We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Arrived after diving from Belfast at Lough Eske with my retired parents. What a drive and not easy to find, my Dad would have been happy for us to have stayed in any hotel in Donegal Town which is only a few miles from the hotel as he was so tired of travelling by the time we got close to the castle. It is not easy to find though the road signage is good. The rooms are massive and the bed big and comfortable. The views and sense of tranquility from the main part of the castle itself are very good. I thought the bathroom could have been cleaner and houskeeping might be a little lacking. However, overall this is a wonderful place, the food is good, breakfast is a lavish buffet and the menu selection on the bar is good. The staff are friendly in a way that only the Irish know how. A definite do not miss and a definite return...this place is for family occassions and getting away from the world....

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
There are newer reviews for Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,143 - 2,149 of 2,378 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

Myself and my partner were travelling around the north of ireland, as i always have wanted to do this. As we were approaching donegal town centre we can apon a sign for lough eske drive. We decided to take a drive along this stunning drive, and stumbled acsros this Incrediable hotel, Lough Eske Hotel. we walked the grounds and decieded to go in for a coffee and to have a look around, and to convice my partner that we may stay the night in this wonder place, what a gem to find! My partner went to the main desk for directions to the main eating area for some coffee and she was rudely told that it was back the way she came in. Apon this we looked at each other and walked back and spoke to a lovely man called alister who walked up to the bar area, he evan came us a brief history on the castle, my partner really enjoyed that as her great grandmother is from donegal. the service in the bar was outstanding,very poite. Over coffee we decided that we should stay the night if the rate was not to expensive as we were on a budget. The lady i spoke with, tracey told us therates,they were very appealing, B&B and we could use the swimming pool but as she was telling us the rates she was biteing her nails???? How discusting!! this is not very nice thing to see when your going to be spending such amount of money. It was truley rude. My partner said that we'd come back again. I just dont think that when you are trying to make money in this recession that you have to look at someone biting theirs nails. Horrible.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed at Solis Lough Eske for 4 beautiful days during a 2 week trip to Ireland. There were not many reviews so we did not know what to expect, but were blown away by the lovely hotel and friendly staff. The reservations agent helped me select a Garden Suite room, which was massive - with a King bed, 2 sofas, a fireplace, a six person dining table, a walk-in closet and still room for 2 roll-a-way beds for the kids. The main part of the hotel is in the rebuilt ruins of an old castle. The outside looks hundreds of years old, but the inside is brand new. My husband and I both had first rate massages at the large and immaculate spa. The breakfast buffet included some of the freshest and most delicious food we had in Ireland. The grounds are interesting with sculptures interspersed among the gardens. Although the hotel is very upscale, the staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating to the children. We were never made to feel out of place. This is a great place to stay if you want to explore the Donegal Coast - which is breathtaking. Also, ask for the hotel to arrange a fishing trip on Lough Eske. Fish are abundant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanNYC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This is an amazing hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is obvious that the customer is their number one priority. The rooms are large and well appointed. The bathrooms are huge and beautiful with very nice soaps, shampoos etc. We didn't want to leave and would love to return again some day. It is well worth the money-and the breakfast was delicious also. Without a doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebirds77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My wife and I travelled up from dublin following an appointment. Arrived late afternoon. From the first contact which was a porter to take our bags and another to park our vehicle this set the scene for the entire weekend. Courteous, engaging, chatty and helpful. Exactly what you would like but never really get!!!
Our room (superior) was comfortable and spacious if perhaps alittle dark. Large luxurious bathroom, huge bed.A ground floor room opening onto a grassed coutyard with paths leading to the spa and pool area.
Fantastic pool and spa under-used!
Loved the big sitting areas with old fashioned sofas and wing back chairs. Great for reading ,enjoying a drink, afternoon tea etc.
Restaurant was pleasant but again the staff excelled. A relatively small menu but absolutely something for everyone and nothing too pretentious. Very helpful maitre-d . I opted for the duck but was unsure about the fact no sauce came with it.
Said duck arrived complete with small jug of freshly made sauce l'orange produced specially for me by the chef!!!.Duck was perfect even without the sauce.
Breakfast was very good although an irish breakfast just must have fried bread!!
Impressed with the chef who cooked omlette to your spec in front of you.
Slight hic-up on second morning when we had practically finished our breakfast before tea/coffee/toast arrived despit requesting 4 times! But did not spoil a fasntastic experience. Definately back with friends and another trip with our 2 teenage daughters who would just love the spa area!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry2trench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The Solis Lough Eske is a beautiful property located at the end of a small but clearly marked lane amidst the Blue Stack mountains of Donegal. Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by the staff and shown to our room. The castle part of the hotel itself contains the reception desk and living rooms, as well as a few hotel rooms. Our room was located in "the stables", and was outstanding. The decor and layout of the room were very nice, and we enjoyed having two doors and two windows on opposite sides of the room to allow for fresh air and views to the gardens. (There was no air conditioning, at least in the stable rooms.) Our fellow guests were pleasant and quiet, making for a casually elegant but not stuffy environment. The breakfast included in the rate was excellent, and offered many options. We enjoyed a casual dinner in the bar one evening, and it was quite good. My one and only concern was that our room seemed to have an inordinate amount of dog hair on the floor, likely due to a previous canine guest, a black lab perhaps. In any event, the hotel is outstanding in every way, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlaidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

No wonder they won Best Country House Hotel in the World {2009!}. Fantastic staff {the best I've ever encountered} superb cuisine and beautiful surroundings. You simply won't get better, it's phenomenal!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,206 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
927 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
604 reviews
1.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
23.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#3 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £157 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is a historic castle dating to the 15th century and closely identified with the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing