We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean / Comfy / Great location / Friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Times Hostels - Camden Place

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Times Hostels - Camden Place
Ranked #23 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Clean / Comfy / Great location / Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Really couldn't ask for more. Stayed there with a few friends. Beds were really comfy, place was immaculate, toilets and shower were spotless! Free calls to around 40 countries, free wireless, 1 free drink in the evening (on the day of arrival), breakfast was nice, staff were very friendly. Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimura87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    108
    72
    26
    20
See reviews for
14
77
70
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

It was my first time ever in a hostel. I was thankful enough that my boyfriend paid for a private room. The staff at the front desk were absolute delights, neither of which could have failed more at being Irish but could recommend a lot! I was able to call home for free, all the ways to Alaska! The breakfast was great and even allowed for me to make a sandwich for the road. The room was clean and the bathroom was quite sizable for us. And much to my appreciation they had free drinks and dinner then evening we stayed. Overall it was a fun experience, but probably my last at any hostel. It was only about a 20 minute walk to the exciting part of town, too!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniClarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed in a private double with a personal shower.
Pros -
Comfy beds
Nice rooms
Fantastic Kitchen and dining area
Good location
Make sure you take advantage of the free walking tour that they advertise (sandemans)
Good breakfast
Internet acces is above average with the signal
7 euro ride to airport, which was convenient bc we had an early flight.
Cons -
VERY loud at night.
Rooms are a bit tight.

Its hit or miss with how helpful the front desk is.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amsterduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

Spent one night, The staff were nice and helpful the free dinner was good and the bed was comfortable. The room it self was pretty basic but for the price in dublin it was fine

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Very well kept and new hostel. Its clean... the kitchen is well provided for. The guests washed up after dinner. The employees were helpful. The bed linen was very good and the room nice. I do miss having more places to hang stuff though. Good shower. Nothing negative except a heater than wasn't fixed a few days later... but they gave us a portable one.

A shortish walk and your in Dame street. So maybe not in the centre... but close enough. Two good supermarkets close by.

I`m very wary of hygiene... and I so recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vellinge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Clean, friendly and helpful staff, good location, a little away from all the madness. Can definitely recommend to others.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

I had a more than pleasant experience at this hostel right in the middle of Dublin. I was in a four person room...it was very simple and very clean, and the beds were incredibly comfortable. There was a huge group staying in the hostel so the common room was always full and very noisy with just that one group kind of "taking over"... but otherwise, it was great. Only complaint was the weird smell in the room...it was some sort of cleaning solution so I guess that's good, but it was kind of overpowering even with the window open.

The neighborhood was VERY lively. We were only a few blocks from St Stephens Green, and it was under a ten minute walk to Trinity College where you can catch not only the airport bus, but also the touristy buses that go all around town. You really can't beat that location for the very low price! Be aware that some rooms face the street, so on a weekend it can get pretty loud as there are several dozen pubs around the corner, and the street seems to echo like crazy. With the window closed the room was stuffy, but with it open the noise was unbearable. I'm sure this is the case with any hotel in that area, so I'd suggest ear plugs!

All in all, it was definitely one of the better hostel experiences I've had! I'd recommend it to anyone! The staff was also awesome - very accommodating, great at giving directions, and let me print my boarding pass for free on the main computer. Luggage storage before you've checked in/after you've checked out is also free (as is the high speed internet).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Albany House
#66 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avalon House
#19 of 105 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#15 of 105 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hostels - Camden Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hostels - Camden Place

Property: Times Hostels - Camden Place
Address: 8 - 9 Camden Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Times Hostels - Camden Place 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a friendly and clean Backpackers hostel located in Dublin's Village Quarter just off Camden Street in the heart of Dublin 2 and a ten-minute walk to Temple Bar, Grafton Street and Trinity College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Times Hostels - Camden Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Times Hostel - Camden Place Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing