacious & beautifully decorated & equipped. The junior suite has lovely views & a great sitting room section.
The staff were amazing, again amongst the best we have come across.
We had dinner in the bar on the Saturday night & in the restaurant on the Sunday night. Saturday night was relaxed & fun with live music, but Sunday night was special, with very high quality food & again looked after by lovely staff.
Breakfast was one of the best we have had. Take time & enjoy.
The spa is a bit disappointing & the treatments are expensive, but we still enjoyed it & spent a relaxing time there. There are great walks around the lough - as long as you get the weather, & also in The Blue Stack Mountains close by. Lots of history if you are interested in it. Can't wait for an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: The junior suite has lovely views & extra space. Ask for top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniaIrishColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently to celebrate a special birthday and I'm delighted to hear that you all had such an enjoyable stay!

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team - especially regarding the food, your room and pf course, our staff - and thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience.

It's wonderful to hear that you would like to return for another visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanlinbar, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a wonderful weekend in Lough Eske Castle last weekend. We dined in the bar on Friday night and the food was excellent. You would walk to this hotel for the apple pie on the bar food menu. The breakfast on both mornings was superb. The accommodation was very good and Spa Facial and Back Massage special (€75.00) was very relaxing. The most remarkable thing about this hotel is the way the staff greet you every time they meet you. Unfortunately our experience in the Cedars Grill on Saturday night was disappointing. After the bar food on Friday night we were really looking forward to our meal on Saturday. The starters were great but the main course (duck) was cold. The creamed potato was also cold and we think there should have been vegetables included with the main course as we were not offered a table d'hote menu. Two of the desserts (pineapple tart tatin were burnt). We were away for the weekend and were not going to make a scene by complaining. Thank you trip advisor for allowing me to share my thoughts.

Room Tip: Room 206 was a much bigger twin room than Rooms 124 and 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berniemcgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle last weekend - it was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends to Donegal and I'm delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience.

Thank you sincerely for taking time to compile your very detailed review and for your many kind comments, which I have shared with the team.

However, it's very disappointing to hear of the various issues you encountered during your evening meal at Cedars on Saturday evening. Please accept my sincerest apologies and be assured that this is not our usual high standard and that I will be following up with chef and senior management to ensure that this does not happen again in future.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in future and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

having booked the Lough Eske Castle to celebrate a special birthday we were not disappointed. From the birthday cake delivered to our room to the the fact that the staff from reception right through to the dining room knew it was as special occasion made or stay so much more memorable. The hotel is spectacular but it's greatest asset is the most amazing staff, their incredibly friendly manner is infectious. Thank you so much for making our visit so incredible,

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle for your recent birthday celebration and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and the level of personal service you received and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your wonderful comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and I do hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future.

We look forward to welcoming both of you back again for your next visit.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having spent 2 great days here with my son and husband, I queried the amount taken from my credit card, after several phone calls and leaving messages on the managers voicemail, they have not had the courtesy to return my calls

Room Tip: Double check you credit cards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine_mcauley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed two great days here with your husband and son.

However, I am disappointed to hear that you have experienced an issue regarding your bill query - please be assured this miscommunication is not our usual standard and I will ensure you are contacted by management today to resolve the matter.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience.

Best regards,
Mark

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUNSTABLE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had the pleasure of having a weekend here.
Every aspect of our stay was spot on from the moment we arrived, to being waved off and given water for our journey on departure.
We had a Garden suite, it was extremely spacious and very well equipped.
The restaurant and bar service was impeccable, the breakfast service was first class and a special mention must go to the chef preparing the eggs, he was a ray of light first thing in the morning making your choice to perfection with great humor.
We loved the bronze artworks dotted around the grounds.
We are planning to return and stay a bit longer, so we can further explore the stunning countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ONYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Donegal and to Solis Lough Eske Castle for your recent weekend break and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and the level of personal service you received (especially from our breakfast chef, Bill) and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your wonderful comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and I'm delighted to hear that you intend to return for another visit and to spend time exploring the beautiful locality.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Lough Eske sometime very soon.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is one of my favourite hotels in Ireland. Such a pleasurable experience from start to finish. The spa is so relaxing and the staff go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. Breakfast in Solis is so enjoyable, everything you could ask for from a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melodyc00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle for your recent break and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you consider Lough Eske Castle as one of your favourite hotels in Ireland and that you are so impressed with our facilities and the level of personal service you received - especially at Spa Solís and at breakfast!

Your wonderful comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and I do hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,940 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is an historic castle dating to the 15th century and the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing