We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible pity to see it close.”
Review of Bridge Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Bridge Bar and Grill
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,004 helpful votes
“Terrible pity to see it close.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was one of our very favourite restaurants in Dublin.

What a terrible shame to see such a well run and excellent restaurant bite the dust. Martina Fox is one of the restaurant worlds greatest hostesses and you were always assured of a warm, friendly, smiling greeting. It really was a wonderful place to eat and for sure one of the nicest atmospheres in the whole of Ireland to have a meal.

We will miss this and we wish Martina all the very best in her future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Was always great..... Such a pity to see it closed now.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Bridge bar and grill has been my favourite spot to dine in Dublin for 5 years, you were always GAURANTEED a warm friendly welcome and great service from the moment you entered until you left. The restaurant was just getting better and better with every passing year, and always felt like a home from home because everyone took the time to chat to you, remember your favourite tipple, how you liked your staek cooked etc so It was with great sadness that I read the notice on the door last night which stated that due to circumstances beyond their control the restaurant was no longer open.... Another great restaurant bites the dust. I wish the management and staff of Bridge all the very best in the future and I hope to god they treat us with their culinary service and hospitality expertise in a new spot very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dineso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We dined here recently before a show in the theatre. The service was very good. The lady serving us (not Martina Fox) was very friendly and professional. The food was nice, although the pear in the pear & blue cheese salad didn't really add much flavour and the duck for the main course was a touch overcooked. The panna cotta for dessert was real highlight of the meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhoebsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork,ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pre theatre mini meals”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Dined at this lovely venue prior to taking in a musical but was very disappointed with the food and service considering that I had chosen this gasto pub having read a number of good reviews. Overall the food was lacking in quantity and in quality and the service was slow and delivered by different waiters . I had the risotto verde which was rice loaded with peas presented in an oriental bowl while my fellow diners had the sea bream on a bed of beans which they found was unappetising and flavourless. The starters of duck and black pudding croquettes were equally disappointing. It took over twenty minutes from ordering desserts to us getting the courage to cancell our order as curtain up was in fifteen minutes . We had spent over 90 minutes at the table and had made it clear to our waiters that we were having the pre theatre menu to ensure that we were in our seats before the start of the show. The decor and location is great but the dining experience is poor. A pity as this pub has a niche theatregoers market on its doorstep waiting to be wooed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marieCork_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Having really enjoyed pre-theatre dinner here on several occasions we were very disappointed with our meal. My starter of glazed beets was a triumph of presentation over flavour.
Both of us had sea bream with squid chorizo and a ragout. My squid was "grizzley" which I think means not fresh ,my partner could not find any chorizo and the ragou looked and tasted like tinned beans.
After two courses I was still hungry,which never happened to me before as I am not a big eater so had to order desert which was just OK. My partner had Creme brulee which she enjoyed.
Service was patchy with no one waiter dealing with us which made the dining experience not very satisfactory.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank skeagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridge Bar and Grill also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing