We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff, wonderful location and fabulous hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb staff, wonderful location and fabulous hotel.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I booked a one night stay in Lough Eske for myself and my husband. Everything about this place is top class. We had lunch in the bar, followed by spa treatments and then an excellent meal in Cedars Restaurant.
The place is great but what makes it stand out from other 5 star hotels is its staff. They are all so helpful without being obsequious.
We will definitely be returning for a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Public Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and I'm delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay!

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience.

It's wonderful to hear that you are planning to return for another visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,681
    337
    157
    65
    38
See reviews for
375
1,379
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

That is all that it is- a hotel. If you want a castle experience, this is not the place. We were upgraded to a gorgeous room across from the spa. The room was spacious and very very nice. The food was pricey and honestly for a 5 star hotel, not that great. The staff was pleasant. I had requested a half hour later checkout because our spa appointments were close to checkout. The lady at the front desk said this was not possible. I was thoroughly disappointed that they could not provide a half hour for us to enjoy our spa and leisurely leave the hotel. It is a nice location, but not exactly worth the price we paid. The spa was amazing and we enjoyed our massages!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviva23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Solis Lough Eske Castle and thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

Your many kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by all of us. However, I am disappointed to hear that you encountered a number of issues during your stay and that you did not get the wow experience we like to give each of our guests. Sincerest apologies for not being able to give you a late check out which is sometimes not possible during busy periods.

I do hope that you will return to give us a second chance to show you a true five star experience sometime in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, a fitting end to 3 months away from home, Australia. From driving up to this beautiful Castle Hotel to the friendly receptionist on checking in we could not fault this hotel. Our room in the main part of the building was just delightful, huge bedroom, huge bathroom and very comfortable. Breakfast is everything you could ask for, even a Chef cooking eggs the way you prefer. Drinks in the Bar a little expensive but didn't stop us enjoying a Gin & Tonic & a Single Malt Irish Whisky each night, light meal served in this Bar is more than adequate. Overall staff are very friendly & accommodating. Would highly recommend this as a special treat away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle for your recent two night stay and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and service and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your kind comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and I do hope that if you return to Ireland from Australia that you will come back to visit us at Lough Eske Castle!

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just has a short one night stay, but found the accommodations remarkable. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was spectacular. Heated tile floors, large inviting space. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time there. We did not realize the outstanding spa that was located there, so missed being able to take part in those activities. If you need a place to have quite and recharge the batteries. This would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveljunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solis Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the castle and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your kind comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and I do hope that you will return to visit us again if you return to Ireland on vacation in future!

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for just one night but from the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were very impressed by the friendly staff. Our room was huge with décor that was modern and luxurious. The hotel is just a short walk away from Lough Eske and there is a series of walking routes provided in a brochure from the reception. The chef was on hand in the morning to cook fried eggs to perfection! We will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRKellyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle during your recent trip to Donegal.

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities so much.

I am delighted to hear that you 'would return without hesitation' and we look forward to welcoming you back for your second visit sometime very soon.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleisland, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked a great deal midweek 3 nights for the price of 2 which we thought overall made this good value for money. The hotel is beautifully located a couple of miles outside Donegal town but not really within easy walking distance. Lovely grounds but for some reason the hotel has not made the best of its lakeside location. None of the rooms have lake views and there don't appear to be any maintained walks along the lake. We followed an old path and got stuck.
The room was great. A courtyard room, very large and dog friendly so we were able to take our schnauzers with us. Lots of positive things about this hotel
Beautiful location
Amazing friendly helpful staff
Huge rooms
Dog friendly
Lovely public areas
Great location get away from it all feel
Lovely spa if rather small pool - not great if children are using it as can't swim up and down
Great wifi access
Reception staff have good local knowledge.
Sadly there are a few downsides which mean for us the hotel doesn't live up to its 5 star rating but nothing that would stop us staying here again.
Breakfast queue to be seated every morning sometimes waiting 10 minutes. Maybe we arrived at same time as coach parties. Not being served tea or coffee, no side plates, no butter, plates not being cleared etc. when we raised this we were sent an apology and a little cake which shows they do listen!
Thick dust on Venetian blinds in room
Drinks and food very expensive which is fine if you get something amazing for it. For example 9euros for a gin and tonic but no nibbles served - again corrected when we asked. Green salad and bit of cold salmon 15euros. Caesar salad same with 4 prawns very small portion. Again when raised these were knocked off the bill so hats off to the management
Cedars grill restaurant lovely but overlooks the car park rather than lovely grounds or lake
Lighting in the room poor so difficult to read
Had to keep asking for shower gel
Paint peeling on ceiling in the bathroom and bathroom door sticking
These things sound picky but we mention them because we want this hotel to be really great - at these prices in this kind of place it's all about attention to detail. Come on Lough Eske - we would definitely stay again, you have great staff this could be a great place!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have double aspect windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Legolander706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Solis Lough Eske Castle and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you like the castle so much and that you enjoyed your great vale '3 nights for the price of 2' break.

However, I am disappointed to hear that you encountered a number of issues during your stay and would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced.

Please be assured that these short-comings do not reflect our usual high standards and I will be following each one up with senior management in order to prevent such issues from occurring again in future. Your feedback will help us to ensure that our services will be improved going forward.

I do hope that you will return for another visit and we look forward welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

From the second we arrived, the staff were very attentive. Nothing seemed to much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. The junior suite we had booked was to a very high standard, from the massive fourpost bed to the very tasteful decor everything was just just perfect.

Then we get to the food yum yum!
From starters to main to sweet all cooked to perfection.

I would highly recommend a few days at the castle.
The McKees.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent three day experience at Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to hear that you felt so welcomed and that you enjoyed your visit so much!

Your many kind comments regarding the castle, your room, the food and our staff are genuinely appreciated and I do hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,053 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
820 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
571 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing