We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“depressing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St
Ranked #1 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“depressing place”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Apartment was large and a good price. But I would gladly have paid more for a smaller, nicer place. The apartment building itself is very depressing, all the apartments are in "blocks" and if that makes it sound like a prison complex, well it FEELS like a prison complex. A maze of doors and corridors and passcodes, tile floors make everything echo and it feels like the inside of a correctional facility. Or perhaps the opening of "Get Smart." The outdoor grounds are even more depressing, my living room window faced out onto the back of a very dingy parking garage with graffiti on it. The inside of the apartment smelled bad, especially the bathroom and we had to buy a can of Febreeze to eliminate the stale, musty odor. It did not help that none of the doors to the bedrooms or the bathroom stay open, you have to prop them open. All tile with long hallways created an echo-chamber effect. The plumbing is incredibly noisy, and the water is by turns scorching hot and then cold. Towels very scratchy and stiff. Noisy neighbors did not help, it seemed like there were people renting apartments for the sole purpose of partying. And then there's the neighborhood. Close to the city center, yes. But we saw a drug deal go down right in front of the apartment building our first day. Not close enough to the center that you feel good walking back there late at night. In short, this place is a dump. Had I not paid all four days in advance I would have gone elsewhere. I found it very depressing coming back to this apartment every day. Sometimes you get what you pay for...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdretreacy, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our St. Augustine apartments. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time here. Most apartments are constructed in blocks and referred to as, apartment blocks, that is not unique to us. A few of the apartments face the parking garage, but we are located in the city centre, so all our apartments, either face other apartments or office buildings. Access to each block from the courtyard is controlled by means of a key pad. We used to have key access but changed it to keypad as this was much easier for apartments where there was more than 2 guests.
All the public areas and stairways are carpeted from the first floor up. Apartments have tiled living areas and the bedrooms are carpeted, this allows for easier cleaning and hence a more hygienic apartment. To comply with Health and Safety regulations, all doors within are fire rated and therefore must close both inside the apartments and in the public areas.
Each apartment has a pump, the pump comes on when a tap or the shower is turned on. If there was no pump in the apartment the water pressure would be extremely low.
I apologise if there were noisy guests, we do ask guest to be quiet between the hours of 10pm and 7am. Our staff carry out regular walks to ensure there noise is kept to a minimum, guests if found to be making excessive noise are asked to reduce noise levels.
The apartments are located in the city centre and as with all capital cities, there are areas and activities that are less than desirable, but unfortunately, we have no control of what happens outside our premises.

If you would like to discus your stay with us further, please do not hesitate to contact me. My email address is Deirdre@staycity.com

Yours sincerely

Deirdre Treacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    614
    211
    76
    47
See reviews for
638
272
36
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is 1 of 2 Staycity sites in dublin and both are in good locations for the shops, bars and restaurants. No complaints at all about the rooms or the communal areas.your apartment has everything you could possibly need and everything worked. The staff helped with everything we asked for and were very efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for one not to far from reception because it can be a bit of a walk through the courtyard with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenwjwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Clean and nice and so close to the center of the city- and for what we paid brilliant value. The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly! Would definitely recommend for any group but especially perfect for a girls/lads holiday- such good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdretreacy, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the St. Augustine apartments so positively. I am delighted you liked the apartments and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us, next time you're in Dublin

Sincerely
Deirdre Treacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

StayCity is not a luxury resort but clean and efficient and very well located. Best of all it is a reasonable price compared to some of the ridiculously priced competition. We had some small issues with the room but the staff were so incredibly helpful, particularly Susan, that we didn't care at all. Our bags had been lost at Heathrow and the staff went far beyond the call of duty to help us. Not only deal with our airline but to help us find provisions to get by without bags.

Room Tip: Block A is most convenient and ask for a room that doesn't face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpigletCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdretreacy, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be very helpful, particularly in assisting you with your lost luggage.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future if you visit Dublin again.

Sincerely

Deirdre Treacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very wide apartment on 5th floor. I enjoyed my stay. Staff friendly and helpful.
Very quiet. The spot outside is not very fun but not far from city center and close to bus stop leading to airport. Just the last day (I stayed 3 days) i've had no hot water unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PREVENTION2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was our second stay at these very comfortable apartments! We stayed with friends visiting from the USA. They too were very impressed with the layout of the Apartment and it's closeness to Dublin's Temple area. We did have one issue which when raised with the management was dealt with very quickly and greatly to our satisfaction. The Apartments are close to all the cities sightseeing attractions and we found it to be very suitable if you want to get out and walk the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family and I just got back from our vacation, where we stayed at Staycity apartments for two nights in Dublin. The location was easy to find, but could be a bit tricky to get to the parking garage as it was down a one way street not easily identifiable when you first arrive.

The staff was friendly and helpful and we actually got upgraded from a 1 bedroom apartment to a three bedroom apartment upon arrival.

It was relatively warm in the city during this time and the apartments did not have a AC or fans in the rooms, so we did get pretty warm at times. There was some street noise, but nothing that woke us up at night.

Dublin wasn't our favorite city, but the apartment was a great value and away from a lot of the hustle and bustle, but close enough to still walk to the sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdretreacy, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you liked the apartments and that the staff were friendly and helpful.

We have been experiencing very warm weather lately, which is uncharacteristic for Dublin. We have fans available on request from reception, I apologise we didn't have them at the time of your stay.


Yours Sincerely

Deirdre Treacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,797 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St
Address: The Schoolhouse 42-76 Saint Augustine Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Serviced Apartments in Dublin City Centre are finished to a very impressive standard. They provide the guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 21 one-bedroom (sleeps 3), 77 two-bedroom (sleeps 5) and 12 three-bedroom self catering apartments (sleeps 7), each fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. Each apartment comes with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, TV and lounge/dining area. Quality serviced apartments right in the heart of Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Saint Augustine St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Augustine Apartments By Staydublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing