We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, right on Temple Bar”
Review of The Norseman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Norseman
Ranked #11 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, right on Temple Bar”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed for two nights, wanted to be on Temple Bar as central location for all of Dublin and a short walk from the bus stop :-)
Rooms are above the Farrington Pub, and bar staff check you in. We arrived very early and the pub let us in and stored our bags till we could actually check in.
Rooms are accessed from a separate entrance on the side street and you have your own key to enter the building, rooms are small, but modern and clean.
Noise cold be heard outside as opposite a busy nightclub but we were out late so didn't bother us a great deal.

Wold stay again due to location and price

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    99
    45
    5
    9
See reviews for
32
117
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Don't get me wrong - it is a great pub but if you are in rooms 1 and 2 you will NOT sleep. The street party craziness went until 4:30am every night and you hear everything. Also you can feel the springs on the bed!!!. We tried to laugh it off as a Temple Bar experience but are glad to spend a night somewhere else tonight,

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the street unless you are going to party on the street until 4:30 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

In the centre of temple bar. The rooms are good. However, it,s not a hotel. Its a room above the pub.

The prices and the information on the web may lead to beleive its an hotel.
The street is noisy. It has nightelife all around.

For a late nigth program its a Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank at_Glorioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Firstly this is a pub that has rooms above, it is not a hotel. It is grand if you're attending a concert like we were and spending little time there but I would not want to spend more than one night here. Our room, number 2 (there are only 5 rooms) was very basic and very warm as we were staying on a hot day, the windows were very difficult to open and we had to hold them open using coat hangers. The double plug socket was loose and hanging off and only one side worked, I used it at my peril! There was tea and coffee making facilities but the cups were stained and dirty looking. As it is in the centre of Temple Bar you shouldn't stay here if you are easily disturbed by outside noise as it is very noisy at night, obviously, till very late and the next morning with deliveries etc. We paid €99 for room only which is definitely over priced for what you get but this is Dublin and it is very expensive. Parking on top of this was €36. Overall we may have been unlucky with the room we got but it just felt a bit dirty, stuffy and cramped; the positives would be the location and a comfortable bed, negatives: not maintained well and cost.

Room Tip: I see others recommend room 3, our room 2 not so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I am almost hesitant to write this review in order to keep this little inn a secret!

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at Farrington's during a holiday in Ireland. The Inn is in the heart of Temple's Bar and is above Farrington's Pub.

Upon arrival we had to go to the bar to obtain our key and we were greeted by a friendly bartender, Barry. Barry then introduced us to Peter who carried our bags for us and showed us to our room.

We were pleasantly surprised with our room as it was quite modern, had a sky light and jacuzzi bathtub.

Futhermore, Peter (the owner) offered to drive us to the airport the following day to pick up a rental car.

I would highly recommend this inn both for its location and superior accommodations! Can't wait for our next trip

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sky light, excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel(B&B?) is on a center of Temple bar street.
So,this area is always bustling in the night.
Bar counter has over fifteen kinds of beer servers.
Bartenders are also staffs of this hotel. Dermot (spell???) is so kindly nice guy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Fantastic location in the heart of dublin.Very helpful staff and beautiful room with great shower and comfortable bed . great value for money would definitely recommend for a stay in dublin. Did not fund the room as noisy as I gad expected from previous reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wicklowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,224 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,774 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,493 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norseman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norseman

Property: The Norseman
Address: 28 East Essex Street, Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Formerly Farringtons)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Norseman 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Norseman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farringtons Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing