We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
tried to escape, great time

Had a great time here with family and we tried our hand at the escape room. Very well done and I... read more

Reviewed 18 August 2018
Connor D
,
Inverness, Florida
Bite of eat and escape room

Travelled here with some family members and teenagers for bit to eat - food and service could not... read more

Reviewed 5 June 2018
CatRachel22
,
belfast
via mobile
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
23
4
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
4
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews escape room group visit tour guide great value for money well worth a visit prisoners costumes crime jail history visitors codes
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We had a very satisfying lunch in the Courthouse Bistro-the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble The live Prison Tour was a great experience The presentations were excellent - very informative. Gave an insight into life in the 19th century and the hardships that were endured. The Junior Jailbreak was a great "hit" with the young folk - it's not easy, folks!!'

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank eadie074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

The tour of the old courthouse takes the form of the visitors being convicted, fingerprinted, and sentenced. Then visitors are shown around cells. This tour is not really appropriate for adults, I think it is better suited to school children. The tour guide was very much in character as a prison officer but did not tell us anything historical about the courthouse, vague references to two famous prisoners, he pointed out a list of penalties for crimes but was more concerned with acting out the scenario of the visitors being the prisoners.. I never actually saw the courthouse just the ground floor with approx 6 cells. On a better note we had a wonderful 2 course meal that was delicious with great service.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank buttonsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Been awhile since we were there, but it is a great attraction for a group visit, would suit along with another attraction/ activity as can be done in a few hours. Staff are delightful and the tour of the Goal is very informative. The only downside is that there are quite a few stairs down to the tour so not great fro anyone bad on their although, you can walk round the back to avoid these stairs.
Lovely restaurant offering various menus, we had a morning visit so opted for the Tea & Scones, nicest I have tasted, large, fresh scones with plenty of Jam & cream.
Again lovely attentive staff offering top up's for those who wanted an extra cup!
Great to keep the group going until they get their meal later in the day.
Would definitely recommend

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiffordOldCourthouse, Public Relations Manager at Lifford Old Courthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Hi Margaret,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to us and hope you and the group had a great day with us and elsewhere.

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the scones, they're made fresh every morning and people just can't get enough of them!

Regarding the stairs, we are planning an extension to the building this year which will include a new lift and stairwell which will make getting from floor to floor a lot easier. This is a huge project due to the age of the building so we're hopeful of getting it completed before the end of the year and would love to have you all back when it's finished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

OLD COURTHOUSE LIFFORD

An extremely enjoyable dining experience in historic surroundings.

I’ve dined in the Old Courthouse in Lifford on a few occasions and have never been disappointed. Recently, I enjoyed a very well-presented, delicious lunch with my husband. On entering this historic, but beautifully restored old building we were warmly greeted by Danielle and Davina. These two very pleasant girls, were extremely efficient and helpful. I asked if it was possible to have a small plate of food, as I’ve learned from previous experiences that the portions are very generous in the Old Courthouse. Danielle advised me that even a small portion is normally quite adequate. How right she was! My husband declared that it was the most divine plate of tagliatelle he’d ever tasted. I thoroughly enjoyed pan-fried chicken in a pesto cream sauce, served with seasonal vegetables and fluffy mashed potatoes. The menu is extremely good value for money. The excellent chef, Carmel, certainly knows how to execute and present a beautiful, mouth-watering lunch. The Old Courthouse caters for parties and hosts Murder Mystery Nights as well as conducted tours of the old gaol. If you are in Lifford which nestles on the Donegal/Tyrone border, a tour of the Lifford Gaol and lunch in the Old Courthouse would certainly make your trip to this border town a memorable one.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank collettebonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiffordOldCourthouse, Public Relations Manager at Lifford Old Courthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Hi Collette, thank you for the lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal with us and I've passed on your lovely comments to Danielle, Davina & Carmel and they are delighted.

We do pride ourself on our friendly staff and quality food so it's great to read this review.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

A nice tour for all ages. Relatively inexpensive. Those with a real interest in history are in for a treat.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Amy9567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiffordOldCourthouse, Public Relations Manager at Lifford Old Courthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Hi Amy, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you enjoyed your tour with us last year. We do aim for our tours to be fun for all ages so it's great to hear the positive feedback.

Thanks again for visiting and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews