We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“awesome hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

first off its a castle. a big plus. and its only about a 10 minute drive from town. Our room was enormous. so was the bath. plus the bathroom has heated floors as well as a towel warmer. overall a great room

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonshinejeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solís Lough Eske Castle during your recent trip to Ireland.

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities so much.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again during your next visit to Ireland.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,649
    330
    153
    64
    37
See reviews for
365
1,350
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A beautiful hotel in an idyllic setting amongst ancient woodland. The staff are exceptional; from the receptionist to the waiting staff- I'd say easily amongst the best I've ever encountered. We had dinner in the dining room and the food was wonderful and although it became apparent the dining room was short staffed, within minutes two other staff had been called in to help. No fuss, no drama, just running like a well-oiled machine. The rooms are large and very comfortable, the bedding (pillows and quilt) were like fluffy clouds. The ensuite facilities just lovely and best of all, the absolute silence in our room. We were on the ground floor with double doors leading out onto the garden and even though the hotel was busy, there was barely a noise to be heard. Breakfast was truly magnificent and we ate so much we didn't eat again until 8pm that evening! The hotel is beautifully decorated in an appropriate country-house style; the panelled library is charming and the drawing room set up for an elegant afternoon tea made me want to change our plans for the day. All in all, very relaxing and homely, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherWearyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Solís Lough Eske Castle recently and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and service and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your kind comments regarding your room, the food and our staff are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and I am delighted to hear that you intend to return for another visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lough Eske Castle sometime soon.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unionville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A very beautiful property combining modern conveniences with the castle experience. The rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable for three of us. Dinner in the bar was excellent and not outrageously priced.
I wish we could stay for more than one night!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the Leisure Centre are quiet and convenient to the swimming pool and fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle during your recent trip to Ireland.

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities so much.

It was unfortunate you could not stay for more than one night but I do hope you will return to stay with us again during your next visit to Ireland.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My friend and I visited Ireland and one of our stops along the way was a night at Lough Eske Castle. We were completely blown away!
The room itself was huge - which was a nice surprise, since all of the other hotel rooms we had stayed at in Ireland were nice, but incredibly small. We had a giant king size bed, sitting area with couch, and an amazing washroom. The shower with it's waterfall head, and separate soaker bath tub, made the trip feel especially luxurious.
The service was wonderful - everyone we encountered went out of their way to make us feel very welcome.
The hotel/castle itself is very unique - different levels connect at different areas. It could be a tad confusing, but since we weren't in a rush, it made it a cool challenge to explore the hotel and figure out which stairway led where.
The grounds were also very beautiful. We spent the morning exploring and taking pictures. We felt like little kids again in that we had stumbled upon the secret garden.
I only wish we had booked more than one night at this beautiful castle!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada_Sarah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to stay with us at Solís Lough Eske Castle during your recent trip to Ireland.

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your room, the service you received and exploring the hotel and grounds so much.

I do hope you will return to enjoy an extended stay during your next visit to Ireland and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
897 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was 1 stop on our castle tour of Ireland in April 2013. A beautiful property with a mix of authentic and original. Great service and very comfortable. The room was quite spectacular and the property was very well maintained. Enjoyed a meal in the restaurant, nothing spectacular but a nice experience. Breakfast was very, very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chickandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solis Lough Eske Castle during your trip to Ireland in April 2013 and for taking time to share your experience.

Your kind compliments regarding your room, the food and the service you received are genuinely appreciated and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the castle so much.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again during your next visit to Ireland and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a great night here with friends back in March
Had problem checking in - had booked through super break but when arrived was told bluntly by an older dragon like lady on reception that we had no booking and they had no rooms and tough look basically. Obviously we were stunned as had paid in full and as always check email s had not received any cancellation notice. I then checked with super break who contact the hotel directly - super real were great - they advised the hotel had received the booking but had forgot to put it on their system - and had got the hotel to arrange accommodation in donegal town which we accepted. As our friends were already there for the weekend we decided to have dinner and drinks with them - the food was beautiful and I can high recommend the cocktails - it really was great. Later on the hotel managed to find us a room and we did end up staying at lough eske - for this we were grateful - the room was beautiful. I can say breakfast the next morning was one if the best I've eve had - compliments to the chef . We also made us if the pool area which was well kept and very relaxing. All in all a great time had - maybe reception need a lesson in customer service but we will defiantly return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa in March and for taking time to share your experience.

Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

However, I am genuinely disappointed to hear of the issues you encountered at check in and regarding the problems with your Super Breaks booking - please accept my sincerest apologies for the service you received at reception and be assured that this does not reflect our usual high standards. I am pleased to hear that the issue was eventually resolved and that we were able to accommodate you.

I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

did a mid week break here. hotel and spa great,big shout out to Berni who did my spa treatments excellent, best massage i have ever had and I'm a therapist myself. Room and food the best. Staff lovely and friendly. Breakfast the best and we had dinnir as it was my birthday just fab. Big shout out to chef as the fillet I had was to die for and my husband loved his sirlion too. Can't praise it enough, it was a fairytale break and we shall be back for defo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primrose95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisLoughEske, Guest Relations Manager at Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you to Solís Lough Eske Castle for your recent birthday break and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the hotel, facilities and the level of personal service you received and that you had such an enjoyable time. Your wonderful comments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team (especially by chef and Bernie at the Spa!) and it's wonderful to hear that you intend to return for another visit in future.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the castle sometime soon.

Best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,937 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is an historic castle dating to the 15th century and the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing