We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at lough eske at easter - about a month or so ago.
The weather was mixed but we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very relaxing, the bar us nice, the lounge areas are lovely and relaxing and there is a really nice feel to the whole place. The food was good, my steak in the evening we ate there was fabulous.
Lunch was a bit pricey, as were the drinks but the service was good.
We used the spa and it as small but the pool and gym were fine - what you'd expect from this quality of hotel.
The hotel put a lot of effort into entertaining the kids and made our son very welcome indeed.
My only criticism is the setting. We couldn't see the Lough from any room in the hotel and the views from the hotel were of nice gardens and forests and the car park. I had really hoped to have breakfast overlooking the water or a drink in the evening with that view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodsandSnoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solís Lough Eske Castle during your recent trip to Ireland.

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities so much. It is unfortunate that we do not have a direct view of the lake from the castle due to the surrounding woodland but I do hope that you enjoyed any of the scenic lakeside walks/drives that are available to all guests.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again during your next visit to Ireland.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    337
    156
    65
    38
See reviews for
374
1,377
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Loved this hotel - Rooms were spacious and beautiful! The bathroom was very luxurious. Only gripe was that the temperature not just in the room but in the entire hotel was very high - the temperature outside during the day was in the low twenties but for some reason the heating in the hotel was still on - we did have to wake up on the middle of the night to open the windows.

The hotel isn't within walking distance to Donegal town but a very cheap and short taxi ride will get you there. Would recommend this hotel.

Breakfast is a bit expensive but was very good.

All in all, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle during your recent trip to Ireland.

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities so much. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the excessive heat you experienced in your room and in the castle - please be assured that we will use your feedback to ensure that the temperature is monitored more closely in future.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again sometime soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for a wedding weekend at the end of March of this year. The hotel is fabulous - we stayed in a suite and it was really lovely and very spacious, and well looked after by the cleaning staff who spent the day keeping the place immaculate.
The staff in general were lovely, very helpful and friendly and also laid back which made us feel very relaxed.

All in all this is a fabulous hotel, with lovely staff and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a nice weekend away from it all in fabulous surroundings!

Room Tip: Get a suite, they are definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieMcBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle at the end of March to attend a wedding, and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and service and that you had such an enjoyable stay. All of your comments including those regarding your Suite and the staff are genuinely appreciated.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and I do hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Shokan, New York
Level Contributor
202 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I should have written the review last year, but have finally gotten around to it since we've been talking about such a wonderful trip we had. This establishment was absolutely wonderful. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and our room was perfect. Everything is spotlessly clean and and there is no detail left ignored. I do understand the comment about the pool, but it was perfect for us. We used it every day and thoroughly enjoyed it. We travelled in April (a tad off season, so it was very quiet). We took advantage of massages and the therapists were terrific! The food was wonderful as was the service in the Pub. We met some local, friendly, fun people enjoying a drink and it was fun. We loved it all and hope to come back one day. It was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the "conference" facility and the garbage pick up area, so it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggywestshokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle during your trip to Ireland last year.

We are thrilled to hear that everything was perfect for you and that you had such an enjoyable stay. Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you would like to return for another visit one day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle some time in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent three nights at Lough Eske Castle. Despite its size, and it is very extensive, it's one of the loveliest places we have stayed. Beautiful grounds are littered with lovely sculptures. The numerous public rooms are attractively furnished. the duvet in our bedroom was too hot for us; but would have been changed if we'd asked for it. We ate in the bar and in the restaurant and the food is good. Great swimming pool. A great place to chill out.

I'm sure we will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable 3-night stay and that you enjoyed everything we had to offer - your kind comments are genuinely appreciated and I do hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I will start by saying the rooms were great and the staff were so friendly and welcoming. The pool however was small and so when a family of kids arrived it became too noisy. Also there was no relaxing jacuzzi to enjoy which seemed weird. Our family ate at the restaurant and the food was lovely but we were left waiting for over half an hour before my father in law had to go up and complain that nobody had even came near us to take our order!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you sincerely for your feedback.

Your kind compliments regarding your room and the staff are genuinely appreciated and thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience. It's unfortunate that you did not get to enjoy our wonderful Jacuzzi which is located within the spa area, across from the pool.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant, but please accept my apologies for the delay in taking your food order - please be assured that this is not our usual high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Old castellated house re built as a very good hotel, keeping all the castle features, set in impressive grounds.
The staff are all excellent; food fabulous and rooms large and well appointed.
Very good pool and spa club with well trained therapists.
The whole place is varied and interesting.
There can be a lot of walking; if your interest is the spa (which is worth it) then request a room in that part of the hotel. There is also a separate car park near here, which is very convenient as a distance from the entrance and main car park.
Rooms can be quite gloomy and so request a light room! Looking over the garden courtyard is charming and light.
Afternoon tea is wonderful, taken in a charming room looking over the garden.
The best breakfast in Ireland.
The bar has fabulous food, a fireplace and a good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Make sure you are closes to what interests you, if that is important. The very good restaurants and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Solis Lough Eske Castle - we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much!

Your wonderful description of the castle and your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you enjoyed everything so much.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again sometime very soon.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,050 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
816 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing