We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Michelin restaurants in France!!”

Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 70 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Price range: US$39 - US$55
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Castle Murray prides itself on its dedication and passion to achieving a consistently high quality dining experience. Our Head Chef Remy Dupuy, who has worked in Castle Murray since 1995, is well renowned for using the best of locally sourced produce to create dishes that once enjoyed will have you planning your next trip back to Castle Murray. Our evening dinner menu showcases the passion and talent of Remy and his team while giving the customers a gastronomic experience that is often mimicked but seldom equalled. Great care and attention to detail is given to the design, creation and delivery of each dish on the menu, which reflects the dedication and desire for greatness which motivates Remy and his team. If you haven't already heard about our House Special dish 'Prawn and Monkfish', then it is a must have. A dish so good it should have its own Appreciation Society! The dining room is refined yet comfortable, with a warm and welcoming ambiance that surrounds you once you enter the room. The striking views of St. John's Point and its natural beauty can be enjoyed throughout the dining room. Our restaurant has the added bonus of having a beautiful open fire, which in the winter, when the fire is roaring creates a warm and homely atmosphere that is much sought after on dark winter nights. Through the direction of the General Manager Marguerite Howley and our Maitre d'Hotel Fabrice Costes, a commitment to a professional and personable service is guaranteed to you. Along with our evening dinner menu, we offer a mouth watering 5 course Sunday Lunch that is extremely popular with people far and near. And if that hasn't tempted you 'foodies' out there then we are pleased to tell you that during the summer months we have a gourmet bar lunch menu available and an absurdly delicious and decadent Afternoon Tea service that is sure to tantalise those taste buds.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than the Michelin restaurants in France!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I visited Castle Murray with my cousins 10 days ago on a beautiful Friday evening and the food/location and service was fabulous.
The weather was terrific and the whole experience from sitting on the deck outside with an aperitif in the setting sun all the way through to the 'Selection of Desserts;
I have been going there for years and the food and the service never disappoint. I am planning my return visit next year already!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoNoX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    22
    6
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Still excellent.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We always try to book a Sunday lunch at Castlemurray House when we are in or around South Donegal. In all the years we have dined at Castlemurray we have never been disappointed. This time I had the ribeye steak and it was excellent - all three courses were excellent. I consider that Castlemurray is "fine dining" as opposed to a good eating house. Again, their chowder was supreme and their pudding was to die for. The cost per head was €33, great value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow a dining experience to be remembered and to be repeated.”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a fantastic setting with great views, food was amazing especially the monkfish & prawn starter had such a wow factor. Would highly recommend and will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just returned from castle Murray and look forward to going back. Very hard to fault it really, a slightly larger menu choice would be good but that's about it. We had a lovely room with a sea view, food was great, and we sat and watched an amazing sun set over Donegal bay.
Staff were very professional and personable. The area around the hotel is beautiful as well,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brookevilledublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delightful weekend”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Fabulous setting, not far from Donegal Town in North West of Ireland and close to the famous fishing village of Killybegs. Beautiful hotel, excellent restaurant and surperb food and very reasonable priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJC2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Mullinasole, Donegal Town
 

Been to Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing