We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Times Hostels - Camden Place
Ranked #27 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good bed, friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Spent one night, The staff were nice and helpful the free dinner was good and the bed was comfortable. The room it self was pretty basic but for the price in dublin it was fine

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    111
    76
    30
    22
See reviews for
16
84
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Very well kept and new hostel. Its clean... the kitchen is well provided for. The guests washed up after dinner. The employees were helpful. The bed linen was very good and the room nice. I do miss having more places to hang stuff though. Good shower. Nothing negative except a heater than wasn't fixed a few days later... but they gave us a portable one.

A shortish walk and your in Dame street. So maybe not in the centre... but close enough. Two good supermarkets close by.

I`m very wary of hygiene... and I so recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vellinge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Clean, friendly and helpful staff, good location, a little away from all the madness. Can definitely recommend to others.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I had a more than pleasant experience at this hostel right in the middle of Dublin. I was in a four person room...it was very simple and very clean, and the beds were incredibly comfortable. There was a huge group staying in the hostel so the common room was always full and very noisy with just that one group kind of "taking over"... but otherwise, it was great. Only complaint was the weird smell in the room...it was some sort of cleaning solution so I guess that's good, but it was kind of overpowering even with the window open.

The neighborhood was VERY lively. We were only a few blocks from St Stephens Green, and it was under a ten minute walk to Trinity College where you can catch not only the airport bus, but also the touristy buses that go all around town. You really can't beat that location for the very low price! Be aware that some rooms face the street, so on a weekend it can get pretty loud as there are several dozen pubs around the corner, and the street seems to echo like crazy. With the window closed the room was stuffy, but with it open the noise was unbearable. I'm sure this is the case with any hotel in that area, so I'd suggest ear plugs!

All in all, it was definitely one of the better hostel experiences I've had! I'd recommend it to anyone! The staff was also awesome - very accommodating, great at giving directions, and let me print my boarding pass for free on the main computer. Luggage storage before you've checked in/after you've checked out is also free (as is the high speed internet).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is decent, and the rooms are clean. My only complaint would be the noise.

Of the three separate nights I've stayed at Camden, I managed to get very lucky to share a dorm with some quiet backers who went to sleep before 10pm. Unfortunately, the pubs and foot traffic weren't so accommodating. Weekend nights are obvious going to be worse, but if you make sure the windows in the room are closed, you’ll get on okay. If not, the 24 internet access and community room are handy.

The price at Camden is about average and I appreciated the washer/dryer available in addition to a hot shower (bring your own soap, shampoo/conditioner, though. Towels available at the front desk). The breakfast is just cereal, toast, and tea – about what you’d expect from a hostel – but there’s a stove, fridge, etc. in the kitchen if you want to make something more substantial.

Overall, based on price, staff, and amenities, Camden is one of the better hostels in the Dublin area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

My friends and I are studying in Oxford for the summer and decided to take a mini-break and head to Dublin for a weekend to celebrate finishing our first round of papers. We booked the Camden Place Hostel since it was cheap, had a decent website, and seemed to have good reviews.

We were a little uncertain as to the exact location of the hostel based on the directions provided, but after asking a very nice girl on the bus, we got off at the right stop and, after a brief walk, found the proper street. We were pleasantly greeted by the desk staff, were shown to our room, and were given great recommendations for dinner restaurants (Green 19 is right down the street, really local, really fab).

Camden Place Hostel is very clean and quiet: my friends and I felt like the loudest ones in our mixed 12-bed dorm! The kitchen was large and always had a few people milling about, the common room is small-ish but there was always a place to sit and some interesting conversation to be had. The one disappointment was the provided breakfast: cereal without milk and toast...if you were early enough.

My friends and I had heard about the nightlife in Dublin surrounding Temple Bar (aka tourist central), but not about the really quirky bars on Wexford Street (which is what Camden street is a block or so up from the hostel). We had a blast dancing at Whelan's and grabbed some Guiness at a couple of other local spots.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Private room with shared facilities. Small room with bunk beds, but whole place was clean and very recently refurbished. Expensive though (but everywhere seemed like that at the time we were there). Very friendly staff. Has wi-fi, but couldn't get it to work on my laptop. Noisy revellers one night from pub/main road (the night we really needed some sleep), but other night was ok. Walked everywhere and it wasn't too far from anywhere we wanted to get to.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Sky Backpackers
#11 of 112 in Dublin
326 reviews
Avalon House
#22 of 112 in Dublin
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 112 in Dublin
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hostels - Camden Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hostels - Camden Place

Property: Times Hostels - Camden Place
Address: 8 - 9 Camden Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Times Hostels - Camden Place 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Hostels Dublin are funky, friendly, clean and vibrant Dublin hostels located in the heart of the city. St. Stephen's Green and the Iveagh Gardens (one of Dublin's hidden gems) are just around the corner from Times Hostels - Camden Place. Our guests are certain to have the best of times during their stay in Dublin! Our staff is more than happy to help you out, answer all of your questions and guide you not to miss what Dublin has best to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Times Hostels - Camden Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Times Hostel - Camden Place Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing