We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dun Na Si Guesthouse(Ballyshannon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,521)
Filter reviews
2,521 results
Traveller rating
1,857
371
175
70
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,857
371
175
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedars restaurantgallery barlough eskethermal suitestar hotelcourtyard roomunderfloor heatingsteam roombeautiful groundsmain buildingfive starfour poster bedpancakesbar foodomelettefirst classtreated like royalty
Filter
Updating list...
1,359 - 1,364 of 2,521 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked a great deal midweek 3 nights for the price of 2 which we thought overall made this good value for money. The hotel is beautifully located a couple of miles outside Donegal town but not really within easy walking distance. Lovely grounds but for some reason the hotel has not made the best of its lakeside location. None of the rooms have lake views and there don't appear to be any maintained walks along the lake. We followed an old path and got stuck.
The room was great. A courtyard room, very large and dog friendly so we were able to take our schnauzers with us. Lots of positive things about this hotel
Beautiful location
Amazing friendly helpful staff
Huge rooms
Dog friendly
Lovely public areas
Great location get away from it all feel
Lovely spa if rather small pool - not great if children are using it as can't swim up and down
Great wifi access
Reception staff have good local knowledge.
Sadly there are a few downsides which mean for us the hotel doesn't live up to its 5 star rating but nothing that would stop us staying here again.
Breakfast queue to be seated every morning sometimes waiting 10 minutes. Maybe we arrived at same time as coach parties. Not being served tea or coffee, no side plates, no butter, plates not being cleared etc. when we raised this we were sent an apology and a little cake which shows they do listen!
Thick dust on Venetian blinds in room
Drinks and food very expensive which is fine if you get something amazing for it. For example 9euros for a gin and tonic but no nibbles served - again corrected when we asked. Green salad and bit of cold salmon 15euros. Caesar salad same with 4 prawns very small portion. Again when raised these were knocked off the bill so hats off to the management
Cedars grill restaurant lovely but overlooks the car park rather than lovely grounds or lake
Lighting in the room poor so difficult to read
Had to keep asking for shower gel
Paint peeling on ceiling in the bathroom and bathroom door sticking
These things sound picky but we mention them because we want this hotel to be really great - at these prices in this kind of place it's all about attention to detail. Come on Lough Eske - we would definitely stay again, you have great staff this could be a great place!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have double aspect windows
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Legolander706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Solis Lough Eske Castle and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you like the castle so much and that you enjoyed your great vale '3 nights for the price of 2' break.

However, I am disappointed to hear that you encountered a number of issues during your stay and would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced.

Please be assured that these short-comings do not reflect our usual high standards and I will be following each one up with senior management in order to prevent such issues from occurring again in future. Your feedback will help us to ensure that our services will be improved going forward.

I do hope that you will return for another visit and we look forward welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

From the second we arrived, the staff were very attentive. Nothing seemed to much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. The junior suite we had booked was to a very high standard, from the massive fourpost bed to the very tasteful decor everything was just just perfect.

Then we get to the food yum yum!
From starters to main to sweet all cooked to perfection.

I would highly recommend a few days at the castle.
The McKees.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent three day experience at Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to hear that you felt so welcomed and that you enjoyed your visit so much!

Your many kind comments regarding the castle, your room, the food and our staff are genuinely appreciated and I do hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

From our arrival to departure the whole experience was magical. The staff are wonderful, rooms magnificent. We had a courtyard room which brought the beautiful gardens to our door.
Great walks to enjoy. The food was lovely. The spa was a real treat.

Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious. Really enjoyed ground floor court yard location.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

The ladies and gentlemen of Solis Lough Eske Castle were delighted to welcome you for your recent visit.

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback - we are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience. To say that your experience was "magical" is a wonderful endorsement of what we aim to do for each and every guest and your wonderful compliments regarding the castle, the food, the grounds and our staff are genuinely appreciated y all of us.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Lough Eske hotel is exceptional. We went for an overnight stay with our 11 month old son. The staff were very friendly and courteous and couldn't do enough to help. The restaurant is amazing and food was very tasty. Breakfast was excellent also. Spa and fitness suites are top notch and staff there are also very helpful.

Excellent choice.

Room Tip: Choose room at back close to the spa entrance.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dermot76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solís Lough Eske Castle recently and for sharing your valuable feedback.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team. To say the hotel 'is exceptional' is a wonderful endorsement of what we aim to do for each and every one of our guests.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My girlfriend and I ate here the evening of our engagement and I have I say the service, food quality and attention to detail, was exceptional.

Nothing could beat my partner's reaction pulling up outside the castle in the dusk with its wonderful surroundings and magical uplighting. The reception from the staff (who knew of our surprise) was very personal, and we were made to feel very special. We also enjoyed complimentary champagne and a congratulatory dessert - which obviously improved our evening!

A special mention is due for the newly employed waiter who was about as friendly as any man I've met - superb evening.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle during the evening of your engagement - we were thrilled to be a part of your very special occasion and to hear that you were both made to feel very special.

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team who are delighted to hear that you both enjoyed the food, the friendly service and the attention to detail on such a special evening.

I do hope you will return to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews