We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room, Be Careful about Location”
Review of Cliff TownHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cliff TownHouse
Ranked #20 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Room, Be Careful about Location”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent one night here winding our way back to Boston. The hotel is directly across from St. Stephen's Green, a great location. The room was large and furnished with antique-like furniture. The bed was quite comfy. and the bathroom spacious and immaculate. We were two stories up facing the very busy street. At times, it was noisy and the tour buses frenetically loaded/unloaded here. Of course, that could be avoided by requesting a room off of the street. The included breakfast was sit down and ordering from a menu with regular breakfast selections i.e. eggs...etc. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: For quiet...away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RH2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    95
    38
    27
    14
See reviews for
45
168
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west bridgewater, ma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Cliff Townhouse

The Cliff Townhouse was our next-to-the-last stop on a 20 day trip, so by now we had had several different B&B experiences throughout Ireland. Like so many of our other choices, the Cliff Town House was unforgettable because of the location and the people.

The Cliff Townhouse is in such a wonderful location on St Stephen's Green Dublin. It is central with all attractions either within walking distance or a handy bus which stops right across from the B&B. We arrived early and Siobhan allowed us to drop off our our bags so that we could explore Dublin as the room was being readied. This give us the opportunity to get our first look and feel of Dublin. Everyone has a strong opinion about Dublin, and knowing the pros and cons of any town or city places a traveler in an advantageous place, so I listened and read what others have said about Dublin. Our first impression was excellent, and we soon knew we would have a great time here as we’d had throughout Ireland.

As we returned to the Cliff Townhouse, we were given the room at the end in the back near the elevator. Unfortunately the elevator was being fixed and this necessitated some banging and clanging (no compensation offered). Also they were venting hot air from a utility room next to our room, and Siobhan answered my questions and reassured me that the vent was safe. She said there are only 9 rooms and only 2 rooms with 2 beds. We needed 2 beds so they don’t have much of a choice of rooms to accommodate us. For a traveler, knowing this necessitates an early booking if you want to stay at the Cliff Townhouse, so act early.

The room itself was both comfortable and attractive. My traveling companion stated that it was the most “masculine” B & B that he had experienced, and he meant that as a compliment. We had been staying at many top-rated B & Bs that were outstanding, but had a lot of feminine touches like lace and teddy bears. This room has masculine substance to it.

Most appealing about the Cliff Town House are the Irish women who come into direct contact with guests – Ann at breakfast, Siobhan Ryan and Sarah at the front desk, as well as the Irish gentlemen who work at the front desk. All are Irish, thank God! If you are a first time traveler to Dublin from another country, you will not only want to see the sights but you will also want to meet the “DUBS” or at least people from Ireland. Unfortunately, if you don’t ask before you book, you may stay in a hotel or B&B with absolutely no Irish people working there. The central Europeans dominate the service industry and in such large numbers, they set the tone of the city for many travelers. I have nothing against anyone, but if I want to visit Central Europe, I will go there. I want to feel “Irish” in Dublin. In Ireland, I want to experience the Irish people at my hotel and in the shops. If that’s important to you, then, ask before you book your hotel in Dublin. The Cliff Townhouse employs Irish workers, and to me that in itself is worth paying the extra euros.

The hospitable staff was all Irish which is appealing to me as a visitor to Ireland. Everyone was friendly in a way that only the Irish are, and more than accommodating – they would do anything for you and they did! You don’t have to ask; they observe and pay attention and anticipate what needs to be done. I’ll give you an example. During my stay, I had an unfortunate emergency situation that developed beyond my control, and Sarah accommodated me and knew how to respond quickly and professionally. Her actions and words demonstrated empathy and will never forget her kindness and quick action as well as her follow-up. Such service is demonstrated not only in the emergency, but also every single time we interacted with the front desk and the breakfast room during our 4 day stay. Those who work here are a credit to the Cliff Townhouse.

The breakfast was utterly delicious and beautifully presented. A picture is worth 1000 words, so just look at the photos below as well as the menu. Everything, the meats, eggs, pudding, breads is made to order. One morning my travel partner had the salmon and I had the full Irish breakfast, and we were both delighted and fully satisfied. However superior the breakfast, the best part of the Cliff Townhouse was the lively and informative conversation with Anne, our server. Words can’t even begin to describe the way Anne interacted with us in the breakfast room. The only word that comes close is “family”. She loves Dublin and she wanted us to have a safe, enjoyable experience in her beautiful and historic hometown. If a hospitality award is even given in Ireland, I nominate Ann which is saying a lot because we spent 20 days traveling and encountered many wonderful and friendly Irish people who were hospitable and went far out of their way to make our visit extraordinary. Ann is perceptive and intelligent and provides valuable information and keen insight to her guests. She shares her philosophical outlook based upon experience which is her own unique touch that works so well in favor of her guests. What a special person! She even brought a gift for my travel partner’s mother on our last day at the Cliff Townhouse. An owner could not do more than Ann does for guests at the Cliff Townhouse. She is fully committed.

Earlier I mentioned in passing my one unfortunate experience in Dublin without going into specifics. I was able to get past that because in part because of my travel experience, but also because of the Cliff Townhouse and the dedicated staff, especially Siobhan Ryan and Sarah and Anne.

We love Dublin and hope you do too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moonriverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a very cool old building, with some stairs to climb, yes, but there is an elevator that goes at least part way up. This was a small inconvenience compared to the really great things about the hotel:

1. The bed in our room was great, and I've got a thing about mattresses. I like them firm, and this was that.
2. The shower could not have been better. Great pressure and plenty of hot water.
3. The bar & restaurant are beautiful, and the food excellent. They also serve native Irish oysters--really a treat--and there is a second bar/lounge on the second floor with a little balcony above the street, where you can sit on a warm night and watch the Irish world go by.
4. Really friendly people work at this place. Very helpful at every turn.
5. The location--on St. Stephen's Green and near Trinity College--is quite convenient and right across the street from a main stop of tour buses galore, one of which (of the "hop-on-hop-off" variety) we rode all around Dublin, getting on and off as we pleased. We bought the ticket for this bus (the red line) at the hotel, and it lasted two days and spared us cab fare to museums, churches, etc..
6. Our room was nice, a decent size, and with windows facing the Green as well as a fleet of amphibious tour buses whose occupants entertainingly wore Viking helmets and seemed fully prepared for battle.

All in all, we would stay at the Cliff Town House again in a minute.

Room Tip: The Vikings outside make the rooms facing the Green more entertaining but probably less quiet than i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, mo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The Cliff Town House is centrally located; one can walk to many interesting sights (including up the stairs to your room when the lift isn't operating). Our room was easy to find as it was the only one on the floor and was situated between the storage closets with stacks of chairs piled by the door. I love old hotels but our room was so small that we declined maid service as it would have been unkind to ask someone to maneuver around the beds as well as our carry on luggage. The beds caused my son to feel nostalgic as they were the size he slept in as a child. In order to not startle us awake with the 5:00 am wake up call, someone was kind enough to open and close the storage doors by our room at least 4 times in the half hour prior to the call so we would gradually wake up. During our stay, the Staff was courteous but, as someone else reported, they definitely are on a learning curve.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A wonderful table d'hote lunch was enjoyed by all 4 of us. The home smoked salmon came covered by a cloche and was literally smoking when the cloche was lifted.It was delicious as were the main courses of beef and fish . We avoided the whole chicken to be shared between 2 as it seemed too large a portion . Main course helpings were generous as was the superb apple crumble which arrived in its own cast iron pot. Not surprisingly the restaurant was full. Blue and white decor very attractive and bright. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Before booking check the number of steps between your room and the lift.Be careful we were grossly misled.
If lift is out of order then obtain the number between ground floor and your room AND negotiate a discount...in writing
Breakfast mediocre by local standards
Lunch adequate.
Service on a learning curve.
Front desk less than warm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANDORA313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

honestly, by far the worst experience in an otherwise fantastic city/ country. got "mislead" by the 4 star rating. admitted, we are probably spoiled when it comes to staying in hotels, but still..

so start with the positives:
- great location just opposite the park
- great restaurant; beautiful setting for breakfast/ dinner
- nice outside facade

now to the negatives:
- rediculously small rooms (booked park view even). so tiny, one couldnt walk past each other in front of the bed
- completely outdated furniture (with all due respect, hardly anything antique/ stylish here)
- mattrasses from the 80s (at least it felt like it)
- front desk staff wasn't overly helpful when asking for dinner locations/ help with lagguage, etc.
- super-secluded hotel with a tiny rusty elevator that is hard to reach (which may be nice w/o lagguage)

just very glad we spent the remaining days in dublin in a different much nicer hotel..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#87 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#105 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
O'Donoghue's
#30 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff TownHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff TownHouse

Property: Cliff TownHouse
Address: 22 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff TownHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Townhouse is superbly located in the heart of Dublin with boutique style rooms and wonderful restaurant with great food, superb service and ambiance at great value. Private dining facility also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cliff TownHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Town House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing