We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Ok lets start from the beginning.On arrival the driveway at the hotel need attention a large number of potholes on a 5star driveway do not give a good impression.The entrance driveway should be repaired immediately.

The good thing is that at the end of the driveway is a beautiful building with very welcoming staff.

The simple things are done well,no great drama like some hotels when you book in,quick efficient and friendly.The room we had was a Junior suite,very spacious and well presented.Everything was of the highest standard.I always review the hotels I stay at with a very critical eye as I find Irish people as a whole do not complain and will just but up with problems to keep the peace.I can for the first time ever say the room was perfect.


A light bite in the Hotel bar for lunch was also well prepared reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel and the white wine chilled.

The spa was one of the main reasons to try this hotel as we were looking for a relaxing break,my wife had the reflexology and I had the full body massage.Both were preformed very professionally and the time in the relaxation suite before and after the treatment was exactly that.

We had one evening meal in the main restaurant and the setting service and food were all of the very highest standard.Also the staff were there when needed and not too overbearing like some hotels were they seem to be sitting on your shoulder.

During our stay we had a few minor problems but they were dealt with so quickly I do not feel they are worth a mention.

One thing which always amazes me at hotels is their inability to get you bill correct upon departure,not the case this time a first I think the bill was ready well itemised and clear......well done.

One place of mention that we tried in Donegal was the Olde Castle Bar in Donegal for an evening meal and I can recommend the seafood platter.

As most people travelling all you want is a simple relaxed time at a hotel not stress,this hotel is the first in a long time that has provided that and I would recommend it to any travellers from any where in the world.

The Irishman Traveller

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastIrishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,239 - 2,245 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed for two nights over Easter. The hotel was full, which is excellent in these recessionary times. The garden suite room was large, clean and comfortable. I had two minor reservations however. It adjoined the electrics room which meant that I was wakened up at 6 each morning with strange noises coming from next door. Secondly the plugs in the sinks were both so badly adjusted that when placed in position they could not be removed without great nail-breaking difficulty.
The staff could not have been more friendly nor helpful. They are the hotel's best asset.
I confess I found breakfast disappointing. A 5 star hotel should not provide inferior fruit juice. The fresh omelette was excellent but the full breakfast (sausage, bacon, etc.) was strangely devoid of real flavour despite the use of good ingredients.
I have one final bug-bear. There was nowhere in the hotel, apart from our room. where we could sit and have a quiet conversation as children were everywhere. Some were well behaved; many were not. In a 5 star hotel there should be at least one room set aside which is child-free.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I have just returned from 3 night Easter weekend break. The other reviews all sing the praises of the hotel and I fully agree. The overall quality and standard was superb. I must mention all the staff though. Donegal people have such a genuine warmth and employing the locals to staff the hotel has given the hotel a winning card. Very relaxing and good value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyNewryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

stayed here for 2 nights over easter in a deluxe room and loved everything about this hotel.rooms were large and very clean.staff were very friendly and helpful and food in the restaurant was excellent.overall this really is a hotel worthy of its 5 star status!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armagh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Fantastic hotel in the countryside just outside Donegal Town. Having driven from Dublin in Friday evening traffic we were tired but it all became worthwhile when we entered the tree lined avenue leading up the castle. We were met at the door by a very pleasant porter who carried our luggage to our room. Whn we entered the room we were once again speechless. The room/bathroom was almost the size of our apartment. It contained a very comfortable four poster bed, a comfy couch and a large flat screen tv. Our room was at the very end of the hotel and although the corridors are long and a little draughty it was only a two minute walk to reception, not 10 like some guests have said. Each room has its own thermostat so there's no need to worry that the draughty corridors make for a draughty room. Our room was a very ambient temperature despite it being cold enough outside for Lough Eske to be partially frozen.
We were on a room only rate but we paid for the breakfast on Saturday morning. The breakfast room was very pleasant. We arrived for breakfast at a very busy time and although we had to wait a while for a table the staff were very apologetic and provided us with newspapers and orange juice while we waited on the couches outside the breakfast room.
The pool was also very pleasent. I was very enjoyable to sit with a book at the side of the pool after I had a swim as the glass surround catches lots of heat from the sun. Almost pretend your abroad!
The restaurant was booked out on Saturday night so we had bar food. Although it was well cooked the only real difference between it and the food you might get in your local is the price. Regular bar food at 5* prices. I believe the food at neighbouring Harveys Point is worth a try.

The only tv in the hotel itself is in a little alcove off the smaller bar downstairs. Although the Ireland V France rugby game was showing that weekend and the area was packed repeated requests were ignored for the bar to be opened and insted the hotel manager had to ferry orders up and down the stairs from the other bar. It also resulted in us waiting over an hour for food. This was probably due to staff shortages but the demand have been expected with such a big game showing.

Other than that the hotel cannot be faulted and I would redily recommend it o others. Ill definitely return.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank annettemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My self and my wife stayed here for 2 night from the 5th march to the 7th march. The standard of this hotel is out of this world, from the minute you arrive are treated like a king, the staff are are so frendly and help full, with out being over powering. the food,bar,rooms,and spa are top class.(This place is pardise)
Cant wait to get back soon,

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeandHerSixmilecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed for one night in the Deluxe Guest room. Fantastic room with enormous bathroom and walk-in wardrobe. We found the staff very pleasant, and the food was spectacular. 5 star all the way!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conthemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,322 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
3 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
1.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £135 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing