We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pig's Ear

The Pig's Ear
Ranked #79 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a small restaurant with a great view of the lawns of Trinity College Dublin, and great food. The food is Nouvea Irish (!! Yes - Irish ingredients with an European twist). I had spring lamb - and this is spring -so there was no better ! Tender and tasty - didn't need to order any extra sides. The recommended accompanying wine was excellent. I had great company too listening to good Irish jokes.
So it was a great meal - with a good view - on a beautiful spring evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    355
    99
    47
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Leisurely Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I recently ate here, with my wife, for a late lunch. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Food was exciting and delicious. Wine by the glass was reasonably priced and there a good selection. We sat by the window with a lovely view into Trinity College. A very enjoyable afternoon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BParle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wasn't overwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I think because i expected it to be well above average, and is more on the expensive side than cheap side I wasn't overwhelmed by it. The menu wasn't too wide ranging, which I normally don't mind so long as its interesting, but it just didnt do it for me. I can't think of any reason to go back, rather than any one thing being bad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ranafast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Innovative twist on Irish cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely restaurant overlooking Trinity College! Who would have thought something as simple as shepherd's pie could be a gastronomic treat? Definitely, a delicious surprise. Finished with the brown bread ice cream which was flavorful and unique. Nice ambiance, well prepared dishes, and attentive service made for a special evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bean_cheile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Best meal I've had in a long time. The food was absolutely amazing and the staff were wonderful. Fantastic way to celebrate a special occasion

Helpful?
1 Thank cariad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pig's Ear also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Pig's Ear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing