We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tried to escape, great time”

Lifford Old Courthouse
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Lifford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience life as a prisoner in a guided tour with a difference at Lifford Old Courthouse. Learn about law and disorder as you are charged, sentenced and fingerprinted and shown your new surroundings. You won't just be told about the cramped conditions, the painful punishments and the disgusting diet, you'll get to experience them for yourself. Fun informative and unlike anything you've seen before, this is a guided tour with a difference and perfect for all ages. Think you have what it takes to escape from a locked cell in just 60 minutes? Well there's only one way to find out and that's to take on JAILBREAK. Jailbreak is a live escape room that challenges you to break out of our cell before time runs out, using only the items you find in the cell itself. Working as a team you must put all the pieces of the puzzle together in order to escape or a deadly fate awaits you! If you're looking for something different, then this is the game for you. Younger prisoners can even try it for themselves with our exciting Junior Jailbreak room, suitable for age 8+.
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Had a great time here with family and we tried our hand at the escape room. Very well done and I would recommend both the escape room and tour of the old courthouse!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Connor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"escape room"
in 2 reviews
"group visit"
in 2 reviews
"great value for money"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"prison"
in 4 reviews
"costumes"
in 3 reviews
"crime"
in 3 reviews
"tour"
in 11 reviews
"history"
in 8 reviews
"visitors"
in 2 reviews
"codes"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Travelled here with some family members and teenagers for bit to eat - food and service could not fault the mash potatoes were one of the nicest I’ve had you could eat a bowl of this yourself. Great portion sizes too and staff very friendly and accommodating. We then went for approx an hour to the escape rooms which we very much enjoyed in the prison cells. Good enough although do feel it could of been a wee bit more atmospheric ie the doors were actually locked and there was no real story to why we were escaping just a series of boxes with locks to open - I have been to better in saying that it was enjoyable and for the price of food and escape rooms it was good value and would be worth it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank CatRachel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Have been here on of occasions, various activities here. Restaurant visitors centre and items of historical interest. Well worth a visit

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

I accompanied an organised trip to The old courthouse. We had a great time. On our arrival we were served tea/coffee & scones (gorgeous) which had been pre ordered, before embarking on the tour. A number of my group had difficulties standing, so chairs were provided. It was very entertaining all thanks to Joseph our guide. Before leaving we had soup and a selection of freshly made sandwiches, all was lovely. Definitely worth a visit. Thank you again to all the staff there

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 137dorisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

escorted round by a guard in costume...charged with crime, fingerprinted then shown round cells, etc. Lovely cafe on site and coffee bar...great value for money

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lifford Old Courthouse also viewed

 
Lifford, County Donegal
Lifford, County Donegal
 

Been to Lifford Old Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing