We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service but a bit noisy at night”
Review of Abigails Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abigails Hostel
Ranked #7 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I just needed this hostel to stay a for 3 nights to visit a friend while I was in Dublin. I recieved a very warm welcome when I arrived and the staff were very professional, friendly and helpful in every way.

The dorm I was in was right next to the road and right around the corner from temple bar so it got it was always noisy and busy at night time with traffic and drunken people.

Overall a great place to stay if your a young backpacker or in a youth group. well done to the staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorcan775539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I genuinely can't fault this hostel. The location was perfectly central and close to all the main attractions. We stayed in a private room for 3 which was clean, comfortable and well equipped. It was a little noisy at night but that's the price you pay for being so close to all the action. Great value for money, helpful staff, good atmosphere and decent sized room. Would definitely recommend for a trip away with friends.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elk01477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was the first hostel I had ever stated at and my first trip abroad from the US. I was worried about how a hostel would be since they are so much cheaper than hotels but Abigail's was certainly a 5 star place in my opinion. The common room was nice, the room was clean and the private bathroom was an unexpected plus. As for the staff they were unbelievably helpful, especially one man named Ciaran who put in the extra effort, at 4am mind you, to help us find where the bus pickup was to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattymurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here on Saturday 12th July with a group of eight 13 to 16yr olds who were at all times treated with friendliness and respect. The staff really make this place (not that there is anything wrong with it otherwise but they were just great) They were at all times friendly, knowledgable and helpful on every subject we threw at them (including where to find skate parks so not just your normal touristy stuff).
The room was lovely and clean with comfortable beds and an en suite, fantastic, hot, powerful shower (my daughter wanted to take it home with us).
The breakfast is also great for a hostel. Eggs, toast and jam, tea, coffee and juice, yoghurt and tinned fruit in unlimited quantities...just help yourself.
Unbeatable value for central Dublin. I would heartily recommend it to anyone and will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_Loveday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here for a total of 1.5 weeks while i was in Ireland. Great place to stay right in Temple Bar and close to the shops and great pubs. It was clean, friendly, and breakfast was good. I only had a problem with noise once, and it was a club playing Backstreet Boys (which was actually fine). I've already recommended it to fellow travellers along the way and when I go back to Dublin this is where I'll be staying.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank ezza206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I just stayed 2 nights in Abigails, really happy with it. I was in an all female dorm. It is a great location, literally 2 mins walk from O'Connell Street and 5 mins from Temple Bar. Breakfast was fine and staff were friendly. for €20 a night, you cannot go wrong.
My only complaint and its not really a complaint, more of a suggestion really; the Pass that you are given is literally like a paper thin receipt, and it would be easy enough to lose it/ throw it away by accident. Maybe a cardboard pass could be designed, or if the Pass was stapled onto a card or something, it would be easier to store it in a purse etc. I kept having to double check that i still had it during the day, as with sightseeing etc it would be easy to lose it or throw it away by accident with admission slips, map etc. !

Room Tip: This Hostel is located on the Quays, so there is constant traffic and noise from passers by etc, If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMon1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Didn't have the best experience at Abigails but I think it's because it was my first time ever staying in a hostel. The main issues were my roommates and the noise out in the hallways.

Pros: Abigails is right in the Temple Bar area which is really convenient. There are several bus stops right outside the front door as well which is nice if you don't want to walk to the Guinness factory, Jameson distillery, the Kilmainham Gaol, etc. Decent breakfast and relatively clean. Different sized lockers in the main lobby to store laptops, jewelry, cameras, passports, etc and the fees aren't too bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 126 in Dublin
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Abbey Court
#8 of 126 in Dublin
1,115 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 126 in Dublin
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigails Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigails Hostel

Address: 7/9 Aston Quay | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £12 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abigails Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently converted from a hotel, Abigail's Hostel is located in Temple Bar, overlooking the River Liffey and Ha'penny Bridge.All our rooms have private bathrooms, central heating and hairdryers. Our reception is open 24/7 and our friendly staff are happy to help you with tourism information or anything you might need to enjoy your visit to Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Abigails Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing