We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of Cliff TownHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliff TownHouse
Ranked #20 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Cliff Townhouse is such a nice little place- super helpful staff, big and beautiful rooms, the perfect location, and superb food.

We were up on the 5th floor, and there's no lift, but it didn't end up being a big deal. The staircases are nice and wide, and the staff even helped carry our luggage when we arrived. The room surprised us with how large it was, and it was beautifully appointed. The bathroom was also large, and the water pressure was excellent. There were bathrobes and slippers in our room for our use, and I appreciated that there was a room safe for valuables as well.

We were facing St Stephen's Green and we didn't notice any problem with noise from the street. In fact, we enjoyed sitting up at our windows and just people watching for awhile.

Breakfast was EXCELLENT each morning, and the wait staff was helpful and polite.

I hope we can make it back and stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in a room on the 5th floor overlooking St Stephen's Green and we didn't notice any p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear M R,

We would love to have you back in the not too distant future - we are always delighted to hear when guests have enjoyed their room, their dining experience and the staff so much!

Makes it all worthwhile.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    96
    38
    27
    14
See reviews for
46
169
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent three nights at the Town House and loved it! The room and restaurant are excellent, but above all the staff were exceptional- customer service specialists! I needed to get my wedding dress drycleaned and one the of the reception staff took care of it without any hesitation. Simply saying it was no bother. Thank you Lauren! Breakfast was delightful, fresh and very good tea! Waitress was was the perfect host. Nothing was too much for the staff at the Cliff Town House and we cant wait to return!

Room Tip: The lift only goes to the second floor of five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Vanessa H,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much - the team are great and deserve praise so thank you for that.

We are looking forward to your return visit already.

Warm Regards,

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Our last two nights in Ireland were at the Cliff Town House, the reception desk and everyone we saw was simply delightful and helpful....great team work. They were doing a bit of refurbishing and in fact I received an email prior telling us, which is professional and something rarely done today.
The rooms were spacious (though one was small and quickly swapped out for a bigger one) nice touches from the tea set up to the books and the toiletries ~ all first class. The only downside is that they do not have air conditioning, which on most days in Dublin is fine, we happen to be there when the temperatures were in the mid-seventies, so the rooms were warm.
The breakfast was good, though limited, but we had dinner on our last night and it was outstanding (though pricey).
There is a lift but only goes so far, there is still quite a few steps involved and there is someone to take your luggage up and down, but using the steps allows you to enjoy desert.
The location across from St. Stephens Green is perfect for shopping, and seeing the sites, easy walk to Trinity College.
I would recommend The Cliff Townhouse while in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coco#55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Coco#55,

Thank you for your review.

We are a small property but we do our best to assist our guests in every way we can.

Really looking forward to looking after you again on your return visit.

Best Wishes,
Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We loved the The Cliff Town House! It was so easy to get to from the bus from the airport, it is perfectly located on St. Stephen's Green, the rooms were adorable, and the Irish breakfast in their restaurant was one of the best we had in Ireland! Everything was beautiful and we would return.

The only downsides were that the rooms had old-fashion locks so that you could unlock from both the outside and the inside, and that it's a true town house, so you have to walk stairs to get to your room...not handicap friendly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, facing the green!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGHnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear AGHnyc,

We are very fortunate to have the Airport bus stop just a few meters away...another guest advantage when staying here in the Cliff Townhouse!

A true Townhouse indeed .... we like our stairs as they keep us all very fit and keep us feeling young ........

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate it.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
383 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Very lovely hotel; our room was small but elegantly furnished. There is lift that services 2 floors. Our room was on the back side, very quiet. Absolutely delicious breakfast is included. The restaurant is fabulous. We ate there 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear snowy_and_sunny,

Thank you for your review - delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and rate our restaurant so highly.

Can't wait for your return visit, be sure to say hello to me!


Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed on a Friday night in a room on 4th floor looking on to St. Stephen's Green for €175 incl. breakfast. Can't ask for a better location. Breakfast was good, but choice was a bit limited - I didn't notice any cheese(?), though the brown bread was gorgeous. But the friendliness was exceptional - at check-in, at breakfast and at check-out - genuine warmth from all staff who seemed happy at their work! Slight problem with the key to our room was dealt with efficiently. Room itself was spacious and comfortable. People with heavy suitcases might have difficulty with climbing 4 flights of stairs, but I'm sure help would be at hand if needed. We certainly felt we were staying in luxurious surroundings in a well preserved town house. Would definitely stay again and already recommending Cliff Town House to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weekend-holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Weekend-holidaymaker,

Thank you for your recent review.

We appreciate your feedback about our breakfast menu.....we like to try and keep it simple as that way it's consistent for our regular morning guests. On your next visit, do let us know and we can provide a cheese plate for you.....as they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day so we do like to accommodate all requests!

We look forward to your return visit.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Spent a night in this beautiful town house located in Stephens green,a perfect location very central.Very nice spacious bedrooms furnished to suit the style of the building but was a little disappointed with the layout (no plug socket near mirror not good for women trying to use Hairdryers).From the minute we entered the restaurant I knew it was going to be a good experience greeted by friendly staff and a beautifully decorated restaurant not over the top but so many natural features that come with listed buildings .I could not give the food anything less than 10 out of 10 ,simple food with a twist bursting with flavour ,(tempura prawns a must).but the icing on the cake was the breakfast it in itself was a dining experience,it would be hard for any 5 star to compete and all served with a smile.I will definitely be back to the Cliff town house for a repeat experience very soon

Room Tip: As with all old listed buildings there is plenty stairs consider this when booking room you would ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorconroy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear lorconroy39,

It was a pleasure to read your review...Thank You!

I know what you mean in relation to the plug sockets ....these old listed buildings are not user friendly when it comes electrical outlets. This item is definitely on our maintenance list for future room refurbishments.

Sean, our Head Chef, was thrilled with your comments too.

Looking forward to meeting you the next time your in Dublin.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,439 reviews
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#107 of 151 in Dublin
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#85 of 151 in Dublin
771 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff TownHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff TownHouse

Property: Cliff TownHouse
Address: 22 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff TownHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Townhouse is superbly located in the heart of Dublin with boutique style rooms and wonderful restaurant with great food, superb service and ambiance at great value. Private dining facility also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff TownHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Town House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing