We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, convienent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Ranked #35 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A very good value for the city and location. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is easily accessible from the airport by bus, right on the city transit line making public transportation simple. Occasional use of Taxis was a good assist to the regular city buses. Although within walking distance to many popular sites, it is separate enough for quiet retreat from the late night noise. The restaurant below, "Isabel's", is superior for breakfast or dinner. It has a wine cellar looking decor with superbly prepared and presented food a great wine collection and a delightful, friendly owner.

Room Tip: Second floor front rooms had good street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjdowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

When we stayed at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, we stayed for 2 nights. It was reasonable in price, and it was quiet...except for the toilets running. There were toilet malfunctions in 3 out of 3 rooms. They did allow us to move after one night, then required us to move back after the plumber came the next night. Might have been a conincidence, but we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent two nights here and loved the location. It is in the Georgian Quarter so easy to walk to many interesting places and good restaurants. The building is old and we think they are in the process of fixing it up. The carpets in the common areas are new as was the carpet in our room. The room was clean and looked attractive. However, the window sill needed paint so badly that it had separated from the bottom molding - so probably had not been painted recently - and there were cracks in the corners of the walls/wallpaper. The mattress on one of the beds was swayed down and, after sleeping one night in it, one of us switched to the other bed which was in better shape.

We had two main problems with this hotel. We are non-smokers and the room had a sign thanking us for not smoking. However, something shares the vent system with this room, #41, so it smelled slightly of smoke when we entered for the first time. I opened the window and vented it. By the evening the bathroom smelled strongly of smoke so we were forced to keep the fan/ceiling light running all night to prevent it from coming into the sleeping area of our room. Second, the first morning we attempted to take a shower around 8 AM but there was no hot water. We were told the water had been used up already by others and to try again later. When we did take a shower in the middle of the afternoon, the water would change from warm to cool and back again about every few minutes. The shower was also on the small side but not a problem for us as we are not large people.

Be aware that because it is a historic building, there is no elevator and they are not allowed to put one in. You will need to carry your luggage up to your room. We are fit and this was easy for us but for some, this could be a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Our room was not clean, so we immediately cancelled our next stay there. There was thick dust under the bed and the carpets were not clean; we were concerned about breathing the dust. There were dozens of shoe scuff marks and grime on the bed skirt. The seat of the upholstered chair was grubby so I had to place a towel on it to sit down. In the bathroom wall there was a jagged hole through which a pipe extended. This is a room rental property, not a bed and breakfast. You can purchase breakfast at a 10 per cent discount at Isabel's restaurant downstairs, not owned by Fitzwilliam Townhouse. The whole property is shabby, but if renovated, could be very attractive. Fitzwilliam Townhouse is in a nice area of Dublin and Vimen at the front desk was outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mililanimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great price for the centre of Dublin city (6 minute walk to Stephens green) rooms were cleaned everyday and the staff were lovely. Loads of restaurants and pubs nearby. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alize C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have stayed at the Fitzwilliam Townhouse several times, and keep returning because it is just my sort of place: unfussy, low key, good value, centrally located, friendly, in a beautiful part of the city and with a slightly faded, old-fashioned charm to it. It has been my home away from home on long trips to Dublin on several occasions, because there is a cosy, warm feel to it. There are even ironing boards and irons to share on every floor and tea kettles in every room! Best of all are the facts that the plumbing always works a treat, the neighbourhood is friendly and safe, and the wi-fi is always up, running and absolutely free.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you're looking for a reasonably priced but clean and comfortable stay just a walk away from most of Dublin's sights, this is the place to be. The staff are very friendly and helpful and you must definitely have breakfast at Isabel's in the basement. It's a little pricey but it's good. Otherwise, it's a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Grafton Road area or the Temple Bar where everything's happening.

Room Tip: There's no A/C and if you have an issue with stairs, just know that you could get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inauvergne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Baggot Court Townhouse
#24 of 150 in Dublin
335 reviews
Waterloo Lodge
#26 of 150 in Dublin
322 reviews
Trinity Lodge
#29 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#25 of 150 in Dublin
675 reviews
Amberley House
#38 of 150 in Dublin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Townhouse

Address: 41 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £56 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzwilliam Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in our friendly & relaxing 3 star Guest House, you will be greeted by our professional staff who will strive to meet your every need with the utmost of attention to detail, ensuring you have a comfortable and carefree stay in Ireland's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzwilliam Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing