We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

The Sideline Bar & Bistro
Ranked #414 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our chefs work with the freshest natural ingredients to produce modern European dishes that are both healthy and heavenly. And they do it on centre stage, generating an informal, café-cool ambience in which the sideshow never ends.At the Sideline Bistro and Bar, stylish surroundings and a tempting choice of dishes make for a unique, informal atmosphere at this Dublin restaurant, which is hard to beat. Our Coffee Bar will brew whatever you need to hit the spot.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The food and atmosphere are amazing. The staff were fab with nothing too much trouble. The presentation of the food was perfect.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Penni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had just arrived into the Croke Park hotel around noon after a 10hr flight. We were able to check in at that time - exhausted & ready to crash in our beds to try to adjust to the time difference. But, we were famished & needed to eat before doing so. We checked trip advisor & saw all the great reviews at this convenient place in our hotel & thought we couldn't go wrong. The servers were nice & took our orders, but after that things started to go downhill. My iced tea had a slice of lemon in it - not unusual but the flavor was extreme lemon. I'm not sure if that's how they make their iced tea here but it was overpowering. Our order was a soup & cold chicken sandwich for me & a quinoa salad for my wife which took nearly 40 minutes to come out. It seemed odd that items like these would take that long & we were starving. The place was half full so I didn't think they were that slammed but who knows? In fact, a family of 4 that came in after us actually received their cooked food before us. The chicken in my sandwich was extremely dry - both my sandwich & seafood chowder were bland. My wife's quinoa salad had ok flavor according to her but she had to stop eating it as she bit on a few hard rock-like sediment pieces that she feared would chip or break a tooth. We ate less than half of our meals & had enough. We had difficulty flagging down our server for the bill - she was having a 10 minute conversation with a lady who was having drinks at the table next to us & had her back to us - I could not get her attention. We nearly fell asleep at our table waiting for a server to bring our bill. We were able to finally flag down a waiter & pay our bill after 20 min of waiting for someone to acknowledge us. Maybe it was an off day, but it was our 1st & last time there. We've had many amazing meals & experiences since then in a lot of other restaurants around the city & even outside of Dublin though.
The place looked nice & seemed like a cool place to catch drinks. They were playing the news on a large projection screen & there was a party one night that went late but we were too tired that day to check it out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mr.tomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food. A lot of hotel restaurants can learn from them.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good food, nice staff and setting. Worth a visit while staying in the hotel. And if you are looking for a place to have a business diner, try it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank keesvogelesang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gourmet dishes from right inside Croke Park Hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Service was stellar, and the food was also delicious and interesting. The quinoa salad could serve 3 or 4 when we ordered it. The price reflected these things, and while we loved it, it will be best suited for those who are already in the hotel or at a Croke Park event.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwhamm0 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfane, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, nice pub atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Food was tasty and of good overall quality. Prices were moderate and atmosphere is warm and friendly. Service was slow on all 5 visits to the pub/dining room but wait staff were friendly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ktlamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sideline Bar & Bistro also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
County Dublin, Province of Leinster
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sideline Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing