We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Ranked #32 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I and 9 friends stayed in this hotel for a weekend on a Hen Party. The location was great as it was central enough for us to get everywhere in the evening and not have expensive taxi rides, but out of the way enough that we could get a good nights sleep! The rooms were not huge but they were very comfortable. Bed was clean and comfy, shower was good and lovely and hot. Staff were really friendly and everything ran smoothly from check in to check out. The light bulb in our room had blown and they fixed it immediately without any fuss.
Breakfast can be taken downstairs in their sister restaurant if you so wish which is beautifully decked out as a wine cellar. Again staff were very friendly and the food was great, although a little slow to arrive as cooked to order. The porridge was devine as was the homemade bread and jams!
Would def reccomend this hotel if you're staying in Dublin and need somewhere central but not overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

If you need to stay at a five star, this is not your place... try the Shelbourne (straight up the street). However, if you are looking for a nice little place in a historic Georgian town home in easy walking distance from St. Stephen's Green, Grafton St., Trinity College, parks, restaurants, pubs (including the famous O'Donoghue's, which is on Baggot, as well), ATMs, a post office, public transport, and parking this is really good choice. The neighborhood is about three steps outside the absolute center of the city (so it's quieter in the evening), but quick to get to the best of Dublin. I would even describe the neighborhood as a slightly snooty, business zone. A bunch of embassies are on the same block, which gives you an idea of where you are. Totally safe location day and night, weekday and weekend. Anyone traveling in Europe knows that you don't get much in the way of Hampton Inn and the like quality in the middle of cities within the 100 Euro range (we had three people, so that was generally our top price, or less with good negotiating). This place has no elevator, so, if you can't walk up stairs (we stayed on both the second and third floors) ask for a bottom floor room or stay somewhere else. The rooms are completely adequate, supplied with the typical Irish plug-in tea pot thingy and instant coffee and tea. Rooms vary, some with slightly larger some smaller formats, some with bathtub/shower combos some with shower only. While smallish, the high ceilings give the feeling of a bigger layout. Rooms are clean (and cleaned and ready early!), staff could not have been more helpful, friendly, kind, and willing to take time with us. Vimen was particularly good at his job, but all of the others were wonderful also. The rates do not include breakfast, but we were directed down to "Voila," one block away on Baggot, where the breakfast was delicious. I had booked the airport Hilton for our last night to make our lives convenient, but I canceled it after our first round at Fitzwilliam and booked the last night with them. No question we would stay there again, and with three adults traveling, Ireland can be tough to locate triple rooms in, but the Fitzwilliam has them. It's on the corner of Fitzwilliam and Baggot, about ten minutes walk from the "Blue Bus" stop to and from the airport (their email confirmation gives directions from the airport, which bus to take, which stop to get off at, etc.). To get an idea of the historic past of this zone and guesthouse, take the tour of the Georgian home-turned-museum, 29 Fitzwilliam, one block away on the corner of Fitzwilliam and Merrion Square. It gives an insight into the Fitzwilliam Townhouse itself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hikemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, General Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Hikemeister, Thank you for your very kind and informative review which will be of great assistance to future bookers. It was lovely to have you stay at Fitzwilliam and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dublin soon again.

Kind regards, Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Only good thing is the location which is just a short walk from Grafton St.,etc. and staff were helpful. We booked 2 rooms and both were small and dusty though bed-sheets and towels were changed everyday.. Furniture was old and floorboards creaked, totally at odds with outside appearance of the building. it was utterly depressing. If it wasn't for the cancellation fee we would have look for another place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, General Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear FranMal,

Thank you for taking the time in writing about your stay on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to see there were some aspects of your stay you were unhappy with for this I do apologise.

We have discussed your comments and we have not found any housekeeping issues in our guest rooms, however, we have discovered the noisy floor board and we are currently working to fix this problem.

Thank you again for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention.

Kind regards,
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Not the easiest to find, but a good location. Typical small rooms and bathrooms, but we weren't in our room much so it was fine with us. Easy walk to restaurants, the Liffy, Temple area etc. so we could go walk to a few places during the day, come back and change and go out for dinner with no problem. We didn't take a cab our entire time in Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, General Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Klokken, Thank you for your kind review and unique title. We are delighted that you had a pleasant and happy stay with us. I apologies that you found your room small, we have just 2 standard rooms and the remaining 12 rooms are all very large, so maybe the next time you decide to visit us you could contact me to arrange one of our large rooms. Kind regards, Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Our stay was affordable, the Wifi was fast, and the staff were fairly friendly, but that's about it. The location was not ideal for us, as it was at least a 15 minute walk to the main strip. I'm not that picky when it comes to hotels on vacations, because I never spend much time in them anyways, but our floor absolutely stunk of smoke. Nobody seemed to care. The hotel is much more outdated and worn than the website pictures show. Overall, our visit was okay, but I think I'd stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluefave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay in the Fitzwilliam Townhouse in April 2013. We were greeted with a warm welcome and given lots of helpful information about the neighborhood and nearby restaurants and pubs. Our room was very comfortable and didn't include a lot of street noise. The shower was a bit tiny, especially for my 6-foot husband, but the bathroom was otherwise clean and nice. For the cost, it's a great deal in Dublin. I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room upstairs for minimal street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetgirl1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, General Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Jetgirl1515, Thank you for your lovely kind review. As you mentioned we are in the city centre and in an ideal location, however, thank you for your suggestion to other visitors that a room on a higher floor is a good idea as they are away from the street. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin again soon. Kind regards, Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed here for one night april 2013. The location was perfect, proximity to Fitzwilliam Square near city centre, 5 minutes to St. Stephen's Green.
Quiet, free wifi, nice room and perfect bathroom.

Staff very kindly.

No breakfast..but coffee and tea in the room and you have some nice things to eat round the corner!....

I will come back!

Room Tip: higher floor, no lift...of course, such a beautiful house....but so quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdenadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, General Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Hi Vdenadine, We are delighted to read your review and that you enjoyed our rooms, location and that you found the House quiet. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Baggot Court Townhouse
#22 of 150 in Dublin
335 reviews
Waterloo Lodge
#26 of 150 in Dublin
321 reviews
Trinity Lodge
#29 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#23 of 150 in Dublin
675 reviews
Amberley House
#38 of 150 in Dublin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Townhouse

Address: 41 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £56 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzwilliam Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in our friendly & relaxing 3 star Guest House, you will be greeted by our professional staff who will strive to meet your every need with the utmost of attention to detail, ensuring you have a comfortable and carefree stay in Ireland's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzwilliam Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing