We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lombard Townhouse
Ranked #77 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Pros:
Myself and boyfriend stayed here for a concert at the O2. We booked here because it is only 5-10mins further from the O2 than Jurys or Clarion, and much more affordable (we got a twin room for €68).
As a young couple we have stayed in a couple of not-so-lovely rooms for the sake of saving money, but we were pleasantly surprised that this is by no means a 'dingy' guesthouse.
The room was simple but clean, tidy and well presented. It had a nice ensuite with a decent sized shower, a small hairdryer in the bedside table, tea/coffee making facilities, a small hanging rail with some 'basket tray' drawers to store clothes, a small table with chairs by the window, and a flat screen tv with a range of channels.
The bar below is nice and has a good menu. 3 course meals for €20.
We met who I presumed was the manager at checkout as I was unsure if I needed to pay or had been charged, and he was very pleasant.

Cons:
On arrival I asked at the bar where to check in. The girl there was not rude but made no effort to be friendly either. A smile would go a long way in making new visitors feel relaxed.
The double bed was two singles pushed together. Not a massive problem but an actual double would be so much more comfortable, where you can not feel the line in the middle.
The room was freezing when we arrived, but had warmed up by the time we got back from the concert. I think my boyfriend may have tried turning on the rad on arrival - I just read in another review that visitors must control room temperature themselves. I wouldn't mind this so much but letting people know this at check-in would be helpful.
The spotlight above the sink in the bathroom was hanging from the ceiling, so the sink had dirt in it on arrival. Again, if something is in need of repair in the room, a heads up would be nice at check-in so that it does not give a bad impression when you see for yourself.
At dinner a separate girl gave us menus and then forgot to take our orders. After we asked at the bar to order, she was sent over and took our orders. We had to repeat a little though as she had no pen/pad to write it down. She then forgot our drinks (after serving spicy buffalo wings!) so we had to ask her again for those too.

Overall, the staff could do with additional training in service, but the accommodation itself is excellent value for money, and I would recommend this to anyone looking for affordable accommodation in this area, especially if attending a show at The O2.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardManagement, Manager at The Lombard Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate all reviews, unfortunately on the day of your arrival our member of staff that dealt with you was only on her second day, and a little unsure of how to procede with your check in and what advice to offer, this issue has been rectified with a little practice. I am delighted that you found our property suitable for your requirements. We have been maintaining and fixing small problems over the last few weeks while we have the opportunity such as light fittings etc etc , the room you stayed in has now been snagged to ensure future guests do not observe loose light spots. Many thanks again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

we arrived really late after a late flight-it was 1am, and because the pub was still open downstairs it was easy to get the keys, we let ourselves in, and although it was freezing in the room when we arrived, we put the heat on and it warmed up soon. The room was great with very comfy bed, great bathroom and big shower, lots of towels and tea/coffee. It is about 8min walk to trinity college and 10min walk from temple bar, so location is excellent. Would definately recommend, and would stay again. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurafasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

On arrival (6 pm, cold and wet through), was given keys to room, room was colder than outside !!
Went back down to the bar and informed the manager and was told I had to turn on all of the radiators and the room would be warm in half an hour !
An hour later the rads were still stone cold, asked for refund as the room was not fit to stay in and was told that no refunds are EVER given.
Ruined the week end, wouldn't go back if you paid me.
Had to move to a another hotel and pay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardManagement, Manager at The Lombard Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your review all reviews are greatly appreciated, unfortunately i feel your review is misleading as upon arrival you instantly took a dislike to our room we offered, I quote" you would not get this in the travel lodge" as i explained to you on arrival, it is our policy to allow each guest to regulate the temperature in their room to suit individual level of comfort. Unfortunately you only allowed 20 minutes to pass before you decided to return to the bar area with your luggage and request a refund, i did advise that that if you did leave it would be at your own cost, unfortunately you decided to take this course of action. I am disappointed you did not find us suitable to your needs, thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Really liked the whole set-up, the room was a good size (helped perhaps by minimal furnishings) and decorated in a clean modern style. The location is great, so much of central Dublin is easily walkable from here and has great links for the Dart and bus. Really friendly staff,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
3  Thank jgcouper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrived at Dublin and check into the Lombard Hotel. Fantastic experience. Staff Martin and Anna were so friendly and helpful. Found the room beautiful and location fantastic. walking distance to everything. Had an evening meal and very tasty. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The rooms are small but nice (I loved the bath room) and the beds are comfortable. The location is near the city center but a noisy (you can hear the traffic outside during the night). The food in The Lombard Pub/Bar next door is excellent! Overall: good value for money, I would stay there again.


  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Myself and my Husband popped into the Lombard on Sunday, (the day the city was alive with planes) "Skyfest". Although the bar was extremely busy due to the event taking place in the city centre, the staff were excellent. They seated us straight away, and couldn’t have been more accommodating. The food was excellent, and the staff were courteous and extremely helpful.

Its definitely a bar that I will be going back to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
The Norseman
The Norseman
#11 of 150 in Dublin
311 reviews
Temple Bar
The Merchant House
The Merchant House
#21 of 150 in Dublin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity Lodge
#29 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#23 of 150 in Dublin
675 reviews
Baggot Court Townhouse
#22 of 150 in Dublin
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lombard Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lombard Townhouse

Address: 44 Pearse Street/1 Lombard Street, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £85 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lombard Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lombard Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lombard Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing