We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and well located”
Review of Cliff TownHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliff TownHouse
Ranked #21 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant and well located”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights midweek. Our room was at the very top of the hotel (no lift) so the stairs were a daily workout! It was also very sunny so the room grew hot quickly. No aircon but there was a small fan which helped a bit. Pretty small room but clean and nicely presented. The hotel itself is lovely. The dining room on the ground floor is where breakfast is served and we really thought the quality of the breakfast was excellent. The room is apps beautiful - Art Deco details and a lovely bar area. The staff were pleasant and helpful too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorienstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear lorienstanfield,

Really appreciate your feedback - the Team were delighted to see another positive mention on TripAdvisor.

Thanks for giving us a few minutes of your time to post your review.

Kind Regards,

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    96
    38
    27
    14
See reviews for
46
171
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Castledermot, Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spent a lovely night with you last night. The staff were so nice, so helpful. Was given a lovely Townhouse room, very comfortable nights sleep had. Had a fantastic meal in the restaurant. So much to choose from on the menu, think myself and my husband made the right choices as food was fabulous, amazing tastes. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant and once again staff so lovely. Would highly recommend if someone looking for a nice hotel in Dublin City. Thanks so much The Cliff Town House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Amanda G,

What a lovely review - Thank you.

Its always lovely to hear from guests who enjoyed their stay.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed a few days ago in this hotel. One night was at 145 euros , the other at 175 euros. I stayed in room 208. The room can be seen in the two photos - cramped and with no view to speak of. I complained but as the manager says " We don’t advertise ourselves as being anything other than a luxury guesthouse situated in Dublin city centre". The food is very good but the 76 steps that I had to climb to get to my room - room 208 - were not.
We weren't able to leave the bedroom open because of the noise and smells from the kitchen vent and air con units just outside - see picture view. The bedroom had no aircon, just an electric portable fan.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear George W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Following our previous direct correspondence we have taken on board your comments and appreciate your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Cliff Townhouse is such a nice little place- super helpful staff, big and beautiful rooms, the perfect location, and superb food.

We were up on the 5th floor, and there's no lift, but it didn't end up being a big deal. The staircases are nice and wide, and the staff even helped carry our luggage when we arrived. The room surprised us with how large it was, and it was beautifully appointed. The bathroom was also large, and the water pressure was excellent. There were bathrobes and slippers in our room for our use, and I appreciated that there was a room safe for valuables as well.

We were facing St Stephen's Green and we didn't notice any problem with noise from the street. In fact, we enjoyed sitting up at our windows and just people watching for awhile.

Breakfast was EXCELLENT each morning, and the wait staff was helpful and polite.

I hope we can make it back and stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in a room on the 5th floor overlooking St Stephen's Green and we didn't notice any p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear M R,

We would love to have you back in the not too distant future - we are always delighted to hear when guests have enjoyed their room, their dining experience and the staff so much!

Makes it all worthwhile.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent three nights at the Town House and loved it! The room and restaurant are excellent, but above all the staff were exceptional- customer service specialists! I needed to get my wedding dress drycleaned and one the of the reception staff took care of it without any hesitation. Simply saying it was no bother. Thank you Lauren! Breakfast was delightful, fresh and very good tea! Waitress was was the perfect host. Nothing was too much for the staff at the Cliff Town House and we cant wait to return!

Room Tip: The lift only goes to the second floor of five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Vanessa H,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much - the team are great and deserve praise so thank you for that.

We are looking forward to your return visit already.

Warm Regards,

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Our last two nights in Ireland were at the Cliff Town House, the reception desk and everyone we saw was simply delightful and helpful....great team work. They were doing a bit of refurbishing and in fact I received an email prior telling us, which is professional and something rarely done today.
The rooms were spacious (though one was small and quickly swapped out for a bigger one) nice touches from the tea set up to the books and the toiletries ~ all first class. The only downside is that they do not have air conditioning, which on most days in Dublin is fine, we happen to be there when the temperatures were in the mid-seventies, so the rooms were warm.
The breakfast was good, though limited, but we had dinner on our last night and it was outstanding (though pricey).
There is a lift but only goes so far, there is still quite a few steps involved and there is someone to take your luggage up and down, but using the steps allows you to enjoy desert.
The location across from St. Stephens Green is perfect for shopping, and seeing the sites, easy walk to Trinity College.
I would recommend The Cliff Townhouse while in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coco#55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Coco#55,

Thank you for your review.

We are a small property but we do our best to assist our guests in every way we can.

Really looking forward to looking after you again on your return visit.

Best Wishes,
Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We loved the The Cliff Town House! It was so easy to get to from the bus from the airport, it is perfectly located on St. Stephen's Green, the rooms were adorable, and the Irish breakfast in their restaurant was one of the best we had in Ireland! Everything was beautiful and we would return.

The only downsides were that the rooms had old-fashion locks so that you could unlock from both the outside and the inside, and that it's a true town house, so you have to walk stairs to get to your room...not handicap friendly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, facing the green!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGHnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at Cliff TownHouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear AGHnyc,

We are very fortunate to have the Airport bus stop just a few meters away...another guest advantage when staying here in the Cliff Townhouse!

A true Townhouse indeed .... we like our stairs as they keep us all very fit and keep us feeling young ........

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate it.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#103 of 151 in Dublin
707 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,485 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#78 of 151 in Dublin
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff TownHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff TownHouse

Property: Cliff TownHouse
Address: 22 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff TownHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Townhouse is superbly located in the heart of Dublin with boutique style rooms and wonderful restaurant with great food, superb service and ambiance at great value. Private dining facility also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff TownHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Town House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing