We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three and a half” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilliam Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Ranked #42 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Freeland, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three and a half”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This place has an amazing location, very close to the heart of Dublin, yet not in the noisy thick of things. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, and the price is fair. Yes, it's a tad run down in places, and the irons and ironing boards are in the halls, but that was hardly a problem. Our only real issue was that our room was on the top floor, with very steep stairs--carrying a big suitcase up and then down was truly no fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PibaHolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    91
    73
    20
    10
See reviews for
50
95
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
girl80s
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My friends and I spent a week here and had a really pleasant stay. The staff was very nice and very helpful, especially Elena, she was amazing! Fixed an issue with our booking like she was using magic! Superb customer service. Location was great too. Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girl80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear girl80s, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind and positive comments. There is a lot involved in keeping this historical building in top condition for guests and it's great when guests appreciate it and to know that you enjoyed the location. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a week with us and that you would stay again. We work hard to make sure our guests have a comfortable and pleasant experience in Dublin. Thank you again from Fitzwilliam Townhouse Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Fitzwilliam Townhouse was our home for four nights. We had a couple of problems that may have been just us but made for a less than satisfactory experience.

The room was really hot. It was October in Dublin, and maybe a little warmer the first day or two than the calendar would indicate, but our room had two radiators which could not be turned off, and the window would not remain open unless we propped it with something. I complained about the heat but received a non-sequitur response ("the heat is off now") - the problem being the heat at night. They did let us have a fan.

With the window open on account of the radiators, we had to deal with noise from the street, which was very loud. We used earplugs.

Also, there was a problem with the bath. There was a bathtub, but the water was directed to the low-flow handheld shower thingy, and the pressure was so poor it would take all day to fill up the tub. There was no way to direct the water to the faucet. Also, the cold water pressure was so poor that you were nearly guaranteed a scalding whenever you used the shower. There were marks on the door where the hooks used to be - no place to hang your clothes.

Finally, this facility does not offer breakfast. The website was a little ambiguous. On the weekends, Isabel's restaurant (in the basement) offers a fabulous breakfast, but it is only open Fri-Sun and opens rather late. At other times you're on your own. A kettle and instant coffee are provided in the room, which helps.

This facility is specifically not recommended for elderly or out of shape or disabled customers. You will be climbing stairs. There is sometimes a big guy at the desk who can help, but not always.

We found the location to be acceptable if a bit far from Dublin attractions.

We did not have a car. It was pretty hard to find the first time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear JPMcdonough, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have taken note of your comments and in reply to mention that we did turn off the heat at your request, other guests were finding it cool and we could not turn off the heat in the building, we are aware the house retains heat, however, all windows open and because of our city centre location traffic noise can be an issue during the day. Regarding the bath, we have not found an issue with water pressure and there is an handle on our shower hose that redirects water from the shower and through the taps on the bath. Thank you again for your comments. Fitzwilliam Townhouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at the Fitzwilliam Townhouse for 4 nights this week.

Plus points:
Great location, close to St Stephen's Green
Comfortable bed
Friendly staff

Negatives:
I'm afraid there were a few of these! The hotel in general is really quite run down - badly chipped paintwork, threadbare carpets, hairdryer where the cable is almost worn through, damaged tiles in the bathroom etc. In serious need of some TLC!
Noise - the hotel is on a busy junction and there was a lot of road noise even on the 2nd floor. But, worse than this was the noise from the adjoining rooms. When their TV was on not only could you hear every word, but it also caused a vibration/thrumming noise in my room which was impossible to ignore and kept me awake for two nights. The pipes and extractor fans are also dreadful and several times I was woken up when one of my neighbours used the bathroom. I should say I'm not normally a light sleeper - this place was very loud!
Hot water was also ropey at best - occasionally it worked properly but it was generally barely lukewarm
Wifi - included in room cost but was down completely for at least 10 hours at one point

Overall - I can't honestly recommend this, whilst it may be relatively cheap the compromise to sleep just isn't worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Lindsay B, Thank you for your comments which we find to be quite harsh. Being located in Dublin city centre guests know that it can be busy outside. We do not have any issues with water, our water system has worked properly and we have had no previous complaints. Our free wi-fi service has two networks and the only reason we can find for an issue with wireless could be an exterior problem and we have no reports on file from previous guests having any issues. Thank you for your comments. The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a Dublin classic--a house from another era that has been made over into a small hotel. The reception desk staff was super helpful and friendly. The room was not fancy, but was comfortable and clean and was a good value for Dublin. The hotel is located in a safe area and is near bus stops and is within easy walking distance to sites such as Trinity College and Dublin Castle

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEW686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Reviewer, It is refreshing to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write it. We are delighted you found our location convenient and to walk to the major sites and we were helpful at reception. Good value is always important and we are happy that we can offer this in our central location and in Georgian Dublin. We do hope you will visit us again. Thank you... from all the team at Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A reasonable price for Dublin accommodation. However, you need to factor in the cost of parking. We couldn't find their recommended parking lot, which they said was 18 € for 24 hrs. In the same area we ended up paying 34 € for 1 day. Parking (unless paying 2.90/hr on street) is not close.

It was a 15 min walk to main attractions in Dublin, which we were happy with.

Rooms are very noisy during very early morning traffic. It was really warm in the room with no fan, so needed to leave window open to sleep. Even closed their was a lot of street noise.

Cleanliness ok, not pristine. Could use some updating. Room size and hard bed normal for Europe.

We wouldn't tell someone not to stay, however look at all your options in Dublin first. In comparison to may be standard for the price in this city.

Room Tip: Book a room not facing Fitzwilliams st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear mandyandian, Thank you for writing your review. Regarding the parking - as we explained, to avail of the special offer you need to bring your receipt and ticket to the customer service desk in the car park and not use the ticket machine, the cost is just €18 for 24hrs as stated on our website. We apologise for this inconvenience to you. We like our guests to be comfortable and this requires we turn on the heating in late September and for October. The weather has varied in temperature lately and we do our best to keep the house cosy, regretfully some guests find this too warm and some find it too cold and this is why we offer fans and other guests are happy to open the windows. We are in Dublin city centre and noise can be expected, we do have room at the back of the building or on the fourth floor that are away from the street. Thank you for your comments. Fitzwilliam Townhouse staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Good location. Small room and bathroom. No breakfast served here and there was a price different from what was given to me via my travel agent. They were helpful in giving directions. We slept well here though and it was a ground floor room.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Latchfords of Baggot Street
0.1 mi away
Baggot Court Townhouse
Baggot Court Townhouse
#24 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Donoghue's
O'Donoghue's
#30 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lombard Townhouse
The Lombard Townhouse
#40 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kildare Street Hotel
Kildare Street Hotel
#51 of 161 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Townhouse

Property: Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Address: 41 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzwilliam Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in our friendly & relaxing 3 star Guest House, you will be greeted by our professional staff who will strive to meet your every need with the utmost of attention to detail, ensuring you have a comfortable and carefree stay in Ireland's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Fitzwilliam Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing