We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Irish Fare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Sheas

O'Sheas
Ranked #141 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Warmington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Irish Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We came across this place when we were beyond ready to eat. It was a great Irish pub with very fast, efficient service. The tables were nice and we were able to get a good spot with our kids. All of our food was excellent! Great meal!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    245
    64
    21
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bar Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have visited on numerous occasions but this time we were very disappointed the Guinness was lovely though more expensive then some of the other surrounding bars. My partner ordered the steak pie potatoes and vegetables and I had a bowl of chips, unfortunately when the food arrived it was cold and the pie was not a pie it was gravy on the plate with pieces of meat with a thin pie crust on one side of the plate that looked like a poppadum along with two ice cream scoops of instant potatoe and a separate small bowl of frozen veg all stone cold the small bowl of chips were cold and broken in pieces with black bits in the chips which were rotten parts of the potatoe, I called the waiter and asked would you eat this he just took it away and apologised this venue is on the tourist trail and a Hotel they really need to improve the food as the bar is great for music drink and sports

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
672 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Good Bar, Good Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

BAR REVIEW ONLY
-Not crazy crowded, one could find a seat.
-I guestimate it was 2/3rds locals and 1/3rd tourists
-Pints were less than 6 euro
-Paddys Whiskey was less than 5 euro
-Two man Irish band was great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ylivieska, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere, live music, and not too growded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited O'Sheas in our last evening in Ireland. It was very near to our B&B Anchor House. The atmosphere was very cosy, not too loud, not too growded and bartenders were nice and joked, even they were very busy. Food was good. Only thing to mention is that our first drinks were charged twice accidentally (we paid our first pints immediately but they were added again into our ticket after eating), but the bartender corrected the ticket right away as he saw our receipt. So keep your receipts as you might need them, mistakes can happen in hurry!

After we finished eating the live music players came in and it was very nice to see and listen playing and older (local?) dancers having good time. After all very nice visit to this place and we will surely visit again next trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This restaurant is in a great location, but has very poor service. Our waitress checked on us twice over an hour's time and then we waited over 15 mins after finishing our meal before receiving our ticket.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cronins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Sheas also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to O'Sheas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing