We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...friendly service needs a good tweak”

Buenos Aires Grill Dublin
Ranked #1,487 of 2,559 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Argentinian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food...friendly service needs a good tweak”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Right, I came here with an open mind and a wallet light on cash as it was a prepaid voucher deal and despite the fact you do part with your hard earned cash,part of me always feels like a social pariah when I present these vouchers.I almost expect to have my bag searched for stolen cutlery on the way out! However for 11 euro each 4 delicious steaks (a nominal supplement for the fillet) were presented with yummy fluffy chips and a decent glass of house wine.The catch? It took a while for it to be presented. The staff were very pleasent but I suspect the issue here lies with the management and a distinct lack of guidance and training in restaurant etiquette and flow . For example, we nearly had to realease flares to order a second bottle of wine and we were seated in the centre of the restaurant while our waitress bussed tables . The staff are really cheating themselves out of tips! Its a real shame as the quality of ingredients is good and the kitchen knows what they are at.I would return again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinTansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    122
    75
    38
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible ”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Was there last Sunday evening table of 11 persons. Litany of errors. From forgetting a starter for 1 of our party( who received hIs after we had all finished) to totally over cooked steaks which were replaced with tough fillets and the original veg and fat chips which were more like fat pieces of wood. Rock hard. Couple of apologies from the waiter did not suffice. Also they had the audacity to charge 12.5% service on top. Everything on the bill including an extra steak. Think we were being punished for sending things back. No management present no one taking control. Haphazard and well below what we expected 11 people who will not be back and will be spreading the word.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick dinner before going to the Gaiety”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Great feed, we got the sharing platter and loved it, if the steak was a little tough, the meatballs, fish, ribs, vegetables were all top notch and tasted like more. We will be going back for another meal soon and I think I'll definitely be having the meatballs as a main course on it's own, can recommend the lava cake for dessert. Only a 5 minute walk from the gaiety on golden lane, makes it a great location for the theater crowd to enjoy before their show

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, but not enough staff!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Was here midweek in April. Despite being very busy with a large number of tables reserved, there simply wasn't enough floor staff to meet demand. The food was delicious and the ambience nice, but need to consider hiring some extra bodies.

Helpful?
Thank 8MonthTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Food fine, but badly managed...”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It's such a shame that the food doesn't get to be the focus of this review, as it should be. In fact the food, when it eventually came, was good. But the whole experience was a disaster. We had a reservation for 8.30pm. We stood for a few minutes waiting to be greeted, to be hurriedly told they would be back in a minute. More time went by, asked another guy, made sure he knew we had a reservation, but his response was that they were very busy and there would be a delay in our table. Really this isn't acceptable in this day and age. However, this wasn't the end of the disappointment. Waiter asked us to sit down in the waiting area where we could have a drink while we waited on our table. We sat. We waited. No drinks. Nearly 30/40 minutes waiting at this stage. Eventually managed to get someone's attention and ordered a bottle wine. This was half gone by the time our table was ready - which was around 9.30pm at this stage. We ordered quickly, and didn't bother with starters as we just wanted to get some food into us quickly. All four of ordered steak, two fillets, two striploins, various veggies to accompany them etc. And another bottle of wine. Some time later, more apologies, the system had crashed and our order was lost - could we re-order!! So around 10.15/10.30pm our food finally arrived. Despite the food being good (good quality steaks) we were so annoyed with the delays and the service at this stage and just so hungry we really didn't get to appreciate our meal. Another member of staff came over to apologise and offered us a bottle of wine on the house. Nice enough gesture, although it did appear on the bill and we had to remind them. I really feel if you have to wait nearly two hours for your food, and you have booked a table in advance, that we should not have been charged anything for our meal. On the basis of the food I am reluctantly giving two stars - based on the service / delays it would barely scrap a single star from this reviewer!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buenos Aires Grill Dublin also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Buenos Aires Grill Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing