We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dip your toes in to Irish heritage”

EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.43*
and up
EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum Tour
Ranked #9 of 512 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: EPIC is a modern museum in Dublin’s Docklands that tells the moving and unforgettable story of the 10 million Irish people who left their homeland, & how they influenced and shaped the world. The world’s only fully digital museum features 1,500 years of Irish history in its atmospheric vaults. Experience this breathtaking story in interactive galleries, with a feast of powerful audio & video bringing these one-of-a-kind tales to life. Shortlisted for European Museum of the Year 2018, this top-rated, family-friendly attraction is an essential destination for everyone with an interest in Ireland’s people, culture and history. Relive some of the greatest achievements in music, literature, sport, business, politics, fashion & science. EPIC also houses the Irish Family History Centre, with a team of genealogy experts to help visitors uncover their Irish roots. Also nearby is the Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship & the Famine Memorial Sculpture. Last entry is 5:00pm, museum closes at 6:45pm
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I really didn't know what to expect and whatever I was expecting, EPIC exceeded it. A very modern museum which takes you through the trials and tribulations of the history of Ireland and its people.

I learnt so much, discovered loads of interesting things and it is a fun and interactive. Would recommend - it is very good!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epicchq, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Chris R,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

Lucie
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"interactive displays"
in 100 reviews
"irish roots"
in 55 reviews
"interactive experience"
in 60 reviews
"left ireland"
in 27 reviews
"irish descent"
in 32 reviews
"all ages"
in 113 reviews
"family history"
in 34 reviews
"audio guide"
in 37 reviews
"two hours"
in 53 reviews
"own pace"
in 44 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 42 reviews
"visiting dublin"
in 42 reviews
"stamp"
in 220 reviews
"technology"
in 183 reviews
"information"
in 249 reviews
"heritage"
in 121 reviews
"stomping"
in 74 reviews
Filter

1,029 - 1,033 of 3,790 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

I really didn’t know much about Irish emigration. I learned a lot and as a Jew appreciate the trauma and sadness with migration but the Irish experience is SO sad and intense.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epicchq, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi ames9659,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the museum and were moved by the stories of the Irish Diaspora we tell in our museum. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

Lucie
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Really well thought out museum. Thought provoking and some lovely artistic pieces on the journey round. All in all a very good place to recommend to other visitors

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Andiwithout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epicchq, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Andiwithout,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Immigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and consideration.

Kind Regards,

Lucie
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Fascinating Museum showing Posiive Benefits of immigration, well researched,modern and interactive. This will encourage many visitors to trace their own family history. We probably all can trace our links back to Ireland!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jackie22Nov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epicchq, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Jackie22Nov,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

Lucie
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Loved it. Staff most helpful. Good insight into why my forebears left. The variation between the rooms was a great example of how they must have felt.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank j0hnsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epicchq, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi j0hnsay,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and the variety of displays in all 20 galleries! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and consideration.

Kind Regards,

Lucie
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing