We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”
Review of Cliff TownHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff TownHouse
Ranked #20 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Myself and my wife stayed here on the October B/H weekend, I was in Dublin to do the Dublin Marathon.
The hotel location is the best in Dublin, its right on Stephens Green so perfect for sight seeing, shopping, eating out and nightlife.
The hotel staff were excellent and gave me a free late checkout to accomodate me doing the marathon.
The room was small but very clean and well kept.
The hotel use the Stephens Green Shopping centre car park, it is about a 5 minute walkaway - its not a problem but good to know.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Many thanks for your positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    96
    38
    27
    14
See reviews for
46
171
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Cliff Townhouse, over the October Bank Holiday weekend. The room was charming and well put together, with a nice sized bathroom and comfy queen sized bed. It was at the top of the building and the lift didn't go all the way up there, but that just gave us a chance to explore (read get lost in) the lovely corridors of this fantastic building. This is a truly stunning, fantastic building with the main restaurant being a real highlight for us. The food served at breakfast was amazing and I'm slightly dissapointed that we didn't make it for lunch or dinner, parhaps next time! The location of the hotel was perfect, right on St Stephens green, and near most of the shops, and easily in walking distance to the bars and sites. Also the service was also fantastic with the staff being very friendly, helpful and always had a smile. There was a wedding on our first night here and the staff were very apologetic but to be honest we didn't even notice and it didn't keep us awake at all. All in all this was a great stay in a lovely hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretbeautyCo, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Mark D,

Many thanks for your kind and positive review.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hideaway on the green in the future and hope that you get the chance to dine with us then.

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan
Deputy General Manager
The Cliff Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This house sits directly across from St. Stephen's Green, a short walk away from Trinity College and several great National Museums. A variety of eats are available all around. But certainly try the hotel's restaurant. Great breakfasts cooked to order and dinners.
The room we stayed in was smallish, but certainly adequate for a five day visit. Cleaned up every day. Generally nice and quiet. Bed and pillows a bit stiff.
The staff was exceptional. Front desk folks were pleased to offer great recommendations on what to see, where to eat, how to get about. Restaurant staff extremely proficient and good guys all around.
Wifi worked great with adequate bandwidth to call home.
A lift to the upper floor would've been nice, but gave back a lot of calories getting to the room.
Great place; great folks, pleasant visit.

Room Tip: Sometimes it felt like a long walk to our room on the upper floor, but it did provide a good cardio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cigarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F, Deputy General Manager - The Cliff Collection at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Cigarron,

Many thanks for the detailed feedback and positive review.
An enormous part of our attraction is our wonderful location and our restaurant and we are delighted that you got to appreciate both.
Unfortunately, we are restricted with regards to the the lift but pleased that you felt the benefits of the stairs!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan
Deputy General Manager
The Cliff Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Good location. There was a smell of food in reception when we arrived . Also the lift stank of kitchen waste which must have been transported in there. Some beer kegs outside life and a random table and chairs stored on the landing, Gave the feel of a hotel that didn't really care. Room was lovely apart from the bathroom which was like it belonged to another cheaper hotel. The air conditioning units of the hotel or next door were very noisy. Breakfast was a real highlight. Delicious.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecalx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F, Deputy General Manager - The Cliff Collection at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Blueclax,

Thank you for your review and please be assured that we are addressing all the issues you have highlighted. The smell in the lift was due to a water leak into the lift shaft and has been resolved. The housekeeping issues you raised regarding the furniture, kegs and bathroom are not acceptable and I have spoken to the accommodation manager and team and we will resolve each one.
I am delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and hope to see you again,
Kind regards,

Paul Finegan
Deputy General Manager
The Cliff Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife and I booked a six night stay at Cliff Townhouse back in March for our Sept trip to Dublin. We booked a superior room through Expedia and were confirmed. Our flight arrived in Dublin very early on the first day of our stay and we took a cab to the hotel. I asked if I could leave our bags someplace until check in time, but the desk clerk said they had a "no show" and he could give us a room immediately. We were given a very nice room overlooking St Stephens Green and we unpacked and got some much needed sleep. At around 11am the front desk phoned the room and told us that we never should have been given that room, but they didn't have a room for us for the first night, and would put us up at another hotel for that night. Off we went to another hotel, which was only about a five minute walk. We came back to Cliff Townhouse the next day at around 12:30 and they gave us a room which was maybe 1/2 the size of the room we had on Friday (not what I would consider a superior room, based on the descriptions on their website). In addition, the wifi didn't work in this room. We unpacked again and went out to see some sights. Upon return to the hotel at around 8pm, we noticed a wedding reception was going on in the bar (located below our room). It was very noisy and we asked how late the reception was going to go on. The restaurant manager spoke with me and said it would probably last late into the night. I explained that we had a tour to go on early the next morning and we had to get up early. I explained what had happened so far, and he was very understanding and apologized for the noise. He offered to do whatever we wanted, and even offered to put us up at another hotel (we didn't want to move yet again). He offered to move us back to the larger room with the working wifi the next day if we wanted that. He even gave us a key to another room further in the back, but it was just as noisy. As I said, he was very accommodating and we appreciated that. We ended up getting about four hours sleep that night. When we returned from our tour the next afternoon, our bags had been moved to the new room and everything settled in after that. Our four remaining days were very comfortable and the room was fine. The restaurant manager suggested a place for dinner, that was an excellent choice. My ratings are based on the overall experience of six nights. Unfortunately the first two nights dropped to rating.

Positives:
Very nice, helpful and friendly staff
Good breakfast
Nice room (once we got settled)
Excellent location
Free Wifi
Manager apologized for not having a room and offered us a free lunch, which we declined, but it was offered.


Negatives:
Even though we booked in March, they didn't have a room for us on the first night.
The room on the second night was much smaller and wifi didn't work. Loud wedding reception was going on below us until around 2am.
Room was clean except bathroom floor was not washed very well.
I agree with the reviewer who said The Cliff Townhouse is more like a restaurant with ten rooms, not a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

From the view of St. Stephen's Green to the marble bath to the fireplace to the warm Irish blanket (which I needed by the way.) Loved the full Irish breakfast, too, in the stylish, "clubby" (they told me it was a former men's club) dining room. And what could be more convenient than being right around the corner from the airport bus. I made a good choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretbeautyCo, Director of Sales at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear BrooklynStuart,

Thanks for writing a glowing review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us please make sure you come back and see us again and tell all your friends about us!

Regards
Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

stayed in the Cliff Town House at the end of August. Although I was not overly impressed with the main entrance / reception area - i.e the first few seconds of my stay, the rest of my time spent at the Town House was very enjoyable. The rooms are small but luxurious and very clean and tidy. The breakfast (Eggs Benedict) was absolutely first class and the attention of waiting staff during breakfast was very impressive. The Town House is also 2 minutes walk from Grafton Street and all the lovely shops if you're heading to Dublin and you need a central location. I am already planning my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretbeautyCo, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Cliff Town House and thank you for taking the time to write it.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again soon!
Regards
Drew Flood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff TownHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff TownHouse

Property: Cliff TownHouse
Address: 22 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff TownHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Townhouse is superbly located in the heart of Dublin with boutique style rooms and wonderful restaurant with great food, superb service and ambiance at great value. Private dining facility also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Cliff TownHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Town House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing