We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dining experience”
Review of Cellar Restaurant

Cellar Restaurant
Ranked #316 of 2,618 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: European, French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent service. Knowledgable staff made good recommendations, which were spot on. Good food. Try the chips with parmesan & truffle oil.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Canonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    89
    34
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food & service, not cheap!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I really enjoyed the food here, and the service was excellent but there were a couple of things that won't have me coming back here. I think this place is a little overpriced considering the price of a nearby restaurant that I found to be much nicer. I recall asking for a tap water, and they charged us for water on the bill, maybe I should have disputed this. The wine is expensive but I guess that's what you pay in an expensive restaurant these days! The atmosphere wasn't the best but maybe it was because we were a bit early. I can't fault the food and the staff were lovely but I can't justify the price when there's better on offer down the road..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ciara186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Cannot fault the restaurant at all. Staff very attentive and meal was excellent. I had the lamb and it came with a small lamb pastie absolute beautiful. For dessert we had the lemon tart with lemon marshmallows and meringue. Absolute heaven

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank juliewht40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Quite simply service and food that sets the standard for how it should be done,without having to take out a mortgage to enjoy it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank onecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orillia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fab Barand restaurant”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This restaurant/bar is in the basement of the Merrion Hotel, and is mostly all brick and stone, even the curved ceilings. The bar staff were excellent, and offered our party (of 13) a separate room but we stayed in the main bar area (with fireplace). We then moved to a separate private dining room and had a wonderful dinner, salmon, seafood tower (wow) mussels, yum!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cellar Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing