We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for people with disabilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morehampton Townhouse
Ranked #34 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here 18 august 2013.
There is no consideration for a person with difficulty climbing stairs. Indeed part of the stairs to kitchen for breakfast does not even have a handrail. There is no indication from Tripadvisor or the hotel's own website that most bedrooms, the reception/entrance, and breakfast room all require climbing stairs.
The staff are kind and moved our room to second floor from third floor which was as much as they could do. It is the fault of management not to advise that their hotel is not accessible to people with disabilities.
The only mention anywhere is a similar poor review for same reason dated May 2012

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fearnastaighre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morehampton_hse, Front Office Manager at Morehampton Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Fearnastaighre, Thank you for writing your review. We regret that the Townhouse did not meet your expectations. We have had a note on our website to say that the House has four floors and no lift. The House is an historical Georgian building and we are trying to keep it as original is possible, however, we will seek architectural advise and consider changing the stairs to the lower ground floor. Kind regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

cosy friendly and hospitable
family atmosphere, nice people
near the center but in a quiet neighbourhood
close to bus-stop
breakfast: continental or Irish upon request
comfortable place at a comfortable price!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I had to stay here on several different occasions over the previous months due to work commitments. Each and every time I encountered problems; most of which were primarily due to the ignorant attitude displayed by the front of house staff.
If you decide to stay here, do not expect nice staff and do not bring your car!!!
The 'car park' is not secure and more often then not your car will be blocked-in by another car. Despite always noting on my reservation that I required a car space, there was never room for me. On one occasion, the blond receptionist came out to my car and SHOUTED at me for parking in the car park stating that she had not booked me a space- despite requesting one weeks before!
I have had countless experiences like this here and I hate this place more than any other.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sui_generis_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morehampton_hse, Front Office Manager at Morehampton Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Previous Guest, Thank you for writing and we are sorry to read about your frustration. Our staff are very well trained and with us for many years and as mentioned in many previous reviews, guests have been more than happy with our level of customer service and we are shocked to read your comments. We would be very grateful if you would contact us directly to discuss further. Thank you. The Reception Team @ Morehampton Townhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This reasonably priced small hotel is located in a rather posh part of Dublin, just a bit south of the city center. There's a bus stop opposite of the hotel, and the bus will take you to Trinity college within about 5-10 minutes. The aircoach stops at Burlington hotel, which is located at a walking distance of about 10 minutes from the Morehampton townhouse. Across the street there's a pharmacy, a supermarket (selling bus tickets), a pub and an ATM.

The houses around the hotel are Georgian style red-brick buildings with colourful doors. We observed an increased density of Mercedes, BMWs or Landrovers in the parkways - they seems to be de rigueur for the upper-middle class residents of this quarter.

All the reception staff we were dealing with were very friendly and our room was decent, if maybe a bit dated. The ceiling is incredibly high and the bathroom seems to be a later addition to the room, making it effectively seem like a "box" in the room. A refurbishment could do magic to this hotel - for the price, the standard was entirely acceptable, though.

The full Irish breakfast they offer is really rich and will keep you stuffed until the afternoon. Overall, a good value, slightly-dated hotel in a calm, nice and not too remote area of Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anselm_randomtoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our stay at MT has been everything we needed for our short stay in Dublin. The room had everything we needed although it may have seemed small. Nevertheless, it was decently priced for Dublin. The location was good too in which we can reach city centre withiin 10-15 minutes walk. Breakfast was very nice as we had a full Irish Breakfast prepared on our first morning. On the second morning we chose for the continental breakfast, where you have your staple toasts, cereals, yoghurts and juices. I was very pleased on how they handled our delay and they were kind enough to give us a discount for missing out our first night. It's definitely a place we'll look at again on our return to Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed here at Morehampton Townhouse for a few days earlier in the year when attending a function at the RDS.
It is close to RDS and within a relatively easy walk to RDS so a good location. We went to visit the Aviva Stadium and took a taxi up to the stadium but you could have walked easily enough to there as well.
Rooms are in a time warp - decorated straight out of the 1970's and with odd elements to them but it was for me only a couple of nights so not too bad. The main road is busy but there was not a lot of traffic noise and there are numerous buses heading up in to Dublin city centre and if you are interested the Airport Express bus stops just across the road with direct link through the city centre to the airport.

Room Tip: The rooms are mainly upstairs and the stairs are steep so if you have heavy luggage or you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night. I am partially disabled - so our booking specified that steps should be avoided. Ignoring this specification, the hotel not only reserved a room on the top floor - they noted on their reservation that we has asked for the top floor. There is no lift. they offered a reduction in the charge thus acknowledging their crass mistake - and the nature of their business practices. Definitely not a good experience.

This should have been discussed with us in advance . Perhaps most damningly, they did raise other questions with us in advance - but not this one.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank chrisBerkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Lodge
Waterloo Lodge
#22 of 149 in Dublin
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broc House Suites
Broc House Suites
#50 of 149 in Dublin
19 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#16 of 149 in Dublin
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glenogra Guest House
Glenogra Guest House
#37 of 149 in Dublin
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baggot Court Townhouse
Baggot Court Townhouse
#24 of 149 in Dublin
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morehampton Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morehampton Townhouse

Address: 78 Morehampton Road | Donnybrook, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £64 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morehampton Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morehampton Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing