We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family celebration”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

On a positive note the staff are very warm and friendly.our bedroom was very comfortable. But very disappointed on arrival. The area at the front steps needs power cleaned and the weeds removed and the planters refreshed. The gardens generally need weeded and the grass cut. The area outside the bar is filthy . Power hosing would clean this up.and the picnic tables are not suitable for older people. A la carte was very good but the set menu was terrible. Meat dry and over cooked. Caesar salad was made up of ice berg lettuce , one tomato 2 strange croutons and some Parmesan . It would take very little to raise the standard of this hotel. Just abit of vision, time and management.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 268Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you recently for your family celebration to Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa.

I'm genuinely sorry to hear of your disappointment on arrival and with the issues you encountered during your stay - please accept my sincerest apologies and be assured that these do not reflect our usual high standards and that we take all feedback seriously. I have passed your comments directly to our Executive Chef and to our Gardener in order to help improve our services in future.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    346
    161
    67
    40
See reviews for
392
1,412
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altdorf, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked Lough Eske not last based on the "Castle". But this is not a castle but rather an old fashioned hotel in a park that could do with some renovation. We had a junior suite which was very spacious but the furniture could be called classical. When returning from a trip at 1500 we had to call to get our room made. The SPA is new but still disappointing. Some of the facilities were out of order and everything is rather small. The most disappointing was dinner. It started with a glass of champagne that took 15 minutes to arrive. But the negative highlight were canned pineapples on the desert. That was hard to believe given how this place advertises its gourmet restaurant. But it seems this house has not arrived in the 21st century. To complete the picture we had to handle our luggage ourselves on departure... Not what you could and should expect at this level.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank murgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Solís Lough Eske Castle and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback.

I am genuinely disappointed to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay and would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced. Please be assured that these short-comings do not reflect our usual high standards and I will be following each one up with senior management in order to improve our services in future.

I do hope that you will give us a second chance to show you the true five star experience for which we are so well known on your next visit to Donegal and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful hotel in gorgeous surroundings with excellent staff, food and accommodation.
We had to wait an hour on our room as it wasn't ready but the staff were very nice about it all and sent us some cake later that evening to apologise.
However, the hotel isn't quite as pet friendly as it seems as dogs can only access the outside rooms leaving their owners pretty much stranded there too which means having a drink or meal in the hotel or even spending some relaxation time in it are out for those of us who have brought along their dog.
Despite this Lough Eske Castle provides a very relaxing getaway and the courtyard rooms are beautiful with very comfortable beds - next time though we'll leave the dog at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa and for your kind compliments, all of which are genuinely appreciated by the entire team. Apologies again for your room not being ready on time but great to hear that you were so well looked after by our staff.

I'm also genuinely sorry to hear that you were somewhat disappointed with our pet friendliness as we pride ourselves on being able to accommodate pets in our Courtyard Rooms and Garden Suites which have easy access to our gardens, grounds and walking trails.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here in a suite which was quite nice but nothing special and not actually that much bigger than a normal room. What was a real surprise was the meal which is from a 3 course table d'hote menu - it was really expensive at 55 Euros per person plus extra for many of the meat or fish dishes and was average - it just wasn't worth the money - the service though friendly was also more miss than hit - the wine chap who insisted on pouring our wine which is fine disappeared when we still had half a bottle left and we never saw him again so we had to pick up the wine cooler and move it to our table so we could reach. It felt as though they were playing at five star. The bar area is impressive as is the spa which we thought was great. In summary a bit tired decor, reasonable room, average food (Irish breakfast as a buffet was poor and should be served and better quality - they told us soda bread was difficult to locate in Ireland so they don't serve it!!!) And a restaurant that is not good enough - too expensive for what it is - but a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1QualityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Lough Eske Castle recently - it was our pleasure to welcome you to the castle and to Donegal.

Thank you sincerely for taking time to compile your review, for your kind compliments and for your valuable feedback.

However, I am genuinely disappointed to hear of the various issues you encountered during your stay - especially regarding your dinner at Cedars. Please be assured that these issues do not reflect our usual high standards and I would like to offer you my sincerest apologies for the disappointment that you experienced. I have taken note of these issues which will be used to help improve our services going forward.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again on your next trip to Ireland and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had our wedding at Lough Eske Castle on 4/4/14 and had the time of our lives. Not only that all comments back from friends and family suggest they had a ball too. Stephen was exceptional not only on the day but the enitre lead up too. Every detail was attended to and he went above and beyond to ensure we had the perfect day. Also on the day Anthony managed the catering side with perfection. We can not thank the hotel or the staff enough for giving us the best day of our lives.

We really got the feeling that the staff enjoy what they do and really are proud of where they work which just gives that extra special feeling as a guest. All staff were friendly, attentive and extremly helpful giving the experience of quality and Irish charm at the same time.

Thank you to all at Lough Eske - we would most definately recommend Lough Eske as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking time to share your Lough Eske wedding experience - we were delighted to welcome you and your guests to Donegal and thrilled that you had such a fantastic day!

Your high recommendation and kind comments regarding the castle and our staff are genuinely appreciated - I have passed these to the team, with special compliments to Stephen and Anthony!

I do hope that you both will return to see us again sometime in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights as part of a visit to Ireland to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and could not have made a better choice.Very impressive from the outside and equally impressive and surprisingly modern inside.Mentioned our anniversary when booking and requested a room with a nice view-resulting in a deluxe room with french doors opening on to beautiful gardens.The gardens and the rest of the property and building exterior are obviously maintained to a very high standard. The interior of the hotel is beautiful and although some of the rooms are some distance from Reception there is a car park at the rear of the hotel and this provides convenient access to the grounds in that area.
Our room was huge with an oversized comfortable bed and a bathroom which was out if this world-completely tiled -his and hers wash basins-a big bath and a mini wet room type shower with choice of spray or powerful rain shower heads.Very comfortable sofa and wall mounted tv made for a relaxing living area.It was extremely quiet at all times in the room.
We had dinner in the dining room on one night of our stay and again this was excellent, a nice touch being that the staff had been notified of our anniversary and presented us with a decorative
glass platter complete with a selection of fudge and fruit.On the other two nights we sampled the bar meals and these proved to be equally satisfying and good value for money.
Finally it has to be said that all of the forgoing praise of the facilities would mean nothing if it were not for the superb service provided by all of the staff who we encountered.This applies to staff in all parts of the hotel and the ratio of the number of staff compared to the number of guests undoubtedly has a beneficial influence on the level of service.
Whilst it is probably unfair to single out individuals I think it is only right to mention Peter ,one of the porters, and Emer ,one of the waitresses in the bar ,who were exceptionally helpful and pleasant.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent three day experience at Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much - we were thrilled to be a part of your 40th anniversary celebrations!

Your recommendation and many kind comments regarding the castle, your room, the food and our staff are genuinely appreciated and it's great to hear that you would like to return for another visit.

We look forward to welcoming both of you back to the castle sometime in the near future.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our group of 4 stayed for one night as a treat. The price is a bit high, but we were not disappointed in the least. Our rooms were really large and very comfortable and clean. I am surprised at some of the other negative reviews as we also had dinner at the hotel and enjoyed a really relaxing wonderful dinner. One of our travellers is vegetarian and the staff were very co-operative when it came to her needs. We had no problems at all at either dinner or breakfast and found the service to be of a high standard. The building and the grounds are wonderful and I even suggested to my daughter that she consider the hotel as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaySan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Lough Eske Castle and for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel and with the level of friendly and professional service you received from the team. A special thank you for recommending the castle to your daughter for her wedding - we would be thrilled to be a part of her special day.

I do hope that you will return for another visit in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,147 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
886 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
417 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing