We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon fun!”
Review of Mary Gibbons Tours

Mary Gibbons Tours
Ranked #16 of 255 Tours in County Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon fun!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Dublin this May and heard rave reviews about Mary's Tara/Newgrange tour......Let me say, we were not disappointed! Mary's knowledge of history and humor made for an insightful and enjoyable tour.

We highly recommend this for anyone traveling to Dublin!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    58
    15
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ancient Burial Grounds”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Took the Newgrange and Hill of Tara tour from Dublin. Convenient pick-up outside Davenport hotel. Comfortable bus with informative guide. Do NOT get to visit Knowth Passage on this tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcdermott457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Long day but a great tour!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We did Mary's Newgrange tour from Dublin. The bus picked us up a few minutes late which wasnt a huge problem. We had arranged for student tickets but my friend brought and American student ID while I had purchased an International one. Mary tried to give us a hard time about it because some places abroad only take International IDs. In the end we got both of our student tickets though. Mary was funny and very knowledgeable. She had a lot to say about the history of the area which was nice. I believe the coach also had wifi which is always nice. We first stopped at the Newgrange visitors center and were given our times to proceed to the bus to Newgrange. Private tours arent done of the place so Mary stayed back at the visitors center while we had a site tour guide. After Newgrange we went to the Hill of Tara. We were all kind of exhausted at this point but im glad her tour covered both sites. Mary doesnt give the tour of the site either as most places in Ireland have their own people do the tours. In the end she was able to drop us back at our hotel and it was a great day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jordyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the historical/archeological focus of tour to Newgrange”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Delighted with my tour of Newgrange and the Hills of Tara. Michael Gibbons was our tour guide, and having an archeologist lead the tour was just a fantastic way to see the sites. I studied history at university, but had very little knowledge of ancient Irish history. The discussions were robust and factual, without being an overwhelming amount of information. I really appreciated how the tour focused on the real history and on the debates about how the sites were used, instead of trying to sensationalize the sites.

Great day trip outside of Dublin.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you only take one day tour in Ireland ;take this one”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Read how others have praised Mary's tour .I agree with all of them .It is difficult imagine
anyone providing you with a more informative and , entertaining 6 hours in such comfotable
cirsumstances.But only when you stand in the center of Newgrange ; a 8,000 year old structure and ,the guide allows the cavern your huddled in to go dark ; thats when you'll be grateful that you did not miss the experience , whether you will describe it as spiritual or or not .When you reach the Newgrange infomation centre , you understand the importance of the fact that ,Mary has pre-arranged tickets.As , the folks that manage the site give a 15 minute window to ticket holgers to make the shuttle bus .If you miss that assigned time ; you will not be allowed on the next shuttle .Mary smooths the way and, in fact stands by the very door you need to take out of the center to catch your shuttle . All this plus a outstanding
comentary on Dublin as the bus both leaves and returns to the City.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary Gibbons Tours also viewed

Donore, County Meath
County Meath, Province of Leinster
 
Donore, County Meath
County Meath, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Mary Gibbons Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing