We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, Rest & Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury, Rest & Relaxation”
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Myself and my boyfriend spent a wonderful weekend at Solis Lough Eske Castle. After a long drive we were welcomed and checked in efficiently and guided to our room. En-route the receptionist informed us that there was a wedding in the hotel that evening and another the next day and that our room was in a quiet area away from the wedding celebration. This suggests that complaints listed by previous reviewers who were allocated rooms near the wedding reception and found them noisy have been addressed by management. To be honest apart from the packed car park we hardly noticed the wedding and were not inconvenienced in any way.

The food in the restaurant was mount-wateringly delicous and the service was friendly and efficient. I enjoyed a treatment in the spa - a real treat.

The castle itself is magnificent. Our room (deluxe) was cosy and beautifully decorated and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We hoped for a relaxing weekend and that is exactly what we had. We were rested and happy at the end. If I was to find a small fault, and I would have to try hard, I would mention that the drinks at the bar were a bit expensive. However I am being very fussy now. The luxury and beautiful surroundings more than made up for this. If you are thinking of staying here, just go, its quite simply fantastic. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilywhite09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    337
    156
    65
    38
See reviews for
374
1,377
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Had a lovely weekend in this hotel, the room was luxurious and comfortable and spa facilities were fabulous. While lving up to a 5 star hotel in comfort, the staff were friendly and had a homey appeal - blazing fires and comfortable couches to relax with the paper. Breakfast was great - really delicious - but I was a little disappointed by the dinner menu. It was tasty but really nothing out of the ordinary and not many vegetarian options. Overall, would really recommend the hotel for a relaxing romantic break!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgTaistealGoMinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2009

while being a five star hotel, and very much living up to that, the staff were professional with down to earth friendliness. we were there with a 15 month old toddler and were made to feel very welcome. brilliant hotel for just taking a few days to unwind, relax and chill in a luxurious setting.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Recovering from a badly broken wrist and wary of travelling so soon after the plaster was removed but our stay in this hotel was just what the doctor ordered! We booked direct with the hotel on one of their special offer deals and had 3 nights bed and breakfast for the price of 2. The room was their de-luxe (cheapest) and having had a peek in at the junior suite I have to say that I think our room was just as nice albeit just a little smaller. The bathroom was enormous and the toiletries were a decent size and replaced every day. The hotel is in a beautiful situation, just a few miles from Donegal town but set in beautiful grounds with wonderful sculptures dotted round the place. The staff are really friendly and although the hotel looks very posh it is not in the least snobbish! Breakfast is served till 11:00 which we took advangtage of and the food was brilliant. I have coeliac disease and did take some bread with me but one morning the waitress turned up with gluten free hot toasted rolls which makes a big difference. After a leisurely breakfast we took advantage of the many comfortable sofas all round the hotel to sit and read the complimentary newspapers. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evenings as it is 55euros per person and although I am sure the food was wonderful we did not always want a big evening meal. We ate locally and there are really nice pubs and restaurants in Donegal just a 10 minute drive away. One great example of the staff going the extra mile was when I was trying (unsuccessfully) to make a call from the room phone to book a local restaurant and the telephonist told me not to bother using the hotel phone as she would phone and book the table for us to save us money! We will most certainly go back to this hotel, especially if we get it on a special offer. We did not use the spa this time because of my wrist injury but it looked lovely and we will make use of it next time. Ev

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Fantastic value for a 5 star hotel. Louise Healy took my reservation who was wonderfully plesant on the phone. We were met my Brendan on arrival who helped us get settled in and took are bags to our room. Mary and Tracey were excellent personalities too. Spa facilities were state of the art. Bedrooms were spacious with incredible views and comfort. Breakfast was lovely also. We will definitely be back soon!! Thanks

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohughsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Stayed here as part of a Supervalu Break, however, we could have stayed cheaper with current hotel offers - 3 nights for the price of 2! The location of the hotel and the grounds were amazing - idyllic! Within easy reach of Donegal town and the N15. Plenty of walks around the hotel grounds and nearby roads. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was quiet and gave easy access to the back carpark. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was huge, however the sinks were very shallow. The food was a very high standard and the service was excellent - we ate in the Gallery Bar as it was better value - a turf fire was always burning - you could smell it at all times in the reception area and when you came down to breakfast in the monring! The breakfast selection was the excellent - smoked salmon, fresh cheeses and hams, fresh fruit, breads etc - the hot food was freshly cooked as well. I was unwell on one of the nights of our stay and they delivered toast, butter and marmalade to my room free of charge which was a nice jesture. I would definitely recommend this hotel - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OIL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Stayed here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary based on word of mouth and strong reviews on TripAdviser. Upon checking in we were advised that we had been upgraded free of charge to a "Garden Suite" as there was a wedding in the main castle and they wanted us to have a relaxing and comfortable stay! We were escorted to our room which was directly opposite the Spa and the room was unbelievable. Clearly it had recently been finished and everything was immaculate. The size of it far exceeded what we were expecting and led to a very comfortable base for the duration of our stay. The Spa really should be visited if you are staying here - the facilities and friendliness of the staff was top class. The evening meal was beautiful and we were lucky enough to have a secluded booth in which to enjoy it. We had duck rillette and smoked mackerel to start, followed by a fine fillet steak and black-skinned cod. Just about had room for the sticky toffee pudding afterwards! I think what sets Lough Eske apart from a lot of hotels in this genre is the general upkeep of the grounds and rooms of the main castle, the accomodation, food and overall helpfulness and professionalism of the staff. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelinStarHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,050 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
817 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
399 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing