We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but somewhat noisy streetside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Ranked #34 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Fitzwilliam Townhouse is an easy walk to the sights of Dublin: Trinity College, Irish National Museum, the Post Office, the bus line to Kilmanheim Gaol, and wonderful shopping. Our room opened out onto the street and the traffic noise was pretty bad (drunken singing by a local waltzing down the street at 2 AM was amusing ...the buses and cars were just loud). When we were there, the weather was warm, so just closing the window was not a good option. We complained to the front desk, but the hotel was full and they could not relocate us. We have to say that the young lady at the front desk was very helpful and provided wonderful advice about parking, places to eat, directions for where we wanted to go ... and did her best to help us out of our noise problem...but we were stuck where we were. Next time: I would arrange for a room that was NOT on the street, or find another place nearby. Again - great location, but not a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: Get one that does NOT open onto the street! It is a walkup ... which was not a big problem for us,b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandC71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Fitzwilliam Townhouse is budget friendly and only a 10 minute walk to St. Stephen's Green. You can easily reach Trinity College, Merrion Square, and for shopping both Nassau St. and Grafton St. We had a room on the first floor which was very convenient....there is no elevator, so you must be prepared to lug your suitcases up stairs if on higher floors. Our room was very large and even included a fireplace. King-sized bed was very comfortable and bathroom was very clean, although the room is a little dated. (Just wanted to make a note...there is no lounge or sitting area or dining room..not really even a lobby....just a very small hallway where the receptionist will check you in. We arrived after an overnight flight from the US and they kindly took our suitcases and locked them in the office until check in time. Our room did include a desk and some antique chairs as well as a TV. There is a restaurant downstairs but it was not open on the 2 nights that we stayed there. I believe it is only open on the weekends, so we cannot comment on the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you are unable to carry suitcases upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My brother and I stayed at the Fitzwilliam several years ago and it was in a large elegant room and I remember having a lovely irish breakfast in the townhouse on our last day. I booked it because I wanted to show my husband how lovely it was and I was very disappointed. Even the front entrance had become somewhat shabby over time, our room, especially our bathroom was not very comfortable. No opportunity for breakfast except at Isabels on the weekend and all shops near Fitzwilliam are closed on the weekend, so long way to go for a morning scone and good coffee. It is a good location, quiet and a short walk from the bustle of Dublin. I just wish it had been kept up to its past elegance.

Room Tip: Ask for the twin room on the first floor across from the reception desk. It's a beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This place has an amazing location, very close to the heart of Dublin, yet not in the noisy thick of things. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, and the price is fair. Yes, it's a tad run down in places, and the irons and ironing boards are in the halls, but that was hardly a problem. Our only real issue was that our room was on the top floor, with very steep stairs--carrying a big suitcase up and then down was truly no fun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PibaHolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My friends and I spent a week here and had a really pleasant stay. The staff was very nice and very helpful, especially Elena, she was amazing! Fixed an issue with our booking like she was using magic! Superb customer service. Location was great too. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girl80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear girl80s, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind and positive comments. There is a lot involved in keeping this historical building in top condition for guests and it's great when guests appreciate it and to know that you enjoyed the location. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a week with us and that you would stay again. We work hard to make sure our guests have a comfortable and pleasant experience in Dublin. Thank you again from Fitzwilliam Townhouse Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Fitzwilliam Townhouse was our home for four nights. We had a couple of problems that may have been just us but made for a less than satisfactory experience.

The room was really hot. It was October in Dublin, and maybe a little warmer the first day or two than the calendar would indicate, but our room had two radiators which could not be turned off, and the window would not remain open unless we propped it with something. I complained about the heat but received a non-sequitur response ("the heat is off now") - the problem being the heat at night. They did let us have a fan.

With the window open on account of the radiators, we had to deal with noise from the street, which was very loud. We used earplugs.

Also, there was a problem with the bath. There was a bathtub, but the water was directed to the low-flow handheld shower thingy, and the pressure was so poor it would take all day to fill up the tub. There was no way to direct the water to the faucet. Also, the cold water pressure was so poor that you were nearly guaranteed a scalding whenever you used the shower. There were marks on the door where the hooks used to be - no place to hang your clothes.

Finally, this facility does not offer breakfast. The website was a little ambiguous. On the weekends, Isabel's restaurant (in the basement) offers a fabulous breakfast, but it is only open Fri-Sun and opens rather late. At other times you're on your own. A kettle and instant coffee are provided in the room, which helps.

This facility is specifically not recommended for elderly or out of shape or disabled customers. You will be climbing stairs. There is sometimes a big guy at the desk who can help, but not always.

We found the location to be acceptable if a bit far from Dublin attractions.

We did not have a car. It was pretty hard to find the first time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear JPMcdonough, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have taken note of your comments and in reply to mention that we did turn off the heat at your request, other guests were finding it cool and we could not turn off the heat in the building, we are aware the house retains heat, however, all windows open and because of our city centre location traffic noise can be an issue during the day. Regarding the bath, we have not found an issue with water pressure and there is an handle on our shower hose that redirects water from the shower and through the taps on the bath. Thank you again for your comments. Fitzwilliam Townhouse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at the Fitzwilliam Townhouse for 4 nights this week.

Plus points:
Great location, close to St Stephen's Green
Comfortable bed
Friendly staff

Negatives:
I'm afraid there were a few of these! The hotel in general is really quite run down - badly chipped paintwork, threadbare carpets, hairdryer where the cable is almost worn through, damaged tiles in the bathroom etc. In serious need of some TLC!
Noise - the hotel is on a busy junction and there was a lot of road noise even on the 2nd floor. But, worse than this was the noise from the adjoining rooms. When their TV was on not only could you hear every word, but it also caused a vibration/thrumming noise in my room which was impossible to ignore and kept me awake for two nights. The pipes and extractor fans are also dreadful and several times I was woken up when one of my neighbours used the bathroom. I should say I'm not normally a light sleeper - this place was very loud!
Hot water was also ropey at best - occasionally it worked properly but it was generally barely lukewarm
Wifi - included in room cost but was down completely for at least 10 hours at one point

Overall - I can't honestly recommend this, whilst it may be relatively cheap the compromise to sleep just isn't worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Lindsay B, Thank you for your comments which we find to be quite harsh. Being located in Dublin city centre guests know that it can be busy outside. We do not have any issues with water, our water system has worked properly and we have had no previous complaints. Our free wi-fi service has two networks and the only reason we can find for an issue with wireless could be an exterior problem and we have no reports on file from previous guests having any issues. Thank you for your comments. The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Baggot Court Townhouse
#25 of 150 in Dublin
335 reviews
Waterloo Lodge
#24 of 150 in Dublin
322 reviews
Trinity Lodge
#30 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#22 of 150 in Dublin
676 reviews
Amberley House
#38 of 150 in Dublin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Townhouse

Address: 41 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £55 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzwilliam Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in our friendly & relaxing 3 star Guest House, you will be greeted by our professional staff who will strive to meet your every need with the utmost of attention to detail, ensuring you have a comfortable and carefree stay in Ireland's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzwilliam Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing