We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault my stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aghadoe House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aghadoe House B&B
Ranked #55 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault my stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights while I was on a training course in Dublin and honestly couldn't fault my stay. My room was lovely, very clean, bed was comfy and shower was good and powerful. Although my room looked out onto the main road there was no noise at all. Margaret and Eugene were very welcoming, and the breakfasts were the perfect start to the day. Aghadoe House is in a great location, Glasnevin and Botanic Gardens are just down the road, and it's only 25 min walk into the city centre. Really enjoyed my stay, and I felt right at home here.

Room Tip: I was at the front and it didn't bother me at all, even though it's a busy main road I never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E-K-Dolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    20
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at Aghadoe House for 4 nights, our break was a family trip so we booked two rooms, one twin and one double. The rooms are good for a 3 star B&B.

We had room 1 (twin) and room 3 (double). Both rooms had all the facilities you require and an en-suite. In room 3 the shower in the en-suite had good pressue and you could control the temperature with ease. The only thing which let this room down was the television, this sits on top of the wardrobe and is pretty small, the size isnt really an issue but the signal from the ariel isnt very good. However room 1 had a lovely flat screen TV on the wall that worked great so maybe its just a case of getting the money for it! The bed in the room was very comfortable, we had fresh towels and our bed made every day. The room was nice and warm and we could open the window if we got too hot.

Eugene is an absolute pleasure what a lovely lovely guy. When we arrived he sat us down for tea or coffee and gave us a few biscuits which was much needed after a long drive and ferry trip. He then got a map out and showed us all the places of interest, he reccomended some and then said to get the green hop on hop off bus tour. He said to sit on the bus and do the whole route before deciding what to do. I would strongly reccomend anyone else also does this, it helps you get your bearings of the city and makes it easier to decide what order to do things.

In the evening he left a form out for us to say what we wanted for breakfast, in the morning you have breakfast at 8-9 mon-fri and 8.30-9.30 sat-sun. Our table would be waiting and once we sat down Eugune would get tea, coffee and orange juice for you followed by toast and whatever we ordered the night before. Breakfast is lovely and sets you up for the day. I would reccommend the full irish!

BIG TIP: The green hop on and off buses charge 16-18 euros for a two day ticket. DONT GET THIS. Go to the main bus office on O'Connell street under the spire and buy the 3 day Dublin freedom pass. Not only does this give you 3 DAYS on the hop on hop off, it gives you unlimtied bus travel all around Dublin, therefore making it easier to get to and from the B&B. There is a bus stop right outside the B&B so easy to get to town in about 7 minutes. Also the buses in Dublin require EXACT CHANGE, we didnt know this when we first arrived and didnt have it. The bus driver was nice enough to let us on for free but try to avoid this by getting the 3 day ticket.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and Eugene made it a pleasure for us. We didnt get to meet Margaret as she was on holiday but we would like to say he did you very proud and we enjoyed our stay throughly!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JayJones89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We really loved this place!
We arrived very late in the evening becaus our airplane was late, and the owner waited for us and was superkind! In the morning he prepared for us a truly irish breakfast and told us some funny and historical stories about the city! He also arranged us a taxi for the airport at a lower price than the one we took the day we arrived!
The room and the bathroom were very clean, and the surrounding area is lovely: just 10 min. by walking and you're in the citycentre!
I really recommend Aghadoe House!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadja858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

I had such a wonderful time,I stayed for two weeks, Margaret and Eugene are so helpful! They really make you feel at comfortable and homey. They have maps, tickets and a wealth of knowledge to make sure your stay in Dublin is exemplary. They are very accommodating and it was like being home away from home. I did not feel like a stranger for very long. The rooms are the perfect size and very clean. Each room has its own bathroom and shower, a tv and there is access to free Internet. There is also plenty of space to hang clothes and store items. They have a private car park in case your renting a vehicle however if you plan to take the bus there is a stop 20 seconds walk from the gate. Takes you right into city centre. A great day in Dublin starts with a great breakfast and Margaret cooks a better breakfast then any cafe in town! I recomend the full irish. It is a quiet little neighborhood very close to the botanical gardens and glasnevin cemetery. Also just a 15 minute drive to the airport. It is fairly quiet I live in the country so the noise level here was hardly noticeable. There are also a few good places to eat and shop within a 10 minute walking distance. So if you plan to stay in Dublin, I would highly recommend you stay here! I can't praise it enough!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at this B&B the first and last nights of our trip. Upon arriving in Dublin at @8:00 AM, we headed for the B&B hoping we could leave our luggage. One of the rooms was ready and we were able to check in early to our delight. We parked our car in their carpark as it's a 30 second walk to the bus stop for the city center. The B&B is also a short walk from the national botanical gardens (free) which our hosts Margaret & Eugene recommended-they were right- well worth the visit. Also a short walk away is the Addison Lounge/Restaurant with good food and great Guiness. Margaret & Eugene invited us to join them and their friends in the bar, and one of their friends Jimmy, a guitarist/singer entertained us with Irish songs for over an hour- a very special night. Breakfasts were very good, the rooms extremely clean, and plenty of hot water. The rooms are on the small size, but you are in the city, so it's a good trade off. The personal attention, friendliness and helpful suggestions make this a great choice and we will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

great location very quirky and surrounded by great pubs and not far from central dublin. All amenities (like laundramat) were handy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My family and I (6 adults) roadtripped across Ireland in the fall of 2010 (September/October). We stayed in a different B&B each night of our 10-day vacation. Aghadoe House was our 2nd-to-last night in Ireland. It's located on the north side of the city, within walking distance to the (free!) botanical gardens, and on a main busline. The city center is a short, easy 10-minute bus ride away. Buses are a great way to travel around Dublin--they are clean, convenient, safe, and affordable. Eugene and Margaret allowed us to check in early (late morning) to drop off our cars (in free, off-street parking) so that we could explore the city all day. They even helped us to navigate the bus routes (by telling us which routes to take to get to where we wanted) and sold us 2-day tickets to the Hop On-Hop Off Dublin Bus Tours (very convenient to see the tourist attractions in Dublin). Our room was on the 2nd floor with a window to the street. It was clean, but small (but really what do you expect in the city?). It had a queen-size bed and bathroom ensuite. Unfortunately, the bed was not so comfortable, but it sufficed. Irish breakfast was served the next morning in the first floor dining room. We discussed our travels with Margaret and Eugene over breakfast. We all wished we would have booked this B&B for 2 nights, but we already had a reservation at another B&B for our last night in Ireland. Margaret and Eugene were super helpful in making a phone call to our next B&B (which was also in Dublin) to see if we could check in early again to ditch our cars. Overall, it was a lovely stay and we would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllycatMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Maples House Hotel
Maples House Hotel
#100 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botanic View B & B
Botanic View B & B
#3 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Abberley House B&B
Abberley House B&B
#37 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acara House B&B
Acara House B&B
#46 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#25 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe House B&B

Property: Aghadoe House B&B
Address: 77 Botanic Road | Glasnevin, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are welcome to our family run B&B in Dublin. Come and live with us in our Edwardian townhouse where we hope you will have a comfortable stay. We have double, twin and triple rooms, all of which have own shower room, TV. After a good night's rest we hope you will enjoy breakfast. You can select from Full Irish Breakfast, Small Irish Breakfast, Vegegarian Breakfast or Continental Breakfast.Then it's time to explore The National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin Museum and enjoy various Exhibitions, Tours and investigate the Genealogy section. After all that its time to visit Dublin City Centre, so why not take the Hop-on Hop-off City Tour. We can organise tickets for this tour if required. Dont miss "The Book of Kells", Trinity, College, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Guinness Storehouse and Kilmainham Gaol, just to mention a few. In the evenings you can then visit Temple Bar and soak in traditional Irish music over a drink or have a nice meal from one of the many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aghadoe House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing